Skip to main content

Transportation of Special Collections Materials: Home

Introduction

This guide provides procedures for safely and securely transporting special collections material between special collections repositories and 344 Winchester. The primary focus of these procedures is transportation needs related to the work of the Born Digital Working Group and the Library's Center for Preservation and Conservation.  The procedures were vetted and approved by the Special Collections Steering Committee in September 2016.

If you have specific questions about the information presented in the guide or recommendations for specific objects, please contact Tara Kennedy or Christine McCarthy.

For specific questions concerning the Digital Accessioning Service, please see the LibGuide, or contact Alice Prael.

Quick Reference FAQ's

May I transport special collections materials to 344 Winchester in my personal vehicle?

Due to potential risk management and security issues. all transport must be done by Library Collection Services (LCS) or by approved campus and external vendors, which include institutionally-owned vehicles, TR&S, or professional art handling and shipping services. Please note that special collections materials should never be transported on foot or by personal vehicle.

How do I arrange for special collections transport by Library Collection Services (LCS)?

LCS has created an electronic form for you to use to schedule shipments. To obtain access to the form and obtain LCS shipping permissions, place an online Service Request to Library IT to add a user’s NetID to the Active Directory group “lib_lcsTransports_users.” Instructions for using the LCS form are available online. There are a variety of totes and containers available for packing and shipping special collections.

What is the lead time required for arranging LCS pick-up and transport?

All special collections units will work within an agreed upon lead time of at least one day for booking shipments; units will have the ability to provide a preferred delivery deadline if the shipment is not time-sensitive. Consult the LCS website for specific information and schedules.

How do I get equipment (empty bins or totes) delivered for packing?

If you require empty bins/totes, flatbed trucks or panel trucks for preparing a shipment, you can use the online Service Request system to have what you need delivered to your location.  Instruction on how to enter the information required through the system can be found in the user guide on the LCS website.

How do I get the numbered zip ties?

Email Ian Cassell to request zip ties for your unit.

What if I have a "rush" transport need?

Rush transports can be accommodated. However, special collections units and Preservation should limit rush (less than 24 hour) or on-the-fly shipment as much as possible. There are provisions in place to handle time-sensitive shipments on an occasional basis. Contact the Director of Library Collection Services, Mike DiMassa, and copy Gary Burcheski and Ian Cassell to schedule a rush shipment.

Will LCS move materials in the rain or snow?

There are times when transport services are halted or canceled due to inclement weather.  Pick-ups and deliveries are rescheduled, usually for the next day. Materials that are not containerized and well protected will not be delivered by LCS staff in inclement weather.

What if I notice that something is damaged when delivered?

All delivered materials should be verified against manifests and examined for damage within 24-48 hours of receipt. Discrepancies and/or damage will be reported to the collection-owning repository using this form.

Who developed these guidelines and protocols?

The Special Collections Steering Committee (SCSC) convened a task force to develop requirements and guidelines for moving special collections materials to 344 Winchester for the Digital Accessioning Service and the units of the Library Center for Preservation and Conservation.  Members of the task force were Rachel Chatalbash (YCBA), Christine McCarthy (Preservation), Tara Kennedy (Preservation), Melissa Grafe (Medical Library), Rebecca Hatcher (BRBL) and Nancy Lyon (MSSA).  The group consulted and worked closely with Mike Bell and Mike DiMassa (LCS).  The protocols were approved by SCSC in September of 2016.

All Preservation & Conservation LibGuides

Upcoming Training and Info Sessions

Event: New Transportation Protocols - Special Collections Steering Committee Forum

When: December 1, 2016 from 10-11am

Where: BRBL-PRES @ 344 Winchester Ave., Room C-129

 

For more information contact