This guide provides procedures for safely and securely transporting special collections material between special collections repositories and 344 Winchester. The procedures were vetted and approved by the Special Collections Steering Committee in September 2016.
If you have specific questions about the information presented in the guide or need recommendations for packing and transporting specific objects, please contact Tara Kennedy, Rebecca Hatcher, or Christine McCarthy.
For specific questions concerning the Digital Accessioning Service, please see the LibGuide, or contact Alice Prael.
May I transport special collections materials to 344 Winchester in my personal vehicle?
Due to potential risk management and security issues, all transport must be done by Library Collection Services (LCS) or by approved campus and external vendors, which include institutionally-owned vehicles, TR&S, or professional art handling and shipping services. Please note that special collections materials should never be transported on foot or by personal vehicle.
How do I arrange for special collections transport by Library Collection Services (LCS)?
LCS has created an electronic form for you to use to schedule shipments. To obtain access to the form, search for the "Software Center" on your computer and download the MS Access app. If you are unable to find the app through this method, place an online Service Request to Library IT to assist you with downloading this application. Instructions for using the LCS form are available online. This image shows what information goes into which fields in the LCS form. There are a variety of totes and containers available for packing and shipping special collections.
What if I am not sure how to pack something?
If the resources in this LibGuide do not meet your needs, please contact Tara Kennedy for assistance with packing. We can come to your site to help if necessary.
How do I get equipment (empty bins or totes) delivered for packing?
If you require empty bins/totes, flatbed trucks, or panel/ portfolio trucks for preparing a shipment, you can use the MS Access app Service Request system to have what you need delivered to your location. Instructions on how to enter the information required through the system can be found in the user guide on the LCS website.
How do I get the numbered zip ties?
Email Ian Cassell to request zip ties for your unit.
What if I have a "rush" transport need?
Rush transports can be accommodated. However, special collections units and Preservation should limit rush (less than 24 hour) or on-the-fly shipment as much as possible. There are provisions in place to handle time-sensitive shipments on an occasional basis. Contact Michael Dadio, Assistant Manager, to schedule a rush shipment.
Will LCS move materials in the rain or snow?
There are times when transport services are halted or canceled due to inclement weather. Pick-ups and deliveries are rescheduled, usually for the next day. Materials that are not containerized and well protected will not be delivered by LCS staff in inclement weather.
What if I notice that something is damaged when delivered?
All delivered materials should be verified against manifests and examined for damage within 24-48 hours of receipt. Discrepancies and/or damage will be reported to the collection-owning repository using this form.
Who developed these guidelines and protocols?
The Special Collections Steering Committee (SCSC) convened a task force to develop requirements and guidelines for moving special collections materials to 344 Winchester for the Digital Accessioning Service and the units of the Library Center for Preservation and Conservation. Members of the task force were Rachel Chatalbash (YCBA), Christine McCarthy (Preservation), Tara Kennedy (Preservation), Melissa Grafe (Medical Library), Rebecca Hatcher (BRBL) and Nancy Lyon (MSSA). The group consulted and worked closely with Mike Bell and Mike DiMassa (LCS). The protocols were approved by SCSC in September of 2016.
Event: New Transportation Protocols - Special Collections Steering Committee Forum
When: December 1, 2016 from 10-11am
Where: BRBL-PRES @ 344 Winchester Ave., Room C-129