It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library building hours and access are limited at this time. Services and support are being provided remotely. See COVID-19 library updates.
To browse materials on Gregory of Nazianzus, use call number BR65.G66.
Gregory of Nazianzus by Brian Daleysurvey of the significance of Gregory's life and work with translations of eight orations. examined alongside a selection of his shorter poems in verse translation, letters, and a translation of Gregory's own will. extensive commentary on the works translated and an ample bibliography. With an extensive introduction to Gregory's life, thought and writings, and including detailed notes.
Self-Portrait in Three Colors: Gregory of Nazianzus's epistolary autobiography by Bradley K. Storinfocuses squarely on the letters, building a case that the finalized collection constitutes not an epistolary archive but an autobiography in epistolary form--a single text composed to secure his status among provincial contemporaries and later generations. Shedding light on late-ancient letter writing, fourth-century Christian intelligentsia, Christianity and classical culture, and the Christianization of Roman society,
Gregory of Nazianzus in Translation
Funeral OrationsThe Christian funeral oration is one of the most elaborate of Christian literary forms. It represents an attempt to adapt to Christian use a pagan Greek form with many hundreds of years behind it. . . . The Christian masterpieces presented in this volume reflect a long, rich, and varied pagan literary tradition in East and West, and at the same time exhibit modifications and new elements which give them their specific Christian character. (From the Introduction by Martin R. P. McGuire) The volume presents the most generally admired ancient Christian funeral orations--four from the Greek (those of St. Gregory Nazianzen), four from the Latin (those of St. Ambrose of Milan). From the Bishop of Nazianzen, we have words spoken in honor of three kinsmen, his father, a brother, and a sister, and of the great St. Basil, Bishop of Caesarea. Two of the orations from the lips of St. Ambrose are likewise for a kinsman, his brother Satyrus, while the other two are for wearers of the purple, the youthful Valentinian II and the emporor Theodosius. Online available.
Gregory of Nazianzus's Letter Collection by Bradley K. StorinSaint Gregory of Nazianzus, also known as Gregory the Theologian, lived an illustrious life as an orator, poet, priest, and bishop. Until his death, he wrote scores of letters to friends and colleagues, clergy members and philosophers, teachers of rhetoric and literature, and high-ranking officials at the provincial and imperial levels, many of which are preserved in his self-designed letter collection. Here, for the first time in English, Bradley K. Storin has translated the complete collection, offering readers a fresh view on Gregory's life, social and cultural engagement, leadership in the church, and literary talents. Accompanying the translation are an introduction, a prosopography, and annotations that situate Gregory's letters in their biographical, literary, and historical contexts. This translation is an essential resource for scholars and students of late antiquity and early Christianity.
Gregory of Nazianzus Autobiographical Poems by Carolinne WhiteThe autobiographical poems of Gregory of Nazianzus, fourth-century Father of the Greek Church, are remarkable not only for a highly individual picture of the Byzantine world but also for moments that are intimate, passionate and moving. This book contains Greek text and facing English translation of a selection from his one hundred or so surviving poems. Gregory is best known for the five orations he gave in Constantinople. Except for the poem "De Vita Sua," his work can only be read in a nineteenth-century edition and has never before been translated into English.
Opera by B. CoulieLes uvres de Gregoire de Nazianze (ca 330-390) ont ete traduites dans les differentes langues de l'Orient chretien. Les versions georgiennes y occupent une place importante, pour plusieurs raisons : il y a eu plusieurs traductions georgiennes d'un meme texte, et ces versions refletent des approches tres differentes du phenomene de traduction. Ce volume, qui presente l'edition critique des deux versions georgiennes des discours 16 et 14, cloture la publication des versions georgiennes de la "?collection des 16 discours liturgiques?" du Theologien. Elle contient aussi un index grec- georgien portant sur l 'ensemble de cette collection (7 volumes). Multiple volumes. Online available.