Two films about Gandhi
"Nepal Trip" DVD [Chester Bowles]
This is the "Home" page of the "South Asia in Manuscripts and Archives" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

This is a brief overview of selected collections in Yale's Manuscripts and Archives (located within Sterling Memorial Library) that have South Asia content.
Last Updated: Mar 19, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.yale.edu/SouthAsiaMSSA Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search Finding Aids

Advanced Search
 

Image

"Sikh Scripture (Panjabi)." Box 2, Folder 74. Arnold More Knight Papers (MS 1386). Manuscripts and Archives, Yale University Library.

 

 

South Asia Collections in Manuscripts and Archives

This Guide is intended to give students and researchers a starting point for learning about collections in Yale's Manuscripts and Archives that have South Asian content. Geographically South Asia incorporates: 

Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, the Himalayan region, India, the Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka

Please remember that this is not an extensive list; there is plenty more material to be discovered! You may also want to explore special collections in other libraries around campus, such as the Beinecke, Divinity Library, or Yale University Art Gallery, using the Finding Aid Database.

 

What is a Finding Aid?

So...what is a Finding Aid?

A finding aid is a large document (you can download them as PDFs) that writes out in common language what is contained within a collection. While the collection name won't give you a lot of useful information...

Bowles (Chester) papers [MS 628]

...the finding aid will tell you exactly what is in each box and folder...

Part IX, Series I. Photographs and Memorabilia. BOX 381, Folder 65: “Scrapbook entitled "Bombay Diary" with photographs & clippings of Bowles' trip to Bombay” (Feb 1952)

Am I allowed to look at these? How do I look at these things? 

Yes! All researchers (faculty, graduate students, and undergraduates) are welcome to use Yale's Manuscripts and Archives, located within Sterling Memorial Library. They have posted a lot of useful information on their website, including:

Librarian for South Asian Studies

Profile Image
Sarah Calhoun
Logo - Facebook
Contact Info
Sterling Memorial Library, room 210
(look for the bulletin board)
International Collections and Research Support

Mail: PO Box 208240
New Haven, CT 06520-8240

Tel: (203) 432-7795
Send Email
Favorite Books:
Writing down the bones : freeing the writer within / Natalie Goldberg
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip