Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Yale Library COVID-19 updates.

HIST 426J/GLBL 398: Yale and the World: Global Power, Local History: Archives Session 3: 9 November

Intro

Based on the research question developed in response to the QR prompt, each student will request 2-3 boxes to explore in the November 9th class session that will meet in the Gates classroom, Manuscripts and Archives. Boxes should be requested by Friday, November 5th, at Noon to ensure that they are on site by Tuesday afternoon’s class session.

The following is a list of some key collections on the topics of Yale and World War II/the Cold War. The description of each collection contains a link to the online finding aid, or to relevant, specific parts of the collection. As noted by Professor Engerman in your QR prompt, you can go “off-list” if you find other useful material that you’d like to explore in class on November 9th. 

World War II (left-hand column) Cold War (right-hand column)

Reserve Officer Training Corps (RU 599)

Link to the Archives at Yale finding aid

Correspondence, reports, memoranda, photographs, newspaper clippings, and memorabilia documenting the activities and operations of the Army and Navy Reserve Officers Training Corps (ROTC) at Yale. 

Army Specialized Training Division, Yale University, Records (RU 89)

Link to the Archives at Yale finding aid

Correspondence, transcripts, photographs, instructional materials, and administrative files documenting the Army Specialized Training Division at Yale, particularly the Army Specialized Training Program (ASTP) and the Civil Affairs Specialists Training School. 

Note: Unfortunately much of this collection is closed because of the presence of student records scattered throughout. There are two accessions of publications and reports that are open for research:

Navy V-12 Program, Yale University, Records (RU 586)

Link to the Archives at Yale finding aid

Student files, memoranda, correspondence, and rosters documenting the Navy V-12 Unit at Yale. Included is correspondence between the Navy and Yale University documenting the establishment of the Navy V-12 program at Yale. 

Note: Unfortunately much of this collection is closed because of the presence of student records scattered throughout. 

Dwight Hall, Yale University, Records (RU 47)

Correspondence, minutes of meetings, financial records, membership lists, program records, committee records, scrapbooks, subject files, conference records, publications and printed material, and related materials concerning the activities of Dwight Hall at Yale.

 

American Student Union Papers (MS 714)

Link to the Archives at Yale finding aid

The American Student Union, founded in 1935 in Columbus, Ohio, was a left-leaning organization of high school and college students. The literature of the organization contained in this collection stresses pacifism, human rights, equality, unionism, and the dissemination of education. Also stressed are anti-fascism and support for the Spanish Republic. Among the materials in the papers are a constitution, newsletters, minutes of meetings, convention proceedings, guides for chapters, programs, financial statements, resolutions and position statements, several pamphlets by Joseph P. Lash, clippings, ephemera, and related items. 

Materials relating to the Yale University Chapter of the American Student Union are cataloged separately in Orbis: minor publications and newsletters.

Correspondence of World War II servicemen from Branford College (RU 812)

Link to the Archives at Yale Finding Aid

Materials in box 1 and 2 include the letters of World War II servicemen from Branford College (Yale) to Polly S. Buck, who was wife of the master; letters to various recipients from John William Ruff (Yale 1927), who was a Professor of English at Yale and a fellow of Branford College before the war; and permission to publish correspondence. Also included is a manuscript of Buck's book, We Minded the Store.

Richard Willstatter, Class of 1943, Sheffield Scientific School, papers concerning his experiences in World War II (RU 905)

Link to Archives at Yale finding aid

One folder consisting of letters, photographs, and a handbook documenting Richard Willstater's (1943S) service during World War II.

Lawrence M. DiFilippo, Class of 1938, Yale College, letters concerning his experiences in World War II (RU 334)

Link to the Archives at Yale finding aid

One folder with only a few letters of Lawrence M. DiFilippo (Yale 1938) to Ellsworth Mason, his roommate in Saybrook College at Yale. The letters document DiFilippo's experiences of the Japanese invasion of the Philippines during World War II.

Correspondence of World War II servicemen from Silliman College, Yale University (RU 85)

Link to the Archives at Yale Finding Aid

The records consist of correspondence from World War II servicemen from Silliman College (Yale) to the master of the college, F. S. C. Northrop, and his wife. Also included are an address book and miscellaneous printed materials documenting wartime activities of Yale servicemen.

World War II Photograph Collections

The following World War II-related photograph collection boxes will be in class on November 19th. You do not have to request any of these boxes if you’re interested in looking at them.

Human Relations Area Files Records (RU 476)

Link to the Archives at Yale finding aid

The Human Relations Area Files (HRAF) was founded at Yale University in 1949. Its mission is to “encourage and facilitate worldwide comparative studies of human behavior, society, and culture.” Records consist of minutes, correspondence, memoranda, bibliographies, reports, and papers documenting the activities and operations of the HRAF.

Institute of Human Relations, Yale University, Records (RU 483)

Link to the Archives at Yale finding aid

The Institute of Human Relations (IHR) was established in 1929 at Yale University as an interdisciplinary center for cooperative research on problems of human welfare. The Institute’s efforts at interdisciplinary programs to study social and cultural issues were largely funded by outside agencies. A wide range of publications and studies resulted from the Institute’s projects. The administrative structure of the Institute created organizational difficulties, and the IHR was absorbed by regular departments and schools in the 1950s. Records consist of administrative and subject files, annual reports, financial records, publications, and correspondence documenting the activities of the IHR at Yale.

Note: Financial records in boxes 44, 46, 47, and 48 are restricted. Financial records in boxes 45 and 49 are open for research.

Secretary's Office, Yale University, Records (RU 49)

A. Whitney Griswold, President of Yale, Records (RU 22)

Link to the Archives at Yale finding aid

Especially files on specific topics, for example, files on academic freedom in boxes 1-4.

Thomas Irwin Emerson Papers (MS 1622)

Link to the Archives at Yale finding aid

Emerson, a passionate civil libertarian throughout his life, graduated from Yale College in 1928 and Yale Law School in 1931. He worked in several capacities in the New Deal during the Roosevelt administration, and taught on the Yale Law School faculty from 1946-1976.

See especially files on specific topics:

Duncan Chaplin Lee and John Lee Papers (MS 2062)

Link to the Archives at Yale finding aid

Duncan Chaplin Lee graduated from Yale College in 1935 and was a Sterling Fellow at the Yale Law School, 1938-1939. The collection consists of the personal papers of Duncan Chaplin Lee and his son, John Lee. Materials include Duncan Chaplin Lee’s correspondence, writings, photographs, and biographical material regarding his personal and work life. Key within these materials are documents that chronicle Lee’s evolving interest in Marxism-Leninism in the 1930s, his military service, and the events that surfaced after he was accused of espionage in 1948.

Paul Harold Lavietes Papers (MS 1589)

Link to the Archives at Yale finding aid

Lavietes graduated from Sheffield Scientific School, Yale University, in 1927 and from the Yale Medical School in 1930. The papers consist of correspondence, writings, and research material relating to his career, and include items relating to his investigation for possible Communist sympathies by the Veterans Administration and the House Committee on Un-American Activities (HUAC).

John Punnett Peters Papers (MS 897)

Link to the Archives at Yale finding aid

Peters graduated from Yale College in 1908, and was affiliated with the Yale School of Medicine and the New Haven Hospital from 1921 until his death in 1955. The papers contain correspondence, reports, writings, and personal papers documenting his crusade for national health insurance and his support for progressive causes, and include materials on his disloyalty charge.