The Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages (4 Volume Set)-Online by
Accessible online. Each entry contains a brief bibliography. A balanced coverage of both the whole geographical extent of the European Middle Ages and sixteen major topics centrally important to the study of the period.
Dictionary of the Middle Ages by
Explores every aspect of medieval life in Christian Europe, the Scandinavian north, the Byzantine and Slavic east, the Muslim south, and the far-ranging world of Judaism from 500 to 1500 CE.
The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church (Online) by
6,000 cross-referenced A-Z entries from theology; churches and denominations; patristic scholarship; and the bible; to the church calendar and its organisation; popes; archbishops; saints; and mystics. Online available. Newly updated in 2022.
The Oxford Dictionary of Saints (Online) by
Accessible online. Includes concise accounts of the lives, cults, and artistic associations of over 1,400 saints, including many from the medieval period.
Historical Dictionary of Medieval Philosophy and Theology by
This second edition concentrates on various philosophers and theologians from the medieval Arabian, Jewish, and Christian worlds. It principally centers on authors such as Abumashar, Saadiah Gaon and Alcuin from the eighth century and follows the intellectual developments of the three traditions up to the fifteenth-century Ibn Khaldun, Hasdai Crescas and Marsilio Ficino.
Brill's Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages (2 Vols.) by
An accessible coverage of medieval European history and culture, c. 500-c. 1500, in a series of themed articles, taking an interdisciplinary and comparative approach. Organized in eight sections: Society; Faith and Knowledge; Literature; Fine Arts and Music; Economy; Technology; Living Environments and Conditions; and Constitutive Historical Events and Regions.
Encyclopedia of Society and Culture in the Medieval World (Online)
Accessible online. A four-volume work that provides readers with comprehensive coverage of the medieval world, from the fall of Rome to the European Renaissance, including Western and non-Western cultures and civilizations.
Women in the Middle Ages: An Encyclopedia (2 vols.) by
Offers over 300 alphabetically arranged entries that conclude with extensive bibliographies of both primary and secondary sources. Entries cover people and topics ranging from the third to the fifteenth centuries, and treat well-known figures, more recently discovered or re-evaluated figures, and much more. Medieval women in the principal stages of life, both mortal and spiritual, are also covered in entries on childhood, virginity, marriage, widowhood, penitentials, hagiography, and relics.
Encyclopedia of the Crusades by
Explores the phenomenon of the Crusades in all of its complexity, ranging from the classic numbered crusades in the Middle East to the Reconquista in Spain, and from the Baltic Crusades to the crusades against Albigensian heretics in France. Includes not only European leaders and themes but also biographical portraits of Islamic leaders and topics related to Islamic culture.
The Cambridge Companion to Medieval English Mysticism (Online) by
Arranged by sections corresponding to historical developments, it explores the primary vernacular texts, their authors, and the contexts that formed the expression and exploration of mystical experiences in medieval England.
The Cambridge Companion to Medieval Philosophy (Online) by
Spans a millennium of thought extending from Augustine to Thomas Aquinas and beyond. It includes not only the thinkers of the Latin West but also the contributions of Islamic and Jewish thinkers such as Avicenna and Maimonides.
The Oxford Handbook of Medieval Christianity (Online) by
An overview of the beliefs, practices, and institutions of the Christian Church between 400 and 1500 CE. The Handbook is arranged thematically, and focuses on an analytical approach.
The Oxford Handbook of Medieval Philosophy (Online) by
All four traditions - Greek, Latin, Islamic and Jewish(in Arabic, and in Hebrew) - are considered, and the Latin tradition is traced from late antiquity through to the seventeenth century and beyond.
Oxford Handbook of Medieval Central Europe (Online) by
Summarizes the political, social, and cultural history of medieval Central Europe (c. 800-1600 CE), a region long considered a "forgotten" area of the European past. Presents up-to-date research about the region's core medieval kingdoms -- Hungary, Poland, and Bohemia -- and their dynamic interactions with neighboring areas.
The Oxford Handbook of Late Antiquity by
The Oxford Handbook of Late Antiquity offers an innovative overview of a period (c. 300-700 CE) that has become increasingly central to scholarly debates over the history of western and Middle Eastern civilizations.
Christian-Muslim Relations: A Bibliographical History. Volume 1 (600-900) by
Volumes 1-6 cover the period of the Middle Ages.
@YALELIBRARY
© 2022 Yale University Library • All Rights Reserved