Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST 426J/GLBL 398: Yale and the World: Global Power, Local History: Archives Session 2: 5 October

The following entries are for the archival collections used in the class session held in the Gates Classroom, Manuscripts and Archives, on October 5th, 2021. 

Yale Peruvian Expedition Papers (MS 664)

Link to the online finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale

Link to a Tumblr blog providing access to digitized versions of all folders below that indicate that Amy Cox Hall cited material from the folder in a footnote

Overview: Correspondence, administrative records, scientific reports, writings, and illustrative material on the expeditions to Peru sponsored by Yale University between 1911 and 1915. The most celebrated discoveries, the finding of Machu Picchu and of Vitcos, the last capital of the Incas, were studied during the expeditions by scientific specialists who were drawn principally from the Yale faculty. The papers include their diaries, manuscripts, and published reports of their work, as well as the writings of Hiram Bingham III, professor of Latin American history at Yale and leader of the expeditions. Among the prominent members of the expeditions were: Isaiah Bowman, Orator F. Cook, George F. Eaton, William G. Erving, H. W. Foote, Herbert E. Gregory, Edmund Heller, and Philip Ainsworth Means. Correspondents included scientists and government officials both in South America and the United States. Among these are: Sir Clements Markham, Alberto A. Giesecke, Edward C. Pickering, Thomas Barbour, Pliny E. Goddard, A. B. Leguia (President of Peru), F. A. Prezet, and Edwardo Higginson.

Collection material used in class session:

Series II. Correspondence.

  • Box 5: Correspondence from the 1911 expedition. Amy Cox Hall cites material in folders 2, 6, 13, 15, 16.
  • Box 6: 1911-1912 correspondence. Amy Cox Hall cites materials in folders 34, 38, 40.
  • Box 7: Correspondence from the 1912 expedition. Amy Cox Hall cites material in folders 58, 71.
  • Box 10: Correspondence from the 1914 expedition. Amy Cox Hall cites material in folder 126.
  • Box 11: Correspondence from the 1914-1915 expeditions. Amy Cox Hall cites material in folders 152, 161.
  • Box 15: Correspondence with the National Geographic Society, 1912-1915. Amy Cox Hall cites material in folders 238, 247.
  • Box 16: Correspondence with the National Geographic Society and the Yale University Treasurer's office, 1916. Amy Cox Hall cites material in folders 263, 285. 

Series III. Journals and Notebooks.

  • Box 18: Journals and notebooks of participants in the 1911 expedition (Bingham, director / Bowman, geologist & geographer / Foote, collector & naturalist / Hendriksen, topographer / Lanius, staff assistant / Tucker, archaeological engineer).
  • Box 19: Journals and notebooks of participants in the 1912 expedition (Bestor, assistant / Bingham, director / Bumstead, chief topographer / Eaton, osteologist / Erdis, archaeological engineer / Hardy, assistant; Heald, assistant topographer / Little, assistant). Amy Cox Hall cites material in folders 17, 20.
  • Box 20: Journals and notebooks of participants in the 1912 expedition (Nelson, surgeon / Stephenson, assistant topographer) and of participants in the 1914-1915 expeditions (Anderson, assistant topographer / Bingham, director). Amy Cox Hall cites material in folder 33.
  • Box 21: Journals and notebooks of participants in the 1914-1915 expeditions (Bingham, director / Erdis, archaeological engineer). Amy Cox Hall cites materials in folder 38.
  • Box 22: Journals and notebooks of participants in the 1914-1915 expeditions (Ford, surgeon / Hardy, interpreter an Rd chief assistant / Hasbrouck, engineer).
  • Box 23: Journals and notebooks of participants in the 1914-1915 expeditions (Hasbrouck, engineer / Maynard, topographer / Means, assistant, a Harvard student and later a prominent historian, explorer, and author / Meserve, surgeon / Westerberg, assistant topographer). Amy Cox Hall cites material in folder 55.

Series IV. Reports and Articles.

  • Box 24: Reports and articles from the 1911-1912 expeditions. Amy Cox Hall cites material in folder 10. 
  • Box 25: Reports and articles from the 1912 expedition. Amy Cox Hall cites material in folder 23.
  • Box 26: Reports and articles from the 1912-1915 expeditions. Amy Cox Hall cites material in folder 26.
  • Box 27: Reports and articles from the 1914-1915 expeditions. Amy Cox Hall cites material in folder 46.

Series VI. Photographs, Maps, and Scrapbooks.

  • Box 31: Glass slides taken by Harry W. Foote, collector & naturalist for the 1911 expedition, of expedition staff, ruins, landscapes, local people, buildings, and animals. Extremely fragile, use nitrile gloves, handle with care, and use light table to view.
  • Box 34: Photographs taken on expeditions, maps, newspaper clippings. Use nitrile gloves when handling photographs.

Bingham Family Papers (MS 81)

Link to the online finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale

Overview: Personal papers of several generations of the Bingham family, including Hiram Bingham, the Machu Picchu expedition director. There were four generations of Hiram Binghams, and confusingly three of them at times referred to themselves as Hiram Bingham, Jr. In the finding aid they are referenced as Hiram Bingham I (1789-1869, missionary to the Sandwich Islands, now Hawai’i), Hiram Bingham II (1831-1908, missionary to the Gilbert Islands), Hiram Bingham III (1875-1956, explorer, Yale professor, and U.S. senator), and Hiram Bingham IV (1903-1988, diplomat and humanitarian).

Collection material used in class session:

  • Box 18, folders 91-92 & Box 19, folder 93: Bingham’s personal correspondence during the period of the 1911 and 1912 expeditions.
  • Boxes 23 & 24: Bingham’s personal correspondence during the period of the 1914-1915 expeditions.
  • Box 36: 
    • Folder 2: Reprints of Bingham’s 28 December 1907 address before the American Political Science Association, “The Possibilities of South American History and Politics As a Field for Research."
    • Folder 3: “Journal of an Expedition Across Venezuela and Colombia, 1906-1907”, bound manuscript journal published in 1909.
    • Folders 4-9: Typed edited drafts for 1909 publication of Bingham’s Journal of an Expedition Across Venezuela and Colombia, 1906-1907.

Arthur Twining Hadley, President of Yale University, Records (RU 25)

Link to the online finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale

Overview: Records contain the official correspondence of Arthur Twining Hadley during his tenure as president of Yale University, 1899-1921. The papers document the rapid change and expansion that occurred at Yale during Hadley’s presidency. The incoming correspondence contains letters from members of the Yale faculty and administration; requests for personal appearances and speeches and articles; inquiries from educational administrators; and correspondence with alumni relating to fund-raising and class reunions. The outgoing correspondence, in letterbook form, consists of carbon copies of Hadley’s official outgoing correspondence from 1899 to 1921.

Collection material used in class session:

  • Box 8, folders 143-147: Letters from Hiram Bingham to Hadley, 1900-1916. Note that Hadley’s outgoing correspondence, which was not brought to the October 5th class session, is filed chronologically in boxes 98-127 of RU 25.