Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Japanese Studies Primary Sources in Western Languages: Statistics

Guides

Online Statistics

Comprehensive statistics

 Nihon tōkei nenkan = Japan statistical yearbook
Exhaustive and systematic statistical resource. Contains around 750 types of statistical data in 27 categories and 50 charts and graphs. Each chapter provides both the original source for the statistics and the methodology fof the surveys. Excel and PDF versions can be downloaded. Categories are in English and Japanese. Library has the paper version from 1945 to the present.


Historical statistics

Historical Statistics of Japan
“… collected and organized important time-series data from a vast amount of statistics covering various fields including land, population, economy, society and culture and compiled them systematically into the "Historical Statistics of Japan." The statistics covered in this publication range from 1868 to date. …The Historical Statistics of Japan contains 879 statistical tables in 31 fields.”


International comparison

Japan: An International Comparison
This is an annual guide published by The Keizai Koho Center. It provides comparative statistics on many different topics with many tables and graphs.


Public Opinion

JPOLL

JPOLL is a comprehensive source of Japanese public opinion data, offered by the Roper Center. Yale is a member institution, and students, faculty and staff therefore have access to complete data sets. You will need to register individually; contact the Social Sciences Library for more information.

iPOLL
Database for US nationwide public opinion surveys. Key words are retrieved by full-text questions.


Public Opinion as reported by the Japanese Cabinet Office
Provides many public opinion surveys conducted by the Japanese Cabinet Office as CSV files. Opinion surveys on popular topics such as domestic life, society, and foreign relations are listed in its categories annually. One may browse other topics, organized by the year the survey was conducted. No English page available.


Gender

Gender Statistic Database