AtlasesBibliographiesDictionaries
E-Journals and E-NewspapersCurrent Periodicals in Southeast Asia Reading Room
Maurice Durand CollectionInstitutes, Research Centers and Collections of Han NomChu Nom EditorsPrint Reference Tools in the Yale University Library
AtlasesHistorical DictionariesE-Journals and E-NewspapersSoutheast Asia Related History Databases at Yale
This is the "Hán Nôm Studies 研究漢喃" page of the "Southeast Asia Collection" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Southeast Asia Collection  

Last Updated: Jun 2, 2015 URL: http://guides.library.yale.edu/SoutheastAsiaCollection Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Hán Nôm Studies 研究漢喃 Print Page
  Search: 
 

Introduction Library Research in Hán Nôm Studies

Hán Nôm is a logographic writing system that was used to write the Vietnamese language between the 15th and early 20th centuries, when the Latin-based Vieetnamese replaced Hán Nôm as the preferred way to write in Vietnamese. Hán Nôm uses the standard set of classical Chinese characters to represent Sino-Vietnamese vocabulary (Hán, in Vietnamese) and Nôm for native Vietnamese words represented by Vietnamese-created characters based on Chinese.

This guide has been created to assist library patrons beginning their research in Hán Nôm Studies using the resources found in the Yale University Library, including printed catalogs of other librarys' collections, dictionaries, and other reference resources. The guide is intended to provide reference and research assistance particularly for patrons doing research with the Hán and Nôm portions of the Maurice Durand Collection housed in the Manuscripts and Archives Department of Sterling Memorial Library.

      

    Contact Me:

    Profile Image
    Rich Richie
    Contact Info
    Sterling Memorial Library, 212
    Southeast Asia Reading Room: Sterling Memorial Library, 214

    Mailing Address:
    P.O. Box 208240
    130 Wall Street
    New Haven, CT 06520
    Send Email
     
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip