Skip to main content

Finding Lewis Walpole Library Collection Material: DIGITAL COLLECTIONS

Providing guidance on using various discovery tools to find collection material at the Lewis Walpole Library

Tips

DIGITAL COLLECTIONS includes all of the existing the same content  that was in the old "DL" in addition to the thousands of new images that the Lewis Walpole Library has scanned since 2011, including all new acquisitions of graphic materials as well as hundreds of other printed materials and unique LWL manuscript holdings.  The Library continues to add material regularly.  

Among the exciting features of the new DIGITAL COLLECTIONS site are more sophisticated search options, a variety of options to page virtually through complex objects ( e.g., browse through an extra-illustrated volume or bound manuscript. For example click or tap here: Trade tokens and bookplates) and the ability to search a single or multiple Yale repositories. 

Additional features are being developed. DIGITAL COLLECTIONS will eventually include enhancements like a gallery view to facilitate browsing. 

Duplicate images/records--sometimes you will see two identical images and records. This does not necessarily indicate that the Library has two impressions. Look at the call number and image number within the record to determine if it is just a repeated entry.

It is not possible to request an item for use in the Lewis Walpole Library Reading Room through DIGITAL COLLECTIONS. Please search for the item in Orbis or Quicksearch and place the request through there.

 

What it is

Search for caricatures, satires, portraits, topographical views, other prints and drawings, is well as selected printed texts, ephemera, and manuscripts. among the digitized images, archival documents, and other materials in the Yale University Library's primary Digital Collections repository. Use this search interface to view all available images of items from the Lewis Walpole Library's collections. Links in Orbis/Quicksearch catalog records also point to images in this repository.

 

Searchable fields

The following fields are searchable in Digital Collections:

Call number
Local Record Number  (including lwlpr number)
Box Number
Folder Name
Creator
Associated Names
Subjects
Orbis Record
Finding Aid (YFAD)
Related Links
Donor
Date Created
Other Dates
Content Type
Funding Source
Note
Rights

please note that some of these fields may not be used for LWL records. 

Refining Your Search -- Repository:.Lewis Walpole Library

Select Lewis Walpole Library from list of Digital Collection on the left-hand side

Digital Collections faceted searching showing selection of Lewis Walpole Library circled in red among list of Digital Collections