Yale University Library Research Guides: Early Christianity and Patristics: Dictionaries and Encylopedias

Introduction to Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

In contrast to language dictionaries, subject dictionaries (or encyclopedias) introduce historical and contextual information and starting bibliographies. Unlike wikipedia.org, published dictionaries and encyclopedias contain entries written by leading scholars with peer review.

Dictionaries for Early Christianity

The Oxford Dictionary of Late Antiquity by Oliver Nicholson covering every aspect of history, culture, religion, and life in Europe, the Mediterranean, and the Near East (including the Persian Empire and Central Asia) between the mid-3rd and the mid-8th centuries AD. 5,000 A-Z entries, broad and multi-disciplinary; Online available.
Dictionary of the Later New Testament and Its Developments by Ralph P. Martin Acts, Hebrews, the General Epistles and Revelation. apostolic fathers and early Christianity up through the middle of the second century. theology, literature, background and scholarship of the later New Testament and the apostolic church.
The SCM Press A-Z of patristic theology by John Anthony McGuckin
A Concise Dictionary of Early Christianity by Joseph F. Kelly Online available.
A Dictionary of Christian Biographyand literature to the end of the sixth century A.D. : with an account of the principal sects and heresies by Henry Wace account of the figures of the early Christian Church. 4 volumes. Articles range from extended entries on major figures to entries on lesser known personalities.
The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church (Online) by Andrew Louth (editor) Now in its 4th edition. 6,000 cross-referenced A-Z entries from theology; churches and denominations; patristic scholarship; and the bible; to the church calendar and its organization; popes; archbishops; saints; and mystics. Online available.
Dictionary of Early Christian Literature by Siegmar Doepp successor to Berthold Altaner's Patrologie, presents the life and work of Christian authors up to the eighth century. includes bibliography. Articles on authors provide a brief description of their lives, a presentation of their works, and an assessment of their influence.
A Dictionary of Early Christian Beliefs by David Bercot quotations culled from the ten volume Ante-Nicene Fathers and arranged by subject for quick reference.

Encyclopedias for Early Christianity

Brill's New Pauly: Encyclopedia of the Ancient World An authoritative and near-exhaustive encyclopedia for the ancient world. Online available.
Brill encyclopedia of early Christianity online entries on various aspects of early Christianity, its texts, its context, its history, also entries on modern scholarship and various approaches to studying those texts and historical contexts. Online available, and recommended.
Encyclopedia of Early Christianity by Everett Ferguson
The Eerdmans Encyclopedia of Early Christian Art and Archaeology by Paul Corby Finney offer readers a basic orientation to early Christian architecture, sculpture, painting, mosaic, and portable artifacts created roughly between ad 200 and 600 in Africa, Asia, and Europe. multiple volumes.
Encyclopedia of Ancient Christianity by Angelo Di Berardino Online available.
Encyclopedia of the early church by Angelo Di Berardino 2 volumes
The Encyclopedia of Christian Martyrs by Mark Water records Christian martyrdom over the last two thousand years. arranged chronologically and divided into five parts: Bible martyrs, martyrs under the Roman Empire, martyrs from the fifth to the fifteenth centuries, martyrs from the Reformation era, and martyrs from the seventeenth to the twentieth centuries.
The Encyclopedia of Saints by Rosemary ellen Guiley A collection of accounts of both familiar and little-known holy men and women of the Catholic and Orthodox churches.