Yale University Library Research Guides: Finance: Company Financials

Fundamentals

Bloomberg
Available at designated terminals in Marx Library and SOM.
Includes balance sheets & income statements dating back to 1990.
Capital IQ
Features balance sheets (including assets, liabilities, & long-term investments), cash flow, income statements (including EPS, R&D expenses, & revenues), market cap, and total debt.
Compustat (via WRDS)
Income statement, balance sheet, statement of cash flows, and supplemental data items on more than 24,000 publicly held companies. From Standard & Poor's.
more...less...
Access is limited to research assistants, graduate students, faculty and staff. New users must request an account.
FactSet
FactSet features comprehensive data and analytics on global financial and economic markets and companies in a flexible, easy-to-use, web-based environment.
Access to FactSet is made possible by Yale School of Management .
more...less...
FactSet Workstation is available for Faculty & PhD Students.
LSEG Workspace
Features market data, company financials and filings, earnings estimates, transaction data, analyst research, and more.
Requires users to register for an individual account. Learn more here. This resource replaced Thomson ONE.
*Featured in class.
Orbis
Database by Bureau Van Dijk with information on more than 400 million companies worldwide. Notable features include extensive coverage of private companies and corporate ownership structures.

EDGAR
Government database of public company filings. Visit Researching Public Companies Through EDGAR: A Guide for Investors
more...less...
"The SEC’s EDGAR database provides free public access to corporate information, allowing you to quickly research a company’s financial information and operations by reviewing registration statements, prospectuses and periodic reports filed on Forms 10-K and 10-Q. You also can find information about recent corporate events reported on Form 8-K but that a company does not have to disclose to investors.

EDGAR also provides access to comment and response letters relating to disclosure filings made after August 1, 2004."
Capital IQ
Provides both real-time and historical information on companies, markets, transactions, and people worldwide.
Requires registering an individual account with a Yale email address.
Individuals who do not want to create an individual account can use S&P NetAdvantage for similar functionality.
Mergent Online
Provides information on U.S. and international companies. Key features include current and historical financial statement data, annual reports, company histories, subsidiaries, joint ventures, supply chain information and the Investext collection of analyst reports that were previously only available in Thomson ONE.

For historic annual reports, visit the Business History Research Guide.

Also try:

Calcbench
Database and research tool for financial statement analysis, financial accounting, and auditing of public companies using SEC XBRL data.
Requires users to register for an account with a valid Yale email address.

Bloomberg
Bloomberg Terminals are available at Evans Hall Ross Library and in Marx Library. Visit our Getting Started with Bloomberg Guide for information.
Capital IQ
Provides both real-time and historical information on companies, markets, transactions, and people worldwide.
Requires registering an individual account with a Yale email address.
I/B/E/S (via WRDS)
Estimates dating back to 1970.
Access is limited to research assistants, graduate students, faculty, and staff.

LSEG Workspace
Access to our largest collection of analyst reports on companies and industries, dating back to 1982. Coverage and availability will vary by the contributor.
Includes reports from the following top banks: JP Morgan; Morgan Stanley; Deutsche Bank; Credit Suisse; Barclays; Bank of America; Wells Fargo; RBC Capital Markets; UBS; HSBC; Nomura: Jefferies.
Not Available in Refinitiv Workspace: Research from Goldman Sachs or Citi. Requires users to register for an individual account. Learn more here.
Mergent Online
Provides information on U.S. and international companies. Key features include current and historical financial statement data, annual reports, company histories, subsidiaries, joint ventures, supply chain information and the Investext collection of analyst reports that were previously only available in Thomson ONE. To search for research reports, select the Investext tab from the navigation bar on the top of the page.