Getting Started
Oxford Companion to the Garden
This Companion is devoted to gardens and the people and ideas involved in their making. It combines a survey of the world's gardens with articles on a range of topics, such as garden visiting, horticulture, scientific issues, and the social history of gardens, as well as biographies of garden designers, nurserymen, and others. Over half the entries are devoted to individual gardens, ranging from palace gardens to private gardens of outstanding design.
Dictionary of Architecure and Landscape Architecture
Search entries on architects, terms, periods, and styles, covering all periods of Western architectural history. Each entry is followed by a
mini-bibliography, with suggestions for further reading.
Images of British Gardens and Landscape Design in the YCBA Collections
Books on British Gardens and Landscape Design
Books listed can be found in the YCBA Reference Library unless otherwise noted.
- The Renaissance Garden in Britain byCall Number: SB466 G7 A57 1991 (LC)ISBN: 0747801304Publication Date: 1991
- The English garden tour : a view into the past byCall Number: SB466 G7 B27 1990 (LC)ISBN: 071954775XPublication Date: 1990
- The Art And Architecture of English Gardens: Designs for the Garden from the Collection of the Royal Institute of British Architects 1609 to the Present Day byCall Number: SB457.6 B75 (LC)ISBN: 0297796380Publication Date: 1989
- Bibliography of British Gardens byCall Number: Z5996 A1 D47 (LC)ISBN: 090679515xPublication Date: 1984
Scottish Houses and Gardens from the Archives of Country Life by Call Number: DA875 G68 1997 (LC)+ OversizeISBN: 1854104888Publication Date: 1997
The flowering of the landscape garden : English pleasure grounds, 1720-1800 by Call Number: SB457.6 L349 1999 (LC)ISBN: 081223457XPublication Date: 1999- Small period gardens : a practical guide to design and planting byCall Number: SB473 S848 1992 (LC)ISBN: 1850293651Publication Date: 1992Contains a section with plant names for each type of period garden and a list of further readings organized by period.
Books on British Garden Scultpture and Ornament
Also see the resources listed above for relevant chapters and websites below for images of garden sculpture and ornamentation. Books listed can be found in the YCBA Reference Library unless otherwise noted.
- Formal gardens in England and Scotland, their planning and arrangement, architectural and ornamental features byCall Number: Folio A S 3 (LC)Publication Date: 1902
Antique garden ornament : 300 years of creativity : artists, manufacturers & materials by Call Number: SB473.5 D38 1991 (LC) HAAS ARTS LIBRARY, Art & Arch CollectionISBN: 1851490981Publication Date: 1991
Websites on British Gardens and Landscape Design
This tourist site for discovering Britain can be searched by type of attraction such as castles, abbeys, historic houses, gardens, etc. Attractions can be searched alphabetically in England, Scotland and Wales.
British Castles, Stately Homes and Houses
This website features an alphabetical listing of Castles and Stately Homes in Britain with weblinks and photographs.
Gardenvisit.com: The Garden and Landscape Guide
The site lists nearly 800 gardens in England, 100 in Scotland and 35 in Wales, organized by region. Each listing gives photographs, a map view and visitor information.
HHA represents 1,500 privately-owned historic houses, castles and gardens throughout the UK. Their portfolio of 300 HHA houses open to the public can be searched.
The Trust preserves and makes public, historic houses, gardens, archaeological remains, nature reserves, villages, etc. The site can be searched for properties and the latest news on preservation.
Resource dedicated to information relating to historic parks, gardens and other green open spaces throughout the United Kingdom. The database can be searched for over 6,500 parks and gardens and 2,000 biographies of the people who worked in them. Also browse through news affecting historic parks and gardens.
The guide will help you plan your visit to one of Britain's stately homes, gardens, castles and other historic properties and houses. Includes all major properties represented by the Historic Houses Association, National Trust, English Heritage, Historic Scotland, Cadw (Welsh Heritage), and The National Trust for Scotland and other properties open to the public.
Thomas Mawson Archive
Search this archive for photographs of Thomas Hayton Mawson’s gardens, parks and civic space commissions. Mawson was a celebrated landscape architect of the Edwardian era and renowned for the creation of landscapes that utilized his architectural and horticultural skills.