Yale University Library Research Guides: Lewis Walpole Library Fellows' Guide: Other Yale Collections

Selected Yale Subject Guides

Here is a selection of the Subject Guides created by Yale librarians to help you use library resources. These are about topics relevant to the study of some aspect of Britain in the long eighteenth century.

Art Market, Auction Catalogues & Provenance Research This guide will help researchers in art history better use available tools for investigating provenance, auction records, and understanding the appraisal of works of art.
Britain and its Empire This guide is intended to facilitate all aspects of research and teaching on the topic of "Britain and its Empire." Yale has extensive opportunities for the study of the British Empire, both in terms of the primary sources found in the university's own collections and through subscriptions to external sources.
British Country Houses, Gardens, and Castles This page is intended to guide users through the resources needed to study British Castles, Country Houses and Gardens. The tabs at the top of this guide help to navigate the primary and secondary sources essential to the study of these historic structures. There are also tabs that pertain to specific topics of study.
Early Modern British History Guide With a focus on digital resources, this guide acquaints researchers with some of the resources available to the Yale Community for early modern British History
British India -- Art and Empire Part of the Yale Center for British Art's "History of British Art" Subject Guide
British India -- South Asia Collection A summary of Yale University Library's South Asia Collection, which includes material from and about Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, the Himalayan region, India, the Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka.
Caribbean Collections at the Yale University Library This guide is intended to facilitate all aspects of research and teaching in Caribbean Studies. Yale has extensive opportunities for the study of the Caribbean, both in terms of the primary sources found in the university's own collections and through subscriptions to external sources. This guide assembles selected documents and collections at Yale that may be of particular interest to students and researchers working on a wide range of issues in Caribbean Studies.
Early Modern British History Mostly digitized primary sources for early-modern British history (pamphlets, government documents, books, images, etc.) Also includes Yale microform collections and printed guides.
History of British Art This page is intended to guide users through the resources needed to study British history of art. The tabs at the top of this guide help to navigate the primary and secondary sources essential to the study of British history of art, tabs that pertain to specific topics, as well as essential resources for specific Yale courses.
Yale Subject Guides -- All These guides are prepared by librarians to help you use library resources.

Special Collections at Yale

Primary source materials related to the British world of the long eighteenth century can be found in nearly every special collections repository at Yale as well as in general collections. Holdings may be identified in Orbis, Quicksearch, Archives at Yale, Digital Collections, and printed lists and catalogues held locally. See each collection's web site for more details and contact information.

Primary Sources at Yale What are primary sources? Primary sources provide firsthand testimony or direct evidence concerning a topic or question under investigation. They are usually created by witnesses or recorders who experienced the events or conditions being documented. Often these sources are created at the time when the events or conditions are occurring, but primary sources can also include autobiographies, memoirs, and oral histories recorded later. Primary sources can be found in all of Yale’s libraries and museums as well as in online resources. You can browse the collections of those libraries and museums or begin your search with examples of various formats.
Primary Sources at Yale--Explore Collections These Yale collections acquire and provide access to primary source materials. Click on the images below to learn about these collections. See the Find & Discover section of this website for tips on how to identify primary sources in these collections as well as in the general library collections. View a map showing collection locations.

British Eighteenth-century Studies Electronic Resources

A Subject Guide with links to electronic resources focused specifically on Britain in the Long Eighteenth century. Many resources are subscription databases available to members of the Yale community, which others are freely available on the web. Researchers with wireless devices registered on the Yale wireless network have access to all of these resources during their stay at the Lewis Walpole Library and the Timothy Root House.

British Eighteenth-century Electronic Resources Study Guide -- click here.

Digital Image Collections at Yale

Lewis Walpole Library Digital Images Collection The collection of digital images represents a portion of the Lewis Walpole Library’s collections of eighteenth-century British prints, drawings, ephemera, and material related to the world in which Horace Walpole lived. Topics covered include politics, fashion, famous figures, notable places, society, daily life, trade, architecture, collecting, antiquities, the performing arts, fine and decorative arts, natural history, and more.
Horace Walpole's Strawberry Hill Collection The database will include a record of all of the art and artifacts from Horace Walpole's collections, some of which are now in the Lewis Walpole Library's collections. Images, descriptions, provenance information as well as the former locations of the pieces within Strawberry Hill are included.
Recent Antiquarian Acquisitions Blog The Recent Antiquarian Acquisitions blog features new additions of early materials to the Lewis Walpole Library’s collection.
Arts Library -- Image Resources Collection Image Resources by Subject This section provides assistance with image resources orgainzed by subject area categories. The resources are intended to draw attention to (1) essential collections offered by major institutions, (2) general resources with reliable information, and (3) special collections of particular significance for research needs. The listing is intended to serve as a starting point for our patrons.
Beinecke Digital Collections
Yale Center for British Art Collections Search across the Yale Center for British Art's online catalogue, currently representing over 100,000 records from the Center's collections. All records from the Center’s collection of Paintings and Sculpture, Prints and Drawings, and Reference Library are searchable online.
Yale University Art Gallery Collections Search the collections of the Yale University Art Gallery
Yale University Library Digital Collections The Library's Digital Collections, available via a browser, are listed below. Internet Explorer is the preferred browser for accessing these collections. Click on a collection to find out more about what it has to offer.
Yale Medical Library Digitized Collections The Cushing/Whitney Medical Library's Collection of Prints and Drawings shows how artists have portrayed issues and events related to health and medicine over six centuries.
Peabody Museum of Natural History Collections
Yale Digital Content Search 1,500,000 records; 250,000 digital assets from across Yale's collections

Lewis Walpole Library Fellows' Guide: Other Yale Collections

Selected Yale Subject Guides

Special Collections at Yale

British Eighteenth-century Studies Electronic Resources

Digital Image Collections at Yale

Search Orbis

Search Finding Aids

Site Navigation

Yale's Libraries