Skip to main content

Finding Lewis Walpole Library Collection Material: HOME

Providing guidance on using various discovery tools to find collection material at the Lewis Walpole Library

Which discovery tools to use to find different kinds of collection material

This guide provides information on finding Lewis Walpole Library collection material. On this home page, there is information on finding different kinds of collection material.

Books    Ephemera    Horace Walpole and Strawberry Hill    Manuscripts    Visual Materials--Caricatures and Satires    Visual Materials--Portraits    Visual Materials--Topographical Views    Yale Subscription Databases and Electronic Resources

The different tabs across the top of this guide provide further information on each discovery tool and how to limit or refine searches to the LWL collections, different formats, and how to request material for use in the LWL reading room, and links to help pages for the tools, where available.

Screenshot of Orbis Advanced Search​ ORBIS has been Yale's online library catalog for years, providing access to books, manuscripts, visual materials and more.

screenshot of Quicksearch landing page​ QUICKSEARCH is a new integrated search interface combining searches in Books+ (Orbis and Morris, the Yale Law Library catalog), Articles+ (electronic serials and database articles), Databases, and Digital collections.  For the purposes of this guide, the Quicksearch tab focuses on searching Books+. See DIGITAL COLLECTIONS

Archives at Yale front pageARCHIVES AT YALE  provides access to collections (primarily manuscripts and archives, but also graphic materials and more).

YFAD screenshot with red x across itYALE FINDING AID DATABASE was retired in January 2019. Please use Archives at Yale instead. 

screenshot of digital collections home page DIGITAL COLLECTIONS is the interface for searching and viewing digital collections. It that includes all available digital images from the LWL's collections. Some enhanced features such as gallery views are still in development.

D L home page with red x across it DL was retired in late July 2018. Please use Digital Collections instead.

photo of the card catalog drawers at the LWLCARD CATALOG AT THE LWL still available in the Reading Room and upon request, the card catalog has in most cases been supplanted by the online tools; however it still enables access to certain resources not fully analyzed online. 

screenshot of Horace Walpole's Strawberry HillOther tools include the HORACE WALPOLE'S STRAWBERRY HILL COLLECTION database, the RECENT ANTIQUARIAN ACQUISITIONS BLOG, and RISM for the Thomas Gray Manuscript Music Collection. 

Books

Manuscripts

Additional finding aids (e.g. Miscellaneous Manuscripts, Du Deffand Papers, etc.) available upon request at the LWL

Ephemera

Suggested Genre/Form terms

Admission tickets 

Advertisements

Advertising cards

Bookplates

Playbills 

Tickets

Trade cards 

Can add country (and city) and date

e.g. Playbills--England--London--1798

Visual Materials--Caricatures and Satires

Suggested Genre/Form term

Satires (Visual works)

            can add country and date

e.g. Satires (Visual works)--England--1770 

Visual Materials -- Portraits

Suggested Genre/Form term

Portraits

            can add country and date

e.g. Portraits--England--1726 

Visual Materials -- Topographical Views

Suggested Call number (or Holdings Keyword) search

TOPOS

Suggested Genre/Form term search

Views

Suggested Subject term search

[city or type of structure]-Pictorial Works--date

for example: London (England)--Pictorial works--Early works to 1800.

[type of structure]--[country]--[city]

for example: Churches--England--London.

Head of Public Services -- Lewis Walpole Library

Susan Walker's picture
Susan Walker
Contact:
The Lewis Walpole Library

154 Main Street

Farmington, CT
860-677-2140
Website

Horace Walpole and Strawberry Hill

Suggested subject searches

Walpole, Horace, 1717-1797. 

Walpole, Horace, 1717-1797--Ms. notes. (local Yale subject)
Walpole, Horace, 1717-1797--Ownership (local Yale subject).

Strawberry Hill (Twickenham, London, England) 

Strawberry Hill Press (Twickenham, London, England)