Skip to main content

Conservation & Exhibition Services: Home

Welcome

conservation staff line a brittle broadsideJapanese paste brushes hanging to dryGates Conservation Laboratory looking toward to east wall to the exhibits workroom

The Gates Conservation Laboratory was opened in the fall of 2015 and it is the home of the Yale University Library's Conservation & Exhibition Services.  The laboratory consists of a large main treatment space used for both general and special collections treatment, a large adjacent workroom for exhibition preparation, and several smaller adjacent functional areas for specialized work.  The entire suite offers over 8000 sq. ft. of purpose-design space where conservators, conservation technicians, student assistants, and exhibits staff treat objects from all of the Library's collections. The laboratory was made possible through the generous gift of Stephen F. Gates '68.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does Conservation & Exhibition Services provide treatment for private individuals or non-Yale collections?

We do not accept treatment projects for non-Yale collections or from private individuals. The Yale Library collections keep us very busy - there is more work to do than we can get done each year.   We can, however, provide advice on finding a conservation expert.  The American Institute for Conservation's website offers a section for individuals looking for conservation services. "Find a Conservator"is a tool for locating conservators based on the type of object you have and where you live.  You may also find general information about caring for personal treasures @ Preserving Your Personal Collections.

How can I become a conservator?

Increasingly the most common path taken to become a conservator is advanced training and earning a graduate level degree in conservation.  The American Institute for Conservation offers advice for those considering a career in conservation on their website, at "Becoming a Conservator."

May I volunteer in the lab?

We do not currently accept volunteers.

How can I get something appraised?

Conservators do not provide appraisals. We cannot tell you how much your object is worth. There are professionals who specialize in this work for particular types of collections.  As a first step, consult the websites of the Appraisers Association of America at www.appraisersassoc.org or the American Society of Appraisers at www.appraisers.org.

Conservation & Exhibition Services

Contact Us:

Special Collections Conservation, Rare Books, Parchment and Papyri; and Lead Conservator for Gates Conservation Laboratory

Paula Zyats

Special Collections Conservation: Works on Paper and Photographs

Marie-France Lemay

Special Collections Conservation: Lewis Walpole Library Collections

Laura O'Brien-Miller

Collections Conservation & Housing

Werner Haun

Exhibitions: Planning, Mount Preparation, and Installation

Kerri Sancomb

Preventative Conservation: Environmental Monitoring/Assessment, Emergency Preparedness & Response, Risk Assessment for Renovation & Moves of Collections

Tara Kennedy, Preservation Services Librarian

Full staff directory and contact list can be found on the Yale University Library websitehttps://web.library.yale.edu/sd/dept/preservation

 

All Preservation & Conservation LibGuides