Skip to main content
Banner Image

Music Library Special Collections: Archival Collections I-K

Finding and using archives, manuscripts, rare books and scores, and other special collections at the Music Library.

Archival Collections I-K

Previous     Next

International Society for Contemporary Music

Misc. Ms. 171 - Papers of the New Haven Chapter, ISCM; 0.5'

This collection documents the history of the New Haven Chapter of the International Society for Contemporary Music (ISCM). The Chapter was founded in 1961 and presented 17 concerts of new music before disbanding in 1965. While most of the concerts were presented by Yale students and faculty members, the Chapter did bring to New Haven such well-known composers as Edgard Varèse, Milton Babbitt, Aaron Copland, and Roger Sessions.

Ives, Charles

MSS 14 - The Charles Ives Papers; 51' 

Charles Ives (1874-1954; Yale Class of 1898) was one of the most original and influential composers of the 20th century. His papers are in two parts: 

The music is listed in James B. Sinclair's A Descriptive Catalogue of the Music of Charles Ives (New Haven, CT: Yale University Press, 1999).
Other materials, including literary writings, correspondence, diaries, scrapbooks, photographs, writings about Ives, and Ives's collection of music by others are in a finding aid prepared by Vivian Perlis.

The Papers include essentially all of Ives's existing sketches, manuscripts, and published works.  See also the The Charles Henry Kauffman Collection of Materials Relating to Charles Ives, the John Kirkpatrick Papers, and the Charles Ives Society's website.

Jaskewitz, Joseph

Misc. Ms. 245 - The Joseph Jaskewitz Papers; 1.5'

Joseph Jaskewitz was born on January 5, 1808 in Vienna. He began his opera career there as a choral singer in 1827, but soon he was performing solo roles in Zagreb (Agram), Budapest, Linz, Mainz, Frankfurt, and Aachen. In 1840 he joined the Hoftheater in Wiesbaden, and he became its director in 1855. He remained at the Hoftheater until his retirement in 1878. The date of his death is uncertain. According to an article in the Wiesbadener Tagblatt (October 16, 1894) found in the Jaskewitz Papers, he died in 1883. The Grosses Sängerlexikon by K.J. Kutsch and Leo Riemens (München : K.G. Saur, 1997), from which most of the foregoing biographical information is drawn, states that he died on March 8, 1888. The collection documents his career through detailed performance diaries and partbooks used in the preparation of his roles, as well as personal effects, opera bills, photographs, and miscellaneous materials.

Jenkins, Newell

MSS 67 - The Newell Jenkins-Clarion Society Papers; ca.35' 

The Society was founded in New York in 1957 by Newell Jenkins (1915-1996). Most of the music performed by the Society was in editions prepared by Jenkins from primary sources. Among the composers whose little-known works have been performed are Steffani, Cavalli, Monteverdi, Banchieri, Brunetti, and Sammartini. The Papers include several hundred microfilms of primary sources, photocopies prepared from the films, over 300 editions (scores and parts) prepared by Jenkins, and the correspondence and business files and programs of the Society. (Partially processed)

Jepson, Harry Benjamin

Misc. Ms. 216 - Selected Compositions of Harry Benjamin Jepson; 1.5'

Harry Benjamin Jepson was born in New Haven, Connecticut on August 16, 1870. He attended Yale University, earning the B.A. in 1893 and the B.M. in 1894; his teachers included Horatio Parker and Gustave Stoeckel. Later he also studied in Paris with Charles Marie Widor and Louis Vierne. In 1895 he was appointed instructor at Yale; he was promoted to assistant professor in 1899, university organist in 1906, and full professor in 1907. He also directed the choir in the university's Battell Chapel. Jepson was known for his organ compositions as well as his performances. He retired in 1939, and died in Noank, Connecticut on August 23, 1952. This collection consists of holograph sketches and scores and published editions of 14 of Jepson's musical compositions, primarily organ music.

Johnson, J. Rosamond

MSS 21 - The J. Rosamond Johnson Papers; 8' 

John Rosamond Johnson (1873-1954) and his brother, James Weldon Johnson, composed and wrote the lyrics for "Lift Every Voice and Sing," considered to be the "black national anthem." The two brothers and Bob Cole collaborated on more than two hundred songs during their seven years of existence as the Cole and Johnson Brothers. Rosamond had a remarkable career. He studied at the New England Conservatory, was a conductor in London, an officer in the United States Army, a founding member of ASCAP, toured as a pianist with Taylor Gordon, played in movies, was active in vaudeville, and created the role of Lawyer Frazier in Porgy and Bess. His Papers include musical manuscripts, published works, correspondence, programs, clippings, and photographs. The James Weldon Johnson Papers are in the Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library.

Jolas, Betsy

MSS 106 - The Betsy Jolas Papers; ca. 20'

Betsy Jolas (b. 1926) ranks among the leading composers of our time. She is the daughter of Eugene and Maria Jolas, prominent literary figures closely associated with James Joyce. (Their papers are held at the Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library.) Betsy Jolas was born in Paris, and educated in both France and the United States. In addition to her creative work, she has also been a notable teacher, chiefly at the Paris Conservatoire. Her papers include music, correspondence, writings, teaching materials, programs, clippings, journals, calendars, photographs, sound recordings, and other materials by and about Jolas. See also her own web site,

Kastendieck, Miles

MSS 117 - The Miles Kastendieck Papers; 5'

Miles Merwin Kastendieck (1905-2001) was a music critic and educator. A graduate of Yale (B.A. '27, Mus.B. '28, Ph.D. '32), he wrote for the Brooklyn Eagle, New York Journal American, New York World Journal Tribune, and Christian Science Monitor. He taught English at Poly Prep Country Day School in Brooklyn, and wrote a book about the school's history, as well as a book about Thomas Campion. The collection includes scrapbooks of Kastendieck's newspaper articles, various other items by and about Kastendieck, and records of the Music Critics' Circle of New York City.

Kauffman, Charles Henry

Misc. Ms. 427 - The Charles Henry Kauffman Collection of Materials Relating to Charles Ives; 0.5'

Born in Pennsylvania, Dr. Charles Henry Kauffman practiced osteopathic surgery in Brookfield, Connecticut. Kauffman was a close friend of Charles Ives. The two first met in the 1920s through Ives's brother, Judge J. Moss Ives, and his brother-in-law, the Rev. Joseph Twichell. Dr. Kauffman treated both Charles Ives and his mother for various illnesses, and remained in contact with Ives throughout their lives. Much of the collection pertains to Ives. It includes letters between Kauffman and Ives (as well as other correspondents), published writings and music by Ives, articles concerning Ives, poetry by Kauffman, and a commemorative coin issued in honor of Ives.

Kay, Hershy

MSS 28 - The Hershy Kay Papers; 17' 

In addition to original compositions of Hershy Kay (1919-81), the papers include Kay's arrangements of compositions by George Gershwin, Noel Coward, Carl Maria von Weber, Joseph Haydn, J.S. Bach, Claude Debussy, and several 15th - and 16th-century composers. Seventeen ballets document Kay's collaboration with choreographers Joe Layton, George Balanchine, and Eliot Feld. Supplementing the music manuscripts are programs, clippings, photographs, and writings. There is no correspondence.

Kaye, Danny

See The Sylvia Fine and Danny Kaye Musical Comedy Library

Kenneson, Claude

MSS 94 - The Claude Kenneson Papers; 2.5'

Claude Kenneson (1935-2013) was a cellist, composer, and professor at the University of Alberta. His papers consist of computer-generated scores and parts for the composer's original works, as well as his many arrangements for violoncello ensembles of compositions by other composers. (Partially processed)

Kirkpatrick, John

MSS 56 - The John Kirkpatrick Papers; 40' 

Noted for his performances of American music, especially that of Charles Ives and Carl Ruggles, pianist John Kirkpatrick (1905-1991) edited the music of and corresponded with many of the nation's composers, such as Henry Cowell, Roy Harris, Ross Lee Finney, Aaron Copland, and Elliott Carter, who are well represented in the vast correspondence. As a close friend of Ives and Ruggles and an authority on their music, Kirkpatrick collected information about them. The papers also document Kirkpatrick's outstanding career as a performer.

See also The Charles Ives Papers (music and other materials), the Carl Ruggles Papers, and The Vivian Perlis Collection of Schmitz, Ornstein, Copland, and Kirkpatrick,

Kirkpatrick, Ralph

MSS 11 - The Ralph Kirkpatrick Papers; 22' 

During his lifetime Ralph Kirkpatrick gave Yale two collections of material: 

Over one hundred 20th-century works for harpsichord, including holograph, copyist, printed, and composer-facsimile editions, many either dedicated to or commissioned by Kirkpatrick.

Source materials, notes, and correspondence for his various editions and translations of his book Domenico Scarlatti and related publications.

He bequeathed to Yale his remaining papers, which include programs and reviews of his performances, his writings, correspondence, and photographs. His extensive library of books and scores has been dispersed: rare items have been processed for the Music Library's Rare Book Collection and some duplicates were sold at Sotheby's auctions in London in July and November 1988; non-rare items have been incorporated into the circulating collection or sold to another library. With the income from the sales an endowed book fund in Kirkpatrick's name was established, the income being used to purchase rare materials or for the general support of the Music Library. (Partially processed)

Kish, Dorothy and George

MSS 116 - The Dorothy and George Kish Collection; 3'

Dorothy Stevenson Kish (1904-2004) was a graduate of the Yale School of Music (Class of 1924). She was active as a piano teacher, church musician, and music philanthropist. Her husband, George J. Kish, was a Connecticut realtor. The collection includes sheet music, programs, periodicals, sound recordings, and other materials. Much of the collection pertains to the Metropolitan Opera. (Not yet processed)

Klein, Arthur and Luce

MSS 105 - Arthur and Luce Klein Spoken Arts Collection

Kowalski, Max

Misc. Ms. 293 - The Max Kowalski Collection; 0.25'

Max Kowalski was born in Kowal, Poland on August 10, 1882. A year later he moved to Germany, where he was educated; in addition to his musical studies (composition with Bernhard Sekles and singing with Alexander Heinemann), he earned a law degree from the University of Marburg. As a singer-composer, Kowalski naturally specialized in the composition of Lieder. Under the Nazi regime, he was imprisoned in Buchenwald, but he was released in 1939. He then moved to England, where he remained until his death in London on June 4, 1956. The collection consists of holograph scores for 13 of Kowalski's Lieder, including 1 of the 12 Gedichte aus Pierrot Lunaire, 3 of the 6 Heine-Lieder, and 9 of the 12 Lieder on texts by Li Po. It also holds a printed score of the composer's Lieder, op. 17, published by Universal Edition in 1934.

Kosakoff, Reuven

MSS 130 - The Ravi Goel Collection of Reuven Kosakoff; 0.5'

Reuven Kosakoff (1898-1987) was a New Haven-based composer, pianist, and teacher. He was educated at Yale and at the Institute of Musical Art (later known as the Juilliard School), and studied in Berlin with Artur Schnabel. He composed many types of music, including Jewish liturgical works and music for children. The collection consists chiefly of compositions and arrangements by Reuven Kosakoff, in manuscript or in print. Most of the works in the collection are for one or two pianos, and many appear to have been written for young students. The collection includes two volumes of 2nd-piano parts that Kosakoff composed for works by other composers. The collection also includes one letter by Kosakoff to his sister Stella Nahum.

Kraehenbuehl, David

MSS 79 - The David Kraehenbuehl Papers; 11' 

David Kraehenbuehl (1923-1997) studied at the University of Illinois, the Yale School of Music (under Paul Hindemith), and the Schola Cantorum Basiliensis in Basel, Switzerland. In addition to his work as a composer, from 1950 to 1960 Kraehenbuehl held faculty positions at Colorado College and at Yale. He was a founder and the first editor of the Journal of Music Theory. Kraehenbuehl left academia in 1960 and devoted the rest of his life to raising the standards of piano pedagogy in the United States. He was also instrumental in composing and editing sacred music for Roman Catholic services following the dictates of the Second Vatican Council (1962-1965). The David Kraehenbuehl Papers were the gift of Marie Kraehenbuehl in 1999.

Previous     Next