Skip to main content

British Country Houses, Gardens, and Castles: Secondary Sources

This page is intended to guide users through the resources needed to study Castles, Country Houses and Gardens of England, Scotland and Wales.

Important Subject Guides

History of Art Subject Guide
This guide will help you navigate the many resources in the Haas Arts Library and other Yale libraries containing art history-related materials

Architecture
This guide will help you navigate the many resources the Haas Arts Library and other Yale libraries containing architecture-related materials

Visual Resources
This guide will help you navigate the wide range of visual resources available at Yale.

Books to Consult

Orbis is Yale Library's online catalogue and includes the full holdings of the YCBA Reference Library, the Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library, the Haas Family Arts Library, the Lewis Walpole Library and many others that have holdings relating to British history of art.

Getting Started with Dictionaries and Online Resources

Dictionary of Architecture and Landscape Architecture

Search entries on architects, terms, periods, and styles, covering all periods of Western architectural history. Each entry is followed by a mini-bibliography, with suggestions for further readings.

History of British Architecture

Part of the history section of the BBC's website, this online resource provides information about the history of British architecture. There are Web pages on particular buildings or structures, as well as information on building structures and styles through history, particular architects, such as Christopher Wren and Inigo Jones, and the types of buildings in the UK, from cathedrals and churches to palaces, halls and stone age dwellings.

Oxford Art Online - Grove Art Online

A searchable dictionary covering all periods of art history. Includes extensive entries devoted to people, places, and topics of art history. This resource includes major British artists and movements involving British art. Each entry includes a bibliography for further information. Also available in print as the Grove Dictionary of Art - YCBA Reference Library: N31 D5 1996

Oxford Companion to the Garden

This Companion is devoted to gardens and the people and ideas involved in their making. It combines a survey of the world's gardens with articles on a range of topics, such as garden visiting, horticulture, scientific issues, and the social history of gardens, as well as biographies of garden designers, nurserymen, and others. Over half the entries are devoted to individual gardens, ranging from palace gardens to private gardens of outstanding design.

Hello!

Yale Center for British Art YCBA's picture
Yale Center for British Art YCBA
Contact:
Reference Library and Archives

1080 Chapel Street

(203) 432-2818
Website