Skip to main content

British Country Houses, Gardens, and Castles: Finding Images

This page is intended to guide users through the resources needed to study Castles, Country Houses and Gardens of England, Scotland and Wales.

Finding Images of British Castles, Country Houses and Gardens

ARTstor

More than 1 million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.

Bridgeman Art, Culture, and History Images

Commercial image site with over 8,000 Collections and 29,000 artists.  Browse the following categories: Plans and Designs, Architectural details, Garden Design, Stately Homes.

Country Life Picture Library

Find images that date from the launch of Country Life magazine in 1897 through to the present day. The collection is based around the historic and modern day images of houses and gardens, specially commissioned for the magazine. The collection also features historic buildings and churches; ever-changing landscapes photographed in all seasons; a wide range of quintessential country pursuits and social events; agriculture and animals. Browse by New Images, Houses and Architecture, Landscape and Countryside, or Gardens.

Courtauld Institute of Art: Art and Architecture

A collection of more than 40,000 images, mostly black and white, drawn from resources at the Courtauld Institute, University of London.

Illustrated London News Picture Library (Mary Evans Picture Library): English Heritage Collection

This commercial archive contains a collection of photographs from English Heritage. English Heritage is a public body responsible for protecting and promoting over 400 historic properties of England, officially known as the Historic Buildings and Monuments Commission for England.

ViewFinder-English Heritage National Monuments Record

ViewFinder presents a selection of historic and more recent photographs from the National Monuments Record's important collections. There is a program to add further material regularly. Please note: Many of the buildings photographed remain in private ownership and may not be visited. Can be searched by Basic and Advanced Search and across collections for images of similar places or subjects.

Yale Center for British Art Collection Search

Online searchable database of the Center's paintings, sculpture, Drawings, prints, rare books, and reference collection.

YCBA Photo Archive
Contains over 200,000 black and white photographs of British art worldwide, with a focus on collections in the United States, Canada, and Australia. The photographs are shelved in two sections: cataloged and uncataloged. In both cases, the photographs are shelved alphabetically by artist's last name. A database containing textual descriptions of the images is available in the Reference Library and can be searched by artist, title, owner, year, date, and subject. Ask at the reference desk for assistance.

Yale Visual Resources Collection

Vast digital image collection that supports the arts, humanities, and visual culture studies. Search for houses, estates, buildings, and other keywords and limit Culture/Style to British or Tudor, etc. Other limits can be places such as subject heading or creator.

Hello!

Yale Center for British Art YCBA's picture
Yale Center for British Art YCBA
Contact:
Reference Library and Archives

1080 Chapel Street

(203) 432-2818
Website