Link to the online finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale

Overview: Records document the activities of the Yale-China Association in mainland China (1901-1951), Hong Kong (1951-present), and the United States (1901-present). They consist of administrative and policy files produced by the home office in New Haven, correspondence and memoranda written by staff members while serving in China, photographs, printed materials, and administrative files and correspondence produced by the New Asia office in Hong Kong.

Collection material used in class session:

Series I. Minutes, annual reports, reports to the trustees

• Box 14, folder 154: Early academic reports from Changsha, 1908-1912

Series II. New Haven office subject files

• Box 32, folder 265: Hsiang Ya curriculum reports, 1911-1920
• Box 54, folder 594: Yale, data on students and faculty, 1908-1924

Series III. Staff correspondence

• Box 57, folder 45: Chang, Fu Liang (Yale Sheffield Scientific School Class of 1913 and Middle School staff), correspondence, 1915-1921
• Box 62, folder 134: Farnam, Louise (Yale PhD 1916, MD 1920, and Medical staff), correspondence, 1929-1930
• Box 65, folder 182: Gage, Brownell (Yale College Class of 1898 and dean, treasurer, and trustee), correspondence, 1907
• Box 66, folder 204: Gage, Nina (Nursing staff), correspondence, 1904-1912
• Box 67, folder 228: Hall, William (Yale College Class of 1904 and Middle School teaching staff), correspondence, 1911-1912
• Box 107, folder 938: Yen, Fu-Chun (Yale MD 1909 and Medical staff), correspondence, 1909-1913

Series VIII. Scrapbooks, articles and clippings files

• Box 151, folder 2: Articles about Yale-in-China, 1910-1919

Series IX. Photographs

• Box 154, folder 7: Changsha campus, site before clearing, gateway, and panoramic views, early 20th century
• Box 155, folder 22: Changsha campus life - classes, daily routine, and study activity, early 20th century

Series XIV. Publications and publicity materials

• Box 191, folder 5: "History of the Class of 1917," College of Yale-in-China, 1917

Link to the online finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale

Overview: General correspondence of Thurston (Yale College Class of 1898), missionary in China and active member of the Yale Foreign Missionary Society, makes up the major portion of these papers. The main topics are his work in China, including his interest in the Yale Missionary Band and the organization of the Yale Foreign Missionary Society.

Collection material used in class session:

• Box 1, folder 29: Correspondence to Edward Bliss Reed, 1903
• Box 2, folder 39: Correspondence with the Yale Missionary Band, 1898-1903

Link to the online finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale

Overview: Correspondence, essays and memorabilia of Seabury (Yale College Class of 1900), a missionary in China who helped plan and organize the Yale Foreign Missionary Society. Correspondence with his family (1904-1907) and reports on his work for the Society and the founding of the Yali Middle School is included.

Collection material used in class session:

• Box 1, folder 3: Letters to family, January-May 1905

Link to the online finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale

Overview: The records consist of correspondence, minutes of meetings, financial records, membership lists, program records, committee records, scrapbooks, subject files, conference records, publications and printed material, and related materials concerning the activities of Dwight Hall at Yale.

Collection material used in class session:

• Accession 19ND-A-163, Box 9, folders 38a: Catalogs, articles, and other printed ephemera relating mainly to the Yale Mission in China, circa 1902-1909

Link to the online finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale

Overview: William Whiting Borden (Yale College Class of 1909) was a founder of the Yale Hope Mission, and served as a traveling secretary for the Student Volunteer Movement for Foreign Missions. He went to Cairo, Egypt, to study Islam and Arabic in preparation for working among the Muslims in China, and died there in 1913.

Collection material used in class session:

• Box 120, folder 10: Correspondence and other material related to Borden’s work with the Student Volunteer Movement for Foreign Missions, 1911-1913

Link to the online finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale

Overview: The Student Volunteer Movement for Foreign Missions (SVM) was an organization that sought to recruit college and university students in the United States for missionary service abroad. Records document the activities of the SVM and provide valuable information on various aspects of American religious life during the period 1886-1964, as well as conditions on American college and university campuses.

Series I. Volunteer and inquirer forms and statistics

• Box 26, folder 14: Application blanks, Albro-Aldridge, circa 1902-1932
• Box 27, folder 22: Application blanks, Allenby-Allison, circa 1890-1948

Series II. Volunteer and inquirer correspondence

• Box 138, folder 1379: Volunteer correspondence, Alb-Aldrich, circa 1920s-1930s
• Box 139, folder 1388: Volunteer correspondence, Anderson, A.-Anderson, C., circa 1920s-1930s

Link to the online finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale

Overview: Correspondence, writings, photographs, films, and other documentation of the life and work of John Gillespie Magee, his son John Gillespie Magee, Jr. and other family members. The Rev. John G. Magee (1884-1953), a graduate of Yale College (Class of 1906), served as a missionary to China under the Episcopal Church from 1912-1938. John G. Magee witnessed the Japanese invasion of Nanking (Nanjing) in December of 1937 and the subsequent Nanking Massacre.

Collection material used in class session:

• Box 5, folder 2: Diary documenting missionary work in China, 18 September -28 December 1916.