Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Yale Library COVID-19 updates.

South Asia: Manuscripts and Archives: Theodore Martindale Purdy

This is a brief overview of selected collections in Yale's Manuscripts and Archives (located within Sterling Memorial Library) that have South Asia content.

Search Finding Aids

Advanced Search

Purdy Image

BOX 6: Photograph album, "Jain temple - Ahmedabad" (1890). Theodore Martindale Purdy Photographs and Papers (MS 1994). Manuscripts and Archives, Yale University Library.

About the Purdy Collection

Excerpted from Theodore Martindale Purdy Photographs and Papers (MS 1994) Finding Aid:

This collection consists of photograph albums, maps, diaries and other materials documenting the worldwide travels of Theodore Martindale Purdy from 1883 to 1931. The photograph albums form the bulk of the collection, and they richly document the landscapes, people, and cultures of the places Purdy visited during his travels, particularly Northern Africa, East Asia, Southeast Asia, and South Asia. Accompanying the photographs are Purdy's travel journals, sketchbooks, annotated travel maps and guides, postcards, and other materials produced or collected during his many trips abroad. 

This collection has not been digitized.

Purdy Collection - Highlights


BOX 13: Travel scrapbook (1883-1884)


BOX 3: Photograph albums: Egypt, Ceylon, India (1889-1891)


BOX 12, Folder 2: Sketchbook (1883-1892). This image is captioned: "This is the way I rode in Hyderabad."


BOX 6: Photograph albums: Morocco, Algeria, Tunisia, Egypt, Greece, Italy, France, Ceylon, Singapore, China, Japan (1890). "Road in Ceylon 'up-country'"

Librarian for South Asian Studies

Profile Photo
Brandon J. Miliate, PhD
Contact:
214 Sterling Memorial Library