There are many guides for finding newspapers on a specific location, period, topic and ethnic group, etc. Search "newspaper" in the search box of Yale Library Research Guides and limit by adding other keywords or selecting tags, subjects, etc.
FactivaFactiva contains nearly 8,000 sources from 118 countries and 22 languages, and 120 continuously updated newswires. You will see current issues of Japan related newspapers such as:
Asahi Shimbun AJW
OrbisYale library owns many reprints or microfilm version of historical newspapers.
Japan Weekly Mail (1870 -1917)"A weekly review of Japanese commerce, politics, literature, and art. A fortnightly summary of intelligence from Japan, for transmission to Europe and the United States, via Suez and San Francisco." Now some of content is available through Hathi Trust Database (http://catalog.hathitrust.org/).
Japan Advertiser (1913-1940)Published during a period encompassing the Taisho Period and the early Showa Era, The Japan Advertiser depicts the Japan of almost a century ago from the perspective of foreign journalists. The content includes news articles as well as stories aimed at foreigners living in Japan that introduced Japanese culture and advertising that reflects the social and economic climate of those times.
Japan Chronicle Weekly (1902-1940)“The newspaper of record for Japan’s engagement with modernity and its emergence, through war, political and social upheaval and seismic social change in East Asia, onto the world stage in the first half of the twentieth century.” - from the database site.
Japan Illustrated (1963 to 1977)Year Book of Japan with Official Information and Statistical Data on All Phases of the Empire combined with Special Articles and a Complete Guide Book. Edited by Nippon Dempo News Agency (日本電報通信社) Quarterly pictorial magazine published from 1963 to 1977, 56 issues in total. Content: “Postwar photo journal responds to the foreign gaze” Photographic introduction on Japanese culture, fine arts and crafts, performing art, architecture, cultural heritage, nature, industry, major events and more. Focusing on people who are active in various fields.
Compilation of political and social cartoon caricatures published in newspapers and journals from Meiji to early Showa period. Many cartoons are labeled with English or Chinese captions.
Mimicking the successful magazine "Puck" in the United States, "Tokyo Pakku" was published by Rakuten Kitazawa (1876-1955) as a magazine of cartoon caricatures for political satire and social criticism.
Garakuta chinpō = The Japanese comic paper, garakuta-chimpo.
A reprint of a journal for political social cartoon caricatures in 1879 - 1883. Some cartoons are labeled with English captions. However, some issues carry inaccurate parallel English chronological designations.
"The world's largest online, free-access full-image collection of newspapers published by overseas Japanese and their descendants... The collection contains about fifteen newspapers published in Hawaii and North America with a total of nearly 500,000 pages. Most publications contain a mix of Japanese and English."
The paper began in 1903 supporting the small but growing Japanese community in the Little Tokyo area of Las Angeles, California. It was the most widely circulated paper in the region by the 1940’s and included a weekly English section. The paper was forced to cease publication and its publisher was imprisoned by the government during World War II. The archive contains all obtainable published issues from 1914 through 2018.
One of the Library of Congress's Story Maps series "by Megan Bauerle, 2022 Junior Fellow in the Connecting Communities Digital Initiative. This Story Map follows experiences of higher education for Japanese American students under WWII Incarceration. The Story Map focuses on articles from the Japanese American Internment Camp Newspaper collection to look at different individuals from the incarceration centers across the United States. This downloadable CSV file provides the mapped data in this Story Map."