Skip to main content
Banner Image

Music Library Special Collections: Archival Collections C-E

Finding and using archives, manuscripts, rare books and scores, and other special collections at the Music Library.

Archival Collections C-E

Previous     Next

Camp, Charles Lewis Nichols

MSS 23 - The Camp Collection of the Music of Louis Spohr; 4.5' 

Charles Lewis Nichols Camp, a New Haven bibliophile, amassed an extensive collection of the works of Louis Spohr (1784-1859), in early printed editions and in copyists' hands. The collection came to Yale as a bequest after Camp's death in 1922.

Cannon, Beekman C.

MSS 141 - The Beekman C. Cannon Papers; .5' 

Beekman Cox Cannon (Yale Class of 1934, Ph.D. 1939) was a professor of music history at Yale and master of Jonathan Edwards College. His papers include material pertaining to his research on Carissimi, as well as note cards and other items. (Not yet processed.)

Carter, Ernest Trow

MSS 40 - The Ernest Trow Carter Papers; 18' 

To support himself, the composer and organist Ernest Trow Carter (1866-1953) had a career in law, during which he continued to compose and perform. He had a B.A. ('88) and an honorary Doctor of Music degree from Princeton, where he taught briefly at the turn of the century and served as editor of Princeton's song book, Carmina Princetonia, from 1887 to 1940. He composed a variety of vocal and instrumental works, including two operas and a ballet-pantomime. One of the operas was performed in Osnabrück, Germany, in 1927. In addition to his published and unpublished music, his Papers include correspondence, programs, clippings, photographs, articles by Carter, and financial documents. 

Caruso, Enrico

MSS 100 - Collection of Enrico Caruso Caricatures, Photographs, and Other Material

Clarion Society

See The Newell Jenkins-Clarion Society Papers

Clementi, Muzio

Misc. Ms. 174 - Florence Wilshire: Muzio Clementi and His Era; 2'

Muzio Clementi (1752-1852) was one of the most talented, influential, and versatile musicians of his era. Born in Rome, Clementi spent most of his career in England. He was a brilliant pianist and an important composer, and he also achieved success in business as a music publisher and piano manufacturer.

Florence Wilshire, Clementi's great-granddaughter, did extensive research on the life of her famous ancestor, but her biography was never published. This collection contains various drafts and typescripts of her work, entitled Muzio Clementi and his Era. It also holds research notes, correspondence, copies of original documents, iconography, and miscellaneous memorabilia.

Choral Octavos by Yale Alumni

Misc. Ms. 57 - Choral Octavos by Yale Alumni; 1'

This collection consists of 178 choral works, nearly all of them composed by alumni of the Yale School of Music; the faculty of the School is also represented. The collection was assembled by Luther Noss and consists primarily of published octavos; some reproductions of manuscript scores are also included.

Coleridge-Taylor, Samuel

Misc. Ms. 290 - The Samuel Coleridge-Taylor Collection; 1.5'

Samuel Coleridge-Taylor was born in London on August 15, 1875 to African and English parents. He studied composition (with Charles Villiers Stanford) and violin at the Royal Conservatory of Music. After completing his studies in 1897, he held a variety of posts as a conductor and teacher, while pursuing a career as a composer. The best known of his many works is the cantata Hiawatha's Wedding Feast. Coleridge-Taylor's growing international fame took him to the United States three times, and he composed The Bamboula for the Norfolk Music Festival in Norfolk, Connecticut in 1910. (The present collection is a product of that visit. The Stoeckel Family Papers contain additional pertinent information.) Samuel Coleridge-Taylor died in Croydon, England on September 1, 1912; he was only 37 years old. The Samuel Coleridge-Taylor Collection consists of scores and/or parts to 4 of Coleridge-Taylor's musical compositions and extracts of 2 letters from Coleridge-Taylor to Carl Stoeckel.

Connor, D. Russell

The D. Russell Connor Collection of Benny Goodman Interviews; 1.5

Donald Russell Connor (1921-2014) was a drummer and jazz enthusiast. Alhough Connor never worked as a musician (he was a banker), he became close friends with performers such as Benny Goodman and Gene Krupa. Connor is known for his published bio-discographies of Benny Goodman: "BG--Off the Record" (1975), "Benny Goodman: Listen to his Legacy" (1988), and "Benny Goodman: Wrappin' it Up" (1996). Connor's published works are among the most comprehensive listings of Benny Goodman's recordings and performances available today. The collection is comprised of recorded interviews with and/or about Benny Goodman. The interviews were compiled by D. Russell Connor, who describes the interviews as biographical and candid, as many of the recordings are unedited. Connor included detailed notes describing the content of each tape, which form the basis of the descriptions in this finding aid. Fellow musicians and producers who appear in the interviews include Gene Krupa, Helen Oakley Dance, John Hammond, George Avakian and Martha Tilton.

Cooke, Francis Judd

MSS 137 - The Francis Judd Cooke Papers; 5'

The American composer Francis Judd Cooke (1910-1995) was born in Hawaii; he graduated from Yale in 1933, and also studied with Charles Martin Loeffler and Donald Francis Tovey. He taught at the New England Conservatory from 1939 to 1970. (Not yet processed)

Corelli, Marie

MSS 19 - The Marie Corelli Collection; .5' 

Corelli (1855-1924) was a prominent British poet and melodramatic author. She was also a pianist and composer. The collection consists of eight holographs of her songs, twenty song settings of her texts by various composers (several are manuscript copies), and miscellaneous items. Corelli's literary works and correspondence are in the Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library.

Currier, Donald

MSS 109 - The Donald Currier Papers; 2.5'

Donald Currier (1918-2010) was a professor of piano at the Yale School of Music. His papers contain correspondence, photographs, programs, clippings, posters, lecture notes, and miscellaneous items.

Dance, Stanley and Helen Oakley

MSS 62 - The Papers of Stanley Dance and Helen Oakley Dance; ca. 30' 

The prominent jazz critic and author Stanley Dance (1910-1999) wrote for the leading jazz journals of England, France, and the United States. His monthly column "Lightly and Politely" appeared in Jazz Journal from 1948 to 1976. He worked especially closely with Duke Ellington and Earl Hines and wrote books about both of them, as well as about Count Basie. The Collection consists of his correspondence and writings, about 6,000 photographs of black jazz musicians, about 7,000 LP jazz recordings, his collection of jazz journals, and tapes of his interviews with over a hundred black jazz performers. Many of the papers of Helen Oakley Dance (1913-2001) are included in the above account. In addition there is the material collected for her book on T-bone Walker, her extensive writings in Downbeat and other jazz journals, and photographs and correspondence with prominent figures in the jazz and blues worlds during her long career. (Partially processed)

Davidson, Duane A.

MSS 17 - The Duane A. Davidson Papers; 4' 

Duane Davidson (1935-64), a pupil of Quincy Porter, won several awards for his compositions and enjoyed performances of his works in the United States and Europe during his short life. Other than reviews and programs, the Papers contain his musical works for a variety of media.

DeLong, Richard

MSS 111 - The Richard DeLong Papers; 7'

Richard DeLong (1951-1994) was a composer, choral conducter, organist, and harpsichordist. His papers consist mainly of his compositions; they also include a variety of other documents, as well as sound recordings. (Not yet processed)

Donovan, Richard

MSS 7 - The Richard Donovan Papers; 20' 

Richard Donovan's papers contain material from his long and active career as a composer, teacher, conductor, and important musical force in the New Haven area. Included are essentially all of his musical works (sketches, holographs, and published editions); about 300 letters, many with important musical personalities of the day; material dealing with the American Composers Alliance and the Yado festivals, with which he was highly active; photographs; programs, reviews, classroom notebooks; and photocopies or holographs of manuscripts of other composers. Donovan (1891-1970) was on the faculty of the Yale School of Music from 1928 to 1960.

Dougherty, Celius

Misc. Ms. 241 - Selected Songs of Celius Dougherty; 0.25'

Celius Dougherty was born in Glenwood, Minnesota on May 27, 1902. He was educated at the University of Minnesota and the Juilliard School, where his teachers included Josef Lhévinne and Rubin Goldmark. As a pianist, he specialized in accompanying singers. He composed in a variety of genres, but was best known for his songs. He died in Effort, Pennsylvania on December 22, 1986. This collection consists of published sheet music for 20 songs by Dougherty.

Dukas, Paul

MSS 107 - Paul Dukas Correspondence with Marguerite Hasselmans, and Related Materials; 0.5'

Paul Dukas was born in Paris on October 1, 1865. He studied composition at the Paris Conservatoire with Ernest Guiraud; in 1928, Dukas himself became a professor of composition at the Conservatoire. Like Schumann, Debussy, and Thomson, Dukas was a prominent music critic as well as a composer. He composed a variety of works, mostly for orchestra, voice, or piano. He was not prolific, and he destroyed numerous pieces that did not meet his standards. His most frequently performed composition is The Sorcerer's Apprentice. He died in Paris on May 17, 1935. 

The collection consists chiefly of correspondence between Dukas and his friend Marguerite Hasselmans (1876-1947). It also includes three letters from Dukas to Gabriel Fauré, as well as 15 letters and postcards to Hasselmans or her relatives from Paul Poujaud, Jules Massenet, Benjamin Godard, Pauline Viardot, Pierre Lalo and Camille Saint-Saëns.

Misc. Ms. 288 - Paul Dukas: Correspondence with Paul Poujaud; 1.5'

Paul Poujaud, a lawyer, was friends with Dukas and many other notable French musicians in the early 20th century. Dukas's correspondence with Poujaud spans the years 1891 to 1935 and includes over 550 autograph letters between the two men. The correspondence also contains 3 photographs of Dukas and a metronome enregistreur.

See also Misc. Ms. 287 - Gabriel Fauré: Letters to Paul Dukas

Easley, Peter

Misc. Ms. 52 - Selected Compositions of Peter Easley; 3'

Peter Easley, whose real name was Ronald Merl Easley, Jr., was born in 1927 in Salem, Massachusetts. He attended Yale College from 1944 to 1946, completing two semesters, and finished his schooling at the University of New Mexico. He died in 1974. The collection contains manuscript scores and parts for eleven of his compositions.

Elliott, Zo

MSS 18 - The Zo Elliott Papers; 10' 

Alonzo "Zo" Elliott (1891-1964) was the composer of "There's a Long, Long Trail a Winding." The bulk of the Papers consists of sketches, scores, and material for his opera Top Sergeant. Also included are manuscripts of several popular songs, literary writings of Elliott, and small numbers of correspondence, clippings, and photographs. Elliott wrote an article about the history of the Civil War song "John Brown's Body."

Engel, Lehman

MSS 39 - The Lehman Engel Papers; ca.45' 

Lehman Engel (1910-1982) was a major figure in the American musical theater -- writing for it, conducting performances, and writing about it. Near the end of his career he led the BMI Workshops, training many aspiring Broadway musical composers. His Papers are a special enrichment of the archival holdings of Virgil Thomson, Kurt Weill and Lotte Lenya, Harold Rome, and Charles Ives, with all of whom he had close contacts. A list of his correspondents is a who's who of the musical theater. His compositions cover a variety of media, though he was most attracted to theatrical works. (Partially processed).

Erskine, John

MSS 114 - The John Erskine Collection; 1'

John Erskine (1879-1951) was a writer and educator. He served as president of the Juilliard School and professor of English at Columbia University. The collection includes opera librettos by John Erskine, and other materials relating to him. (Not yet processed)

Previous     Next