Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Finding Lewis Walpole Library Collection Material: OTHER

Providing guidance on using various discovery tools to find collection material at the Lewis Walpole Library

Horace Walpole's Strawberry Hill Collection

Screenshot of Horace Walpole's Strawberry Hill Collection home page

Database of objects from Horace Walpole's collection at his house Strawberry Hill, some of which are in the Lewis Walpole Library's collection. Each entry includes photo(s), title, provenance, description, and other details. Click or tap here for more information.

Use this tool especially to search for items Walpole owned but which may not be available in Orbis or the Digital Collections, for example, decorative arts and stained glass. 

Horace Walpole’s Strawberry Hill Collection was initially developed by the Lewis Walpole Library to support research for the exhibition Horace Walpole’s Strawberry Hill and for the renovation of the house itself, undertaken by the Strawberry Hill Trust. Dispersed since the famous sale in 1842, Walpole's collection was one of the most significant in eighteenth-century Britain, numbering several thousand items. This database encompasses the entire range of art and artifacts from Walpole's collections, including all items whose location is currently known and those as yet untraced but known through a variety of historical records.

Yale Library Online

Recent Antiquarian Acquisitions

Screenshot of Recent Antiquarian Acquisitions blog home page

 

The Recent Antiquarian Acquisitions blog features new additions of early materials to the Lewis Walpole Library’s collection. Entries include an image, title, author, publication information, brief description, call number, and link to the catalog record. The blog is searchable.

Music

Manuscript music collected by Thomas Gray, ca. 1740 (Quarto 532 MS) 

Thomas Gray's Manuscript Music Collection (11 vols.) has been fully cataloged in RISM (Répertoire International des Source Musicales) with each of the musical compositions in the 11 volumes cataloged individually.

To browse all of the pieces, search on the Lewis Walpole Library's sigla US-FAy, or to search for individual pieces or the works of a particular composer within the collection, construct an advanced search: