Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
For information about visitor access, see COVID-19 library updates..

Southeast Asia Collection: Dictionaries

An introduction Yale's resources on Southeast Asia.

Vernacular Language Dictionaries in Southeast Asia Reading Room

BURMESE:

Judson's English and Burmese dictionary. Rangoon : Baptist Board of Publications, 1956. SML, Southeast Asia, Room 214. PL3957 J84 1956

Burmese-English English-Burmese dictionary. SML, Southeast Asia, Room 214. PL3957.E5 C86 2009

INDONESIAN:

An English-Indonesian dictionary. Ithaca : Cornell University Press, 1975. SML, Southeast Asia, Room 214. PL5125 E24

A comprehensive Indonesian-English dictionary. Athens, Ohio : Ohio University Press, c2004. SML, Southeast Asia, Room 214. PL5076 .S7X 2004

KHMER:

Modern Cambodian-English dictionary. Kensington, Md. : Dunwoody Press, c1997. SML, Southeast Asia, Room 214. PL4326 .H43X 1997

Cambodian-English dictionary. Washington : Catholic University of American Press, 1977. SML, Southeast Asia, Room 214. 2 v. PL4326 C3+ Oversize

LAO:

Lao-English dictionary. Kensington, Md., U.S.A. : Dunwoody Press, [1994?] SML, Southeast Asia, Room 214. PL4236.4 .L36X 1994

English-Lao, Lao-English dictionary = Vatc̄hanānikom Angkit-Lao, Lao-Angkit. Rutland, Vt. : C.E. Tuttle Co., 1983. SML, Southeast Asia, Room 214. PL4236.4 M35 1983

THAI:

Photčhanānukrom chabap Rātchabandittayasathān, Phō̜. Sō̜. 2542. Krung Thēp : Nānmī Buk Phaplikhēchan, 2546 [2003]. SML, Southeast Asia, Room 214. PL4185.P464X 2003

Thai-English student's dictionary, comp. by Mary R. Haas, with the assistance of George V. Grekoff [et al.]. Stanford, Calif., Stanford Univ. Press, 1964. SML, Southeast Asia, Room 214. PL4187 H33

New model English-Thai dictionary / compiled by So Sethaputra. Samud Prakan, Thailand : The Author, 1961. 2 v. SML, Southeast Asia, Room 214. PL4187 S6 1961

VIETNAMESE:

Vietnamese-English Dictionary. Tokyo ; Rutland, Vt. : Tuttle Pub., c2007. SML, Southeast Asia, Room 214. PL4376 .N357 2007

Anh Việt tân tự-điển = New English-Vietnamese dictionary. [S.l. : s.n., 1989?] SML, Southeast Asia, Room 214. PL4376 .N45 1989

Historical Dictionaries

Historical dictionary of Brunei Darussalam / Jatswan S. Sidhu. Lanham : Scarecrow Press, 2010.
SML, Starr Main Reference Room. DS650.5 .S56X 2010

Historical dictionary of Cambodia / Justin Corfield and Laura Summers. Lanham, Md. ; Oxford : Scarecrow Press, 2003.
SML, DS554.25 .C67 2003

Historical dictionary of East Timor / Geoffrey C. Gunn. Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 2011. 
SML, Starr Main Reference Room. DS649.5 .G85X 2011

Historical dictionary of Indonesia / Robert Cribb, Audrey Kahin. Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press 2004.
SML, Starr Main Reference Room. DS633 .C75X 2004

Historical dictionary of Laos / Martin Stuart-Fox. Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 2008.
LSF, DS555.5 S78 2008

Historical dictionary of Malaysia / Ooi Keat Gin. Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 2009.
SML, Starr Main Reference Room. DS596 .O58X 2009

Historical dictionary of Myanmar / by Jan Bečka. Metuchen, N.J. : Scarecrow Press 1995.
SML, Starr Main Reference Room. DS528.34 B43X 1995

Historical dictionary of the Philippines / Artemio R. Guillermo. Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, c2012.
SML, Starr Main Reference Room. DS667 .G85X 2012

Historical dictionary of Singapore / Justin CorfieldLanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 2011. 
SML, Starr Main Reference Room. DS610.4 .M85X 2011

Historical dictionary of Thailand / Gerald W. Fry, Gayla S. Nieminen, and Harold E. Smith. Lanham : The Scarecrow Press, Inc., 2013.
SML, Starr Main Reference Room. DS571 .S578X 2013

Historical dictionary of Vietnam / Bruce M. Lockhart, William J. Duiker. Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 2006. 
SML, Starr Main Reference Room. DS556.25 .D85X 2006

Contact Me:

Profile Photo
Rich Richie
Contact:
Sterling Memorial Library, 212

Southeast Asia Reading Room: Sterling Memorial Library, 214



Mailing Address:

P.O. Box 208240

130 Wall Street

New Haven, CT 06520
1-203-432-1858
Website