It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library building hours and access are limited at this time. Services and support are being provided remotely. See COVID-19 library updates.
Orienting Yourself: What New-to-Yale Researchers in Physics, Earth & Planetary Sciences, and Physics Need to Get Started: Home
Welcome to Yale! This cross-disciplinary subject guide is designed to get you familiar with the research resources we have available for you at the university, including our collections, our people, and our institutional partners.
Due to COVID-19, library services have been altered to facilitate social distancing. Librarian consultation services, workshops, and instruction remain remote until further notice. For up-to-date information about onsite services, checking out materials, and study spaces, please visit the Library's statement on COVID-19.
This guide contains important information about connecting to a variety of library resources. In addition to the content on the guide, let me stress:
QuickSearch Books+ has faceted searching. If you are only looking for online content, after searching, please select "Online" under format. The Library has made significant updates to QuickSearch to facilitate users who need online-only materials.
Library staff are still here to support you in your teaching, learning, and research. Please contact me using the information on my profile (below). You may email or schedule a Zoom appointment.
This guide replaces a paper handout that I once gave to students about what I can do for you at Yale. It contains information and links to key resources that will help you settle in over the next few months, so please bookmark it!
A guide to the services that I offer as your subject librarian.
Information on how to contact me to schedule a one-on-one or group appointment.
Quick tips information: How to browse in the catalog, find dissertations & theses, and use some of our databases' additional features.
Links to borrowing policies, our guide on how to find things we don't have, and subject-specific guides.
Provides a quick, easy, and comprehensive search (OK, 80% of our e-resources — things like SciFinder aren't there) of thousands of journal articles, ebooks/ebook chapters, magazines, newspapers, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and beyond.
The Library's homepage contains information about accessing collections across the university, additional services (Overdrive, archival access, news), and more.
Subject-Specific Research Guides for You
Guides I curate on subject-specific resources can be found below. Some will be useful to you personally, and others — like the guide for nonscientists — will be essential if you are TAing a course in which nonscience major undergrads are writing papers.
"Yale University acknowledges that indigenous peoples and nations, including Mohegan, Mashantucket Pequot, Eastern Pequot, Schaghticoke,Golden Hill Paugussett, Niantic, and the Quinnipiac and other Algonquian speaking peoples, have stewarded through generations the lands and waterways of what is now the state of Connecticut. We honor and respect the enduring relationship that exists between these peoples and nations and this land."
For more information on the land acknowledgement, please look here.