Yale University Library Research Guides: HIST 426J/GLBL 398: Yale and the World: Global Power, Local History: Introduction

Yale Library Search Tools

The main search tools for finding books, articles, databases, archival collections, and more at Yale (and beyond) can all be found on the "Find, Request, and Use" page of the library's website. Here are a few quick refreshers, but be sure to visit the page for a full overview:

Library Catalog
Searches books, e-books, journals (but not individual articles), government documents, and other physical and digital items in the Yale Library and the Lillian Goldman Law Library. Can be used to find both primary and secondary sources.
Quicksearch
A combined search of the Yale Library and Law Library's books, journals and journal articles, licensed databases, digitized archival collections, and more. A vast, Google-like search, but some library materials will still not be retrieved by it, and the advanced search refinements and options to use just one part of Quicksearch or another can be key to running efficient, manageable, and successful searches.
Articles+
Within Quicksearch, Articles+ can be a powerful tool for finding individual journal, newspaper, and magazine articles.
Archives at Yale
The search portal for finding archival materials at Yale. Look for the Scope & Contents notes, inventories, and PDF Finding Aids to assess the relevance of materials to your research project.
Also see the Guide to Using Special Collections at Yale University for more information on finding, requesting, and using archival materials in the Yale Library.
Yale Library Digital Collections
Access to millions of digitized works and images from the Yale Library. This site is a living database, and new materials are added regularly.

Librarian Contacts

Students may reach out to any of the following librarians for assistance with research projects for this course:

Josh Cochran (joshua.cochran@yale.edu) Curator for American History Diplomacy, Beinecke Library
James Kessenides (james.kessenides@yale.edu) Librarian for American History, Sterling Memorial Library
Bill Landis (bill.landis@yale.edu) Teaching Librarian, Beinecke Library
Scott Libson (scott.libson@yale.edu) Special Collections Librarian, Yale Divinity Library

HIST 426J/GLBL 398: Yale and the World: Global Power, Local History: Introduction

Yale Library Search Tools

Librarian Contacts

Site Navigation

Yale's Libraries