Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Yale Library COVID-19 updates.

South Asia: Manuscripts and Archives: Pancholi Papers

This is a brief overview of selected collections in Yale's Manuscripts and Archives (located within Sterling Memorial Library) that have South Asia content.

Search Finding Aids

Advanced Search

Pancholi Image

BOX 2: Necklace from Gandhi. Pancholi (MS 1483). Manuscripts and Archives, Yale University Library.

About the Pancholi Collection

Excerpted from Pancholi Collection of Gandhi Letters (MS 1483) Finding Aid:

The Pancholi Collection of Gandhi Letters consists of fifty letters and postcards written by Mohandas (Mahatma) Gandhi to Vijayaben M. Pancholi, Gandhi's pupil and a member of his ashram. The letters were written to Mrs. Pancholi in Gandhi's own hand in the Gujarati language over a period of about thirteen years, from 1935 until three weeks before his assassination on January 30, 1948.

The letters are non-political and discuss personal events. In one letter, Gandhi offers Mrs. Pancholi advice during her pregnancy. In another he comments on his own state of health.

In addition to the letters, the collection also contains a sari, made from yarn spun by Gandhi and his wife Kasturba Gandhi (khadi, spun on a charkha); a Tulsi necklace; and a collection of vignettes about Mahatma Gandhi written by Vijayaben M. Pancholi.

This collection has not been digitized.

Pancholi Collection - Highlights


BOX 2: Sari from Gandhi 


BOX 1, Folder 10: Copies of letters to Vijayaben M. Pancholi from Mahatma Gandhi (1935-1948)

Librarian for South Asian Studies

Profile Photo
Brandon J. Miliate, PhD
Contact:
214 Sterling Memorial Library