Skip to main content

British Country Houses, Gardens, and Castles: Finding Articles

This page is intended to guide users through the resources needed to study Castles, Country Houses and Gardens of England, Scotland and Wales.

Key Resources

The following resources can be used to search for articles mentioning a specific British estate or garden. Family and individuual names can also be searched.

17th and 18th Century Burney Collection of Newspapers: Full-text access to forty-eight 17th & 18th century British newspapers. See publication list here.

British Newspapers 1600-1950: Full text newspapers from the British Library's exhaustive collections, from national and regional newspapers to working class penny papers. Also include newspapers connected to political or social movements: Reform, Chartism, and Home Rule.

British Periodicals Collection: Contains full-text articles from over 500 journals spanning the late 17th to the early 20th centuries.

Eigteenth Century Journals Portal: Portal to newspapers and periodicals 1685-1815 offers integrated access to the Hope Collection at the Bodleian Library, Oxford (Eighteenth Century Journals I), the Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center University of Texas (Eighteenth Century Journals II) and the British Newspaper Library at Colindale, London and the Cambridge University Library (Eighteenth Century Journals III) and Chetham's Library, Manchester and Brotherton Library, University of Leeds (Eighteenth Century Journals IV).

Times Digital Archive: Full-text access to the Times of London from 1785-1985. Pages are scanned from the original text, preserving the original layout and design of the page.

Nineteenth Century Index: This large index searches numerous indexes simulataneously (Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue, Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, The Wellesley Index, Index to British Periodicals, Palmer's Index to the Times, and over 50 others) to provide citations (and links to full-text in some cases) for books, articles, and official publications published 1790-1919.


Additional Full-Text Resources

18th Century Collections Online: Provides fully searchable text editions from among the 150,000 titles published during the 18th century. With special emphasis on the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, and science.

British History Online
: Digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles.

The Guardian and The Observer: The Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003) offer full page and article views with searchable full-text back to the first issue.

Historical Newspapers Online: Provides full text access to many U.S. newspapers including the New York Times, Los Angeles Times, and the Washington Post.

Scotsman Digital Archive: (1817-1950) Full-text searchable access to this Edinburgh newspaper.

Hello!

Yale Center for British Art YCBA's picture
Yale Center for British Art YCBA
Contact:
Reference Library and Archives

1080 Chapel Street

(203) 432-2818
Website