It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library building hours and access are limited at this time. Services and support are being provided remotely. See COVID-19 library updates.
Manuscripts written in Greek around 1540. [Eastern Mediterranean area ; ca. 1540]. Manuscript written in black and red ink on paper, bound in contemporary vellum. From Jesuit College, Paris; Meerman Collection; Sir Thomas Phillipps (Ms 6763) ; purchased for Yale Medical Library in 1957 from Laurence Witten as the gift of the Jacob Ziskind Trust.
Meletius [Eastern Mediterranean ; about 1540]. Manuscript written on paper, in Greek, with black and red ink and bound in contemporary vellum; it was purchased in 1957 from Laurence Witten as a gift of the Jacob Ziskind Trust. From Jesuit College, Paris; Meerman Collection; Sir Thomas Phillipps (Manuscript 3892).
Written in Greek, with incomplete translation attributed to Constantinos Rheginos. [Italy? ; 16th century]. Manuscript written in black and red ink on paper. Sir Thomas Phillipps manuscript 21595; purchased for Yale Med in 1957.
Ibn al-Jazzar ; books 1-2 translated by Synesios ; manuscript written in Greek by Andreas Darmarius 4 July 1585. Eastern Mediterranean ; 1585. Manuscript, written in black and red ink on paper, purchased in 1957 from C. A. Stonehill as a gift of the Jacob Ziskind Trust. Text includes only books 1 and 2 [of 7].
Written on vellum and paper in two different hands, with original wooden boards. Germany ; 15th Century. First 67 leaves, written in red and black, probably date from mid-Fifteenth Century; last 21 leaves are additions from late Fifteenth through Eighteenth Centuries ( c.f. dealer’s, Dawson’s of London, description dated February, 1965.
England ; ca. 1400. Manuscript, written on vellum with black ink, includes numerous blue and red initials. Bound in old sheepskin over wooden boards. Chronicle fragment in Latin (leaves 1-5; leaves 6-15 blank). -Medical recipes, in English (leaves 16-39). -Remedies, some surgical, in English (leaves 40-59; leaves 60-62, 65, 67-77 blank). -Miscellaneous (leaves 63, 64, 66, 78-80).
Imago mundi de Asia, Africa et Europa: Asia a regiam [in Latin]. England, early 15th Cent. Manuscript written in ink on paper (leaves 1-92) and vellum (leaves 93-102) by two scribes; it is bound in original wood boards.
Followed by a gynaecological treatise, catalog of plants and their medical properties, and an astrological essay ; in English, with the astrology text (leaves 103-114) including Latin headings. England (probably Maxstoke Priory) ; Fifteenth Century. Manuscript written in ink on paper, with loose vellum end leaves bearing manuscript fragments from the Maxstoke Priory.
Copied by the same scribe in black ink, with some text in red. [Padua?] Italy : Faustinum, 20 October 1458. Includes the following six tracts: Montagnana, De urinibus; A book of prescriptions by an unknown; Montagnana, De compositione et dosandi; Recepte de Petri de Tussignano; Guainiero’s Gynaecologia; Guainiero’s De febribus. Some descriptive data from dealer’s (The Scribner Book Store) offering, dated 9 April 1965, when Yale Medical Library purchased the manuscript.
[medical and dietetic recipes], in Italian and Latin ; finished 20 December 1573, with later additions. A manuscript, written in ink on paper and bound loosely in limp vellum, of 555 numbered pages - of which large parts are missing, including title page and preliminary matters. Purchased for Medical Library in 1958 from Vinciana, of Milan.
Signed Walt. Cromer. Written in ink on paper; first leaf in English and signed: Walt. Cromer. Bound in leather, with coat of arms of Edward VI embossed in gold on both front and back covers. Dealer’s description pasted inside back cover; Dr. Cushing purchased from Hodgson sale 1932 thru Bernard Quaritch Ltd. Bookplate of Gower Earl Gower pasted inside front cover.
Written on vellum, with red and blue lettering; first initial in colors and gold. Includes some descriptive material by Dr. Ignaz Schwarz of Vienna, antiquarian bookseller from whom Dr. Cushing purchased the manuscript in 1936.
The Tabula ad inveniendum Pascha of Henricus Monachus, followed by selections, mostly astronomical and arithmetical, from Johannes de Sacrobosco, Robertus Grosseteste, Johannes de Ahrweiler, Gerardus Cremonensis. [Upper Danube Valley? ; ca. 1291-1330]. Written on vellum, in several hands; with original pigskin binding, decorative red and blue initials, and several hand drawn star maps.
[pseudo-Aristotle, probably by Nicolaus Damascenus] ; translated into Latin by Apuleius Madaurensis ; written in ink on paper by Hieronymus Münzer at Nuremberg in 1494. Signed and dated by Münzer on leaf 17r. Reprint, written by Walter Kurt Fränkel with caption title: "Dr. Hieronymus Münzer, 1440-1508 Stadtarztt vun Nürmberg, Humanist, Geograph uns Schwiegervater Holzschuhers", in envelope shelved with the manuscript.
De elementis, De complexionibus, De malitia complexionis diversae, De juvamentis membrorum, De differentiis febrium, De criticis diebus, De interioribus, De simplicibus, De regimine sanitatis, De medendis febribus ad Glauconem, De alimentis : all translated into Latin from the Arabic by Gerardus Cremonensis and others ; except the last treatise, translated from the Greek by Gulielmus de Morbeka. Written on vellum, with red and black lettering.
Liber therapeutices, De utilitate anhelitus, De pharmaciis, De malicia complexionis, De accidente et morbo, De lapide, De phlebotomia, De pharmaciis Hippocratis, De virtutibus naturalibus, De complexionibus, De regimine sanitatis. Written on vellum, with copious red and blue initials and lettering, and a multi-color (including gold) initial on the first leaf. The De regimine sanitatis is incomplete: c.f. letter from Paul Gottschalk Antiquar Berlin, dealer from whom Dr. Cushing purchased it.
Ali Ibn Ridwan Commentum super Tegni Galeni. Manuscript wrtten in ink on vellum, with stamped calf binding over wooden boards; includes brass bosses and clasp catches, red and blue initials, and red underlining. Formerly owned by the Bibliothek des Stiftes (Melk, Austria); acquired by Dr. Cushing in January, 1938 from E. P. Goldsmith & Co. (London).
[15--?]. On the body and sickness. Ends abruptly in Maqālah 7, faṣl 43 (of 60). Followed by short chapters on the description and preparation of medicines, pastes and drinks. According to most sources, Hippocrates did not write a work with this title; Dioscurides did, but the text differs from the present one. Purchased from Hassan Sami in 1991 on the Edwin J. Beinecke Fund. Text is worm eaten. See also Arabic Sources.
Northern Italy ; early 13th Century. Manuscript written in ink on vellum, with some red and blue lettering; material in lower margins added late 13th Century. Hippocrates. Aphorismi, with commentary of Galen (leaves 1-83). -Galen. Tegni, with commentary of Haly Abbas (leaves 83v-193). Hippocrates. Prognostica, with commentary of Galen (leaves 194-253). -Hippocrates. De regimine acutorum I-III, with commentary of Galen (leaves 253v-308).
Written on vellum: the Chirurgia (leaves 1-25) in red and black ink; the Chirurgia Salernitana (leaves 26-41) also has red and blue letters, with a decorative first initial. c.f. De Ricci and the Harvey Cushing Collection cited below; also correspondence from Erwin Rosenthal of L’Art Ancien S. A. Buchantiquariat, firm from which Dr. Cushing purchased the manuscript in 1935.
Forty-one manuscripts written on vellum at Bologna ca. 1300 concerning Classical and Medieval medicine and surgery. Includes selections from Galen, Hippocrates, Constantinus Africanus, Rhazes, Gerardus Cremonensis, Macer Floridus, Bruno Longoburgensis, et al. Includes, in folded slip-case with the Codex, second copies of: Codex Fritz Paneth / Karl Sudhoff: Leipzig, 1929; Über eine alchemistische Handschrift / Fritz Paneth: Leipzig, 1929; and The Paneth Codex / Yale University.
Manuscript written in ink on vellum, with rough doeskin cover over wooden boards; includes clasps and red and blue initials. Formerly owned by the Bibliothek des Stiftes (Melk, Austria); acquired by Dr. Cushing in February, 1937 from E. P. Goldschmidt & Co. (London). Purchased in 1356 by Joannes Pebrius for 10 florins: noted on leaf 178v.
Manuscript written on vellum "in a very legible and distinctive small minuscule, initials and chapter headings in red": description from Maggs Bros. (London) 1931; purchased by Dr. Cushing through Goldschmidt in 1932.
France [or Italy] ; 13th century. Manuscript, written with black, red, and blue ink on vellum, includes 3 leaves in front and 5 leaves at end upon which are written an index and materia medica in a later [Italian?] hand. Purchased in 1958 from Lathrop C. Harper Inc. as a gift to Yale Med from the Library Associates.
[South of France ; middle of the 13th Century]. "Manuscript on vellum written in gothic characters red and black, executed in the South of France towards the middle of the 13th Century": description from dealer (Joseph Martini) dated October 1930. Final leaf is miscellaneous medical notes, in several hands.
Italy ; ca. 1300. Manuscript on vellum, with some red and blue lettering. The Regimen, leaves 16-19r, is followed by Lentulus, Epistola de Christo (leaves 19v-20r) in a slightly later hand: c.f. notes from Jacques Rosenthal, dealer from whom Dr. Cushing purchased the manuscript in 1931.
In X books translated from Arabic by Girardus Cremonensis : and other medical treatises ; with extensive commentaries in various hands, black ink on vellum. Some descriptive data from letters of Wilfrid A. Voynich; dealer from whom Dr. Cushing purchased the manuscript in 1929. Includes red and blue lettering, multi colored initials, and several small portraits; leaf 98 is an original blank.
Contains various subjects: lapis animalis, mineralis, vegetabilis, Raimundus Lullus, tinctura, etc. [Germany? ; 15th Century?]. Text in Latin, except for three leaves in German. Cover and numbered leaves are vellum; end papers include some notes inscribed in Latin.
Written by Jacobus de Milisapris de Porturraris at Padua ; finished "at 2 P.M. on 9 September 1467." Manuscript written in ink on vellum, bound in 17th century paper boards; includes some red lettering and astronomical illustrations. Theorica planetarum, by Gerardus Cremonensis: leaves 23-38.
In addition, the collection also contains a number of treatises, including works on alchemy, astronomy, cartography, military science, numerology, law, philosophy, and rhetoric, as well as an eight volume edition of the works of the physicist Paretus, and numerous satires on prominent individuals.
Cologne : Theodoric of Haarlem [et al.], 1456. De spirituali medicinatis. --De viciis ministrorum ecclesie. --Sermo de tribulationibus ecclesie. --De pollutione diurnis. --Expositio clausule dominice. --Oratio anxii peccatoris. --Considerationes XII. --De monte contemplationis, translated from French. --Alphabetum divini amoris. Manuscript written on vellum and paper in black and red ink. From Carthusian monastery at Cologne; Leander van Ess (no. 171); Sir Thomas Phillipps (manuscript 555).
Written in Latin, on paper, with many marginal notes; signed and dated 1477, Pavia. Ad plagas / Ambrosius de Benasco (leaves 2-5) -Aphorismi / Hippocrates, with commentaries by Galen and Haly Abbas (leaves 9-77) -Preservatio a peste / Antonio Guainerio (leaves 87-93) -Tegni excerpts / Galen (leaves 99-147) -Anathomia / Mondino dei Luzzi (leaves 148v-170).
In Italian. Manuscript, wriiten in black ink on paper and bound in contemporary full vellum, was donated by Dr. John Fulton to Yale Med in December, 1956. It is dated from a reference on page 108 to Pope Alexander VI (Borgia, who served 1492-1503).
Signed Walt. Cromer. [England, 1530s]. Written in ink on paper; first leaf in English and signed: Walt. Cromer. Bound in leather, with coat of arms of Edward VI embossed in gold on both front and back covers. Dealer’s description pasted inside back cover; Dr. Cushing purchased from Hodgson sale 1932 thru Bernard Quaritch Ltd. Bookplate of Gower Earl Gower pasted inside front cover.
Eiusdem de virtutibus herbarum, apidum, et animalium ... item de mirabilibus mundi. Saint Albertus Magnus, Lugduni : 1566. Manuscript written in black ink on paper and bound in vellum. Last part "Delle gemme che produce la natura..." is written in Italian.