Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST 426J/GLBL 398: Yale and the World: Global Power, Local History: Search Portals and Secondary Sources

Main search portals

Finding Archives Beyond Yale

Selected reference works

Background or "reference" sources are a great place to start your research. Reference works include bibliographies, scholarly encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and other sources that provide overviews of topics and suggestions for further reading.


Oxford Research Encyclopedia of American History

A scholarly encyclopedia of potentially great use in the early stages of your research project. Each article has a discussion of the literature, including primary sources. A great starting point for finding more sources; arranged into subject areas such as Political History. Just a few examples of several potentially helpful articles are:

"China and the United States"

"United States Strategy in the Asia Pacific"

"Progressivism and U.S. Power"


Gale in Context: U.S. History

This resource brings together reference articles, along with selected primary and secondary sources for getting started on your research.


Oxford Bibliographies

This is an extensive collection of annotated bibliographies that are keyword searchable and can also be browsed by subject area -

"Christianity in China"


Oxford Handbooks Online
Lengthy chapters in the Oxford Handbooks usually provide helpful overviews of scholarly topics and historical literature, along with suggestions for further reading. A number of the handbooks may be helpful depending on your research topic. Volumes in the series include:

Oxford Handbook of Christianity in Asia


Wiley Online Library

Includes scholarly journal articles and monographs as well as reference works. Often a single chapter or two within a reference work can provide a helpful starting point for research. Titles include A Companion to the Gilded Age and Progressive Era and A Companion to Post-1945 America.

Secondary sources

The following bibliographic databases will be helpful for finding secondary sources, especially scholarly/peer-reviewed journal articles, magazine articles, book reviews, and citations to book chapters and edited collections of books. Please note: the full text of articles will not always be available in these databases. If you see the "YaleLinks" icon instead of a PDF, click on the icon to discover whether we have online access to the article: 

And, don’t forget, Orbis, Books+ and Articles+ are all useful tools for locating secondary sources!

Guides to Historical Research & Writing

Library contacts

Chris Anderson, Special Collections Librarian, Yale Divinity Library - christopher.j.anderson@yale.edu

Josh Cochran, Archivist for American Diplomacy, Manuscripts and Archives, Sterling Memorial Library - joshua.cochran@yale.edu

James Kessenides, Kaplanoff Librarian for American History - james.kessenides@yale.edu

Bill Landis, Associate Director for Public Services, Manuscripts and Archives, Sterling Memorial Library - bill.landis@yale.edu

​​​​


List of subject specialists in the Yale Library