Yale University Library Research Guides: Lewis Walpole Library Fellows' Guide: Academic community at Yale

Yale Directories

Yale Directories
Search for contact information for faculty, staff, students, departments, and organizations at Yale University

LWL-BRBL-YCBA Joint VIsiting Scholars' Luncheon Talks

Prior to the pandemic we had instituted a collaborative series of lunchtime seminars by scholars in residence at the Yale Center for British Art, the Lewis Walpole Library, and the Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library. Scholars gave informal presentations about the research they were undertaking in the Yale collections. These seminars were intended as an opportunity for visiting scholars to meet and share their work with staff, faculty, students, and other scholars at Yale. Lunch was provided - No RSVP required.

We hope to resume this series later in 2022 or 2023. Keep an eye out here for an announcement.

Research Centers at Yale

For a full list of Yale's research centers click or tap here

Benjamin Franklin Papers The Papers of Benjamin Franklin is a collaborative undertaking by a team of scholars at Yale University to collect, edit, and publish the writings and papers of one of America's most remarkable founding fathers and indeed one of the most extraordinary people this nation has ever produced. His ever-curious and inventive mind explored nearly every aspect of his world, both pragmatic and theoretical, and he corresponded with an astonishing range of men and women of all classes and nearly all professions in America, Great Britain, and Europe. In a life spanning from 1706 to 1790, his collected papers present a panoramic view of the eighteenth century.
Boswell Editions A comprehensive edition of the correspondence, journals, and literary manuscripts of James Boswell (1740-1795)
Center for Historical Enquiry & the Social Sciences (YaleCHESS) This cross-disciplinary Center, headquartered in the European Studies Council at the MacMillan Center, seeks to transcend the Humanities and Social Sciences divide, bringing together a diverse complement of scholars to answer large questions that help us better understand the world we live in. YaleCHESS scholars learn from one another’s methodological expertise and substantive knowledge, and its key events are open to the public as well. The centerpiece of CHESS is the Friday lunchtime workshop in which pre-circulated papers are discussed
Gilder Lehrman Center for the Study of Slavery The Gilder Lehrman Center for the Study of Slavery, Resistance, and Abolition, a part of the Whitney and Betty MacMillan Center for International and Area Studies at Yale, is dedicated to the investigation and dissemination of knowledge concerning all aspects of chattel slavery and its destruction.
MacMillan Center The Whitney and Betty MacMillan Center for International and Area Studies at Yale is the University’s focal point for encouraging and coordinating teaching and research on international affairs, societies, and cultures around the world. Beyond the eleven degree programs and other curricular contributions, the MacMillan Center has numerous interdisciplinary faculty councils, centers, committees, and programs.
Whitney Humanities Center The Whitney Humanities Center is an interdisciplinary institution that reflects Yale University’s longstanding commitment to the humanities. The Whitney promotes research and scholarly exchange across fields and is especially committed to supporting the activities of faculty and students whose work transcends departmental boundaries. The Whitney is also the home to a broad-based intellectual community defined by a distinguished fellowship that meets weekly, as well as housing the Humanities Program, an interdisciplinary council of scholars from eleven departments responsible for two of Yale’s most prestigious interdepartmental undergraduate programs: Directed Studies and the Humanities major.
Works of Jonathan Edwards The Works of Jonathan Edwards Online is a collection of writings and articles from Jonathan Edwards. The collection contains edited published works and raw manuscripts.
Yale Center for the Study of Representative Institutions The Yale Center for the Study of Representative Institutions is an interdisciplinary pilot program, established for the purpose of developing the study of the theory and practice of representative government in the Anglo-American tradition. It is hosted by the Whitney and Betty MacMillan Center for International and Area Studies at Yale.
Native Northeast Portal (formerly Yale Indian Papers Project) The New England Indian Papers Series Database is a scholarly critical edition of New England Native American primary source materials gathered into one robust virtual collection. It offers students, educators, researchers, Native American tribal members, and the general public, visual and intellectual access to significant historical knowledge for the purposes of teaching, scholarly analysis, and research.
more...less...
Our archive, The New England Indian Papers Series is transitioning to a new Mukurtu-based content management system called The Native Northeast Portal.

Until the move is complete, we ask our readers to use the search features of both platforms.

Resources on Connecticut Native communities will be found on The New England Indian Papers Series.

Generally, resources on Massachusetts Native communities will be found here at The Native Northeast Portal. However, some Massachusetts primary source materials can be found in the NEIPS.

Working Groups at Yale

Below are links to some projects, colloquia, and working groups at Yale focusing on Britain and/or the eighteenth century. see also Special Collections at Yale with British Eighteenth-Century Holdings. For more working groups, see Working Groups at Yale

British Historical Studies Colloquium The British Historical Studies Colloquium is an interdisciplinary gathering devoted to the study of England, Wales, Scotland, Ireland, and their colonial and cultural dependencies. They encourage the participation of historians, literary scholars, political scientists, sociologists, and scholars of related disciplines. Each session is open to anyone wishing to attend. All papers will be available on their website.
British Studies Colloquium The British Studies Colloquium is an interdisciplinary forum for Yale graduate students and faculty working on any aspect of British literature, history, arts, and culture. With five to six meetings per semester, the colloquium offers an informal setting for graduate students to present work in progress, to get feedback from an interdisciplinary audience, and to cultivate a wider knowledge of British culture than could be provided by any one departmental colloquium. Its programming includes occasional talks by visiting scholars and faculty members as well as by graduate students; in recent years, its core audience has expanded from the Departments of English, History, and History of Art to include Law, Comparative Literature, and Renaissance Studies. Interested students can also join their listserv, british-list@panlists.yale.edu, for announcements relating to the Colloquium and other British studies events at Yale.
18th- and 19th-Century Art and Visual Culture Colloquium This student-run colloquium brings together faculty and students whose work is focused on art, architecture, and decorative arts from the 1780s through World War I. Founded in 1999, the group meets once or twice a month to discuss papers by members of the Yale community and visiting scholars.
18th & 19th-Century Colloquium upcoming events The Eighteenth- and Nineteenth-Century Colloquium pursues research specific to the 18th-century, Romanticism, and Victorianism, as well as projects that cross these historical boundaries. Our sessions provide a forum for work-in-progress by graduate students, new work by local and outside faculty, and panel discussions on topics of current theoretical, methodological, or pedagogical importance.
Early Modern Empires Early Modern Empires At the MacMillan Center. The Early Modern Empires Workshop is dedicated to examining empire and empires from a variety of perspectives. We consider scholarly work about historical empires from around the globe. The Yale Early Modern Empires workshop is a regular meeting of students, professors, and other members of the Yale community from a variety of departments. For each workshop, we invite a speaker whose work speaks to our general areas of inquiry.
Yale Book History The collaboration between Yale’s Department of English and Beinecke Library offers seminar meetings for the Yale community and lectures open to the public.
Yale Early American Historians (YEAH) Yale Early American Historians (YEAH) is an interdisciplinary group of graduate students and faculty who are dedicated to the study of early American history. The group meets regularly throughout the academic year to discuss works-in-progress by YEAH members, and occasionally to host guest speakers.

Lewis Walpole Library Fellows' Guide: Academic community at Yale

Yale Directories

LWL-BRBL-YCBA Joint VIsiting Scholars' Luncheon Talks

Research Centers at Yale

Working Groups at Yale

Site Navigation

Yale's Libraries