Handbooks offer subject introductions. They include brief histories of the subject in question, individual chapters on particular aspects of the subject, and bibliographies. Handbooks provide quick and accessible information on topics encountered when studying ancient Christianity.
Publishers often post their handbooks online. Access handbook databases with these links:
The Oxford Handbook of Early Christian Apocrypha by
addresses issues and themes that arise in the study of early Christian apocryphal literature. discusses key texts and surveys main branches of apocryphal literature. Online available.
The Routledge Companion to Early Christian Thought by
for those seeking to understand the way in which Early Christian thought developed within its broader cultural milieu and was communicated through its literature, especially as it was directed toward theological concerns. Online available.
The Oxford Handbook of Early Christian Studies by
introduction to the academic study of early Christianity (c. 100-600 AD), thematically arranged to encompass history, literature, thought, practices, and material culture. essays orientate readers to a given topic, as well as to the trajectory of research developments over the past 30-50 years within the scholarship itself. Guidance for future research is also given. Online available.
Handbook of Early Christianity: Social Science Approaches by
perspectives from anthropology, archaeology, economics, history, literary analysis, psychology, political science, and sociology
Handbook of Patristic Exegesis by
view of the reception, transmission, and interpretation of the Bible in the life and thought of the Church during the first five centuries of Christianity. This one volume edition is an unabridged version of the two volume edition that was published in 2004 (no longer available). 2 volumes.
The Oxford Handbook of Late Antiquity by
covers such pivotal events as the fall of Rome, the rise of Christianity, the origins of Islam, and the early formation of Byzantium and the European Middle Ages. set in the context of widespread literary, artistic, cultural, and religious change during the period. Online available.
The Westminster Handbook to Patristic Theology by
for study of the theological ideas developed in the early church period. concise treatments of theological terms.
The Westminster Handbook to Origen by
recommendations for use and clear presentation of topics which enable the reader, whether novice or specialist, to engage Origen in ways that address the reader's interest.
@YALELIBRARY
© 2022 Yale University Library • All Rights Reserved