Advisory Note: Yale has important (often first) editions of nearly every major scientist operating in the eighteenth-nineteenth centuries. The works listed below are merely a starting point; researchers are strongly advised to look in Orbis or consult specialist librarians for further lists of holdings!

****For unlinked sources, please search Archives at Yale to locate the record.

Miscellaneous Sources

• Murray (Joseph Bradley) Collection.  A collection of autograph letters, manuscripts, portraits, and clippings of and relating principally to European and American scientists of the 18th through the 20th centuries. The collector, Joseph Bradley Murray, was a businessman and member of the Class of 1910, Sheffield Scientific School, Yale University.
• Bushnell (David) Papers. Miscellanious papers by and about Bushnell. Only two items are in his hand: a letter (1787) claiming land due him as a result of his service in the American Revolution, and a description of a model for a sailing torpedo [1824?]. Papers on his inventions include a letter by Ezra Lee (1815) with an account of Bushnell's submarine and Lee's operation of it in August, 1787 in New York harbor. Also three letters by Joel Abbot (1825) to Bushnell (then known as David Bush) on his attempts to promote Bushnell's naval warning device. Correspondence (1826-1827) between his executor and his heirs, Ezra and Nehemiah Bushnell of Saybrook, Connecticut, includes a final accounting of Bushnell's estate. In the later papers (1881-1956) are four letters to Anson Phelps Stokes with biographical information on Bushnell and publications on his submarine.
• Wright (Arthur Williams) Papers. The papers consist of materials written and/or collected by Arthur Williams Wright, primarily his writings and notes on scientific topics, such as meteorite analysis.
• Commonplace book concerning travel and science, 1756-1757.
• Banks (Sir Joseph) Correspondence.  Autograph MS.Collection of autograph drafts of letters to various recipients, including a few letter to Banks from various correspondents, concerning scientific matters, the Royal Society, etc.; includes portrait engraving.
• Dana Family Papers. The papers consist of correspondence, writings, printed material, lectures, notebooks, and miscellanea documenting the personal lives and professional careers of members of the Dana family. James Dwight Dana, a prominent American scientist, and his son, Edward Salisbury Dana are two primary figures in the papers.
• DeLuc (Jean André) Papers.  Correspondence, lecture notes, and scientific writings of DeLuc and of his nephew, Jean Andreé DeLuc (1763-1847), relating to his experiments in electricity, to lectures given in Geneva by the younger DeLuc, and to outstanding scientists of the period. Also notebooks of several geological expeditions in England, Wales, Belgium, Holland, Westphalia, and the Jura mountains (1778-1806). Correspondents of the elder DeLuc include Sir Joseph Banks, Varenne de Boest, Queen Charlotte and other members of the English royal household, William Hales, Abbé, Haüy, Sir William Herschel, James Hutton, Joseph Lalande, de la Métherie, Georges Louis Le Sage, Pilâtre de Rozier, and James Watt.
• Yale Course Lectures Collection. The collection consist of notes on course lectures taken by Yale students from ca. 1720-1986.
• Medical Manuscripts Collection.  This artificial collection is composed of correspondence, journals, account books, manuscripts, scrapbooks, and printed material relating to the study and practice of medicine, primarily in Connecticut and New York, primarily in the nineteenth century.

Physical Sciences

Andre-Marie Ampere

• Lettre de M. Ampère a M. le comte Berthollet : sur la détermination des proportions dans lesquelles les corps et combinent d’après le nombre et la disposition respective des molécules dont leur particules intégrantes sont composées. [Paris?] : Imprimerie de Mme. Vv. Perronneau ..., [1814?]
• Essai d’une classification naturelle pour les corps simples ... [Paris] De l’Imprimerie de Feugueray [1816]
• Exposé des nouvelles découvertes sur l’électricité et le magneétisme, de mm. Œrsted, Arago, Ampère, H. Davy, Biot, Erman, Schweiger, De La Rive, etc.; par mm. Ampère ... et Babinet. Paris, Chez Méquignon-Marvis, 1822.
• Exposé méthodique des phénomènes électro-dynamiques, et des lois de ces phénomènes; par M. Ampère, ... Paris, Bachelier, 1823.
• Précis de la théorie des phénomènes électro-dynamiques, par M. Ampère. Pour servir de supplément à son "Recueil d’Observations électro-dynamics" et au "Manuel d’Electricité dynamique" de M. Demonferrand. Paris, Crochard & Bachelier, 1824.
• Mémoire sur une nouvelle expérience électro-dynamique ... suivi d’une lettre à M. Gherardi, relative à l’explication de quelques phénoménes électro-dynamiques par M. Ampére ... Paris, Bachelier, Crochard, 1825.
• Théorie des phénomènes électro-dynamiques, uniquement déduite de l’expérience, par André-Marie Ampère ... Paris, Méquignon-Marvis; [etc., etc.] 1826.
• Description d’un appareil électrodynamique / par M. Ampère. Paris : Bachelier, 1826.

Charles-Augustin de Coulomb

• Essai sur une application des regles de maximis & minimis a quelques problemes de statique, relatifs a l’architecture. / Par M. Coulomb ... [s.l. : s.n., 1773]
• Recherches sur les moyens d’exécuter sous l’eau toutes sortes de travaux hydrauliques sans employer aucun épuisement. À Paris, Chez Du Pont, An V, 1797.
• Théorie des machines simples en ayant égard au frottement de leurs parties et à la roideur des cordages; par C.A. Coulomb ... Paris, Bachelier, 1821.

John Dalton

• Meteorological observations and essays ... London, Printed for T. Ostell [pref. 1793]
• Extraordinary facts relating to the vision of colours: with observations. By Mr. John Dalton. Read Oct. 31st, 1794. Memoirs of the Literary and Philosophical Society of Manchester. Manchester, The Society, 1798. v.5, pt. 1, p. 28-45.
• Experiments and observations to determine whether the quantity of rain and dew is equal to the quantity of water carried off by the rivers and raised by evaporation; with an enquiry into the origin of springs. By John Dalton. Read March 1, 1799. [Manchester, 1802]
• A new system of chemical philosophy. Manchester : Printed by S. Russell for R. Bickerstaff, London, 1808-27.
• On the constitution of the atmosphere. By John Dalton ... Communicated January 12, 1826. Read February 24, 1826. [London, 1826]

Leonhard Euler

• Mechanica, sive Motvs scientia analytice exposita. Avctore Leonhardo Evlero ... Instar svpplementi ad Commentar. Acad. scient. imper. Petropoli, ex typographia Academiae scientiarvm, 1736.
• Theoria motuum planetarum et cometarum. Continens methodum facilem ex aliquot observationibus orbitas cum planetarum tum cometarum determinandi. Una cum calculo, quo cometæ, qui annis 1680, et 1681, itemque ejus, qui nuper est visus, motvs verus investigatur. Auctore Leonhardo Eulero. Berolini, sumtibus Ambrosii Haude [1744]
• Methodus inveniendi lineas curvas maximi minimive proprietate gaudentes, sive Solutio problematis isoperimetrici latissimo sensu accepti. Auctore Leonhardo Eulero ... Lausannæ & Genevæ : apud Marcum-Michaelem Bousquet & socios, 1744.
• Sur le choc et la pression. 4 Juin, 1744, Sur la lumière et les couleurs. 6 Fevrier, 1744, Sur la nature des moindres parties de la matière. 18 Juin, 1744, and De la force de percussion et de sa veritable mesure, par Mr. Euler. Traduit du Latin. [all bound together; Berlin, 1746]
• Introductio in analysin infinitorum. Lausannae : M.M. Bousquet, 1748.
• A compleat theory of the construction and properties of vessels with practical conclusions for the management of ships made easy to navigators. Translated from Théorie complette de la construction et de la manœuvre des vaisseaux, of the celebrated Leonard Euler, by Henry Watson, Esq [electronic resource] ; London : printed for P. Elmsley, 1776.
• Theoria motus lunae exhibens omnes eius inqequalitates. In additamento hoc idem argumentum aliter tractatur simulque ostenditur quemadmodum motus lunae cum omnibus inaequalitatibus innumeris aliis modis repraesentari atque ad calculum revocari possit / Auctore L. Eulero. [Berolini : Ex officina Michaelis], Impensis Academiae Imperialis Scientiarum Petropolitanae, Anno 1753.
• Institutiones calculi differentialis cum eius usu in analysi finitorum ac doctrina serierum. Auctore Leonardo Eulero ... Petropolitanae, impensis Academiae imperialis scientiarum, 1755.
• Theoria motvs corporvm solidorvm sev rigidorvm ex primis nostrae cognitionis principiis stabilita et ad omnes motvs, qvi in hvivsmodi corpora cadere possvnt, accommodata, avctore Leonh. Evlero ... Rostochii ; Gryphiswaldiae : A. F. Röse, 1765.
• Theoria motvvm lvnae, nova methodo pertractata vna cvm tabvlis astronomicis, vnde ad qvodvis tempvs loca lvnae expedite compvtari possvnt, incredibili stvdio atqve indefesso labore trivm academicorvm: Johannis Alberti Evler, Wolffgangi Lvdovici Krafft, Johannis Andreae Lexell. Opvs dirigente Leonhardo Evlero ... Petropoli, typis Academiae imperialis scientiarvm, 1772.
• Institutiones calculi differentialis : cum eius usu in analysi finitorum ac doctrina serierum. Ticini : In typ. P. Galeatii, 1787.

Daniel Gabriel Fahrenheit

• Fahrenheit’s letters to Leibniz and Boerhaave / edited, translated and annotated by Pieter van der Star. Leiden : Museum Boerhaave ; Amsterdam : Rodopi, 1983.
• Abhandlungen über thermometrie, von Fahrenheit, Réaumur, Celsius, (1724, 1730-1733, 1742) Hrsg. von A.J. von Oettingen. Mit 17 figuren im text. Leipzig, W. Engelmann, 1894.

Michael Faraday

• On the various forces of nature and their relations to each other : a course of lectures delivered before a juvenile audience at the Royal Institution / By Michael Faraday; edited by William Crookes. London : Chatto and Windus, [18--?]
• Effects of inhaling the vapour of sulphuric ether. London, 1818.
• On a peculiar class of acoustical figures, and on the forms of fluids vibrating on elastic surfaces. From the Philosophical Transactions. London, 1831.
• Chemical manipulation : being instructions to students in chemistry, on the methods of performing experiments of demonstration or of research, with accuracy and success / by Michael Faraday. London : Murray, 1830.
• Experimental researches in electricity. [First-second series]. / By Michael Faraday ..London : Printed by Richard Taylor ..., 1832.
• On the general magnetic relations and characters of the metals / by Michael Faraday. [London : s.n., 1836] BEIN 1999 341: Author’s presentation inscription to Charles Babbage. Laid in: lithographed portrait of the author. Imperfect: erasure on first page. In 25 cm. case with binder’s stamp: Bound by James MacDonald Co. New York City.
• On the polar or other condition of diamagnetic bodies / by Michael Faraday. London : Richard E. & John Taylor, 1850.
• Experimental researches in chemistry and physics. By Michael Faraday... Reprinted from the Philosophical transactions of 1821-1857; the Journal of the Royal institution; the Philosophical magazine, and other publications. London, R. Taylor and W. Francis, 1859.
• A course of six lectures on the chemical history of a candle: to which is added a lecture on platinum / by Michael Faraday; delivered before a juvenile auditory at the Royal Institution of Great Britain during the Christmas holidays of 1860-1 ; edited by William Crookes. New York : Harper & Brothers, 1861.
  • Also available online.
• Report [electronic resource] / addressed to the United Committee of the Coal Trade, by the Special Committee Appointed to Take into Consideration the Report from Messrs. Lyell and Faraday, to the secretary of state for the Home Department, "On the subject of the explosion at the Haswell Collieries, and on the means of preventing similar accidents.". [England? : s.n.], 1845 (Durham : J.H. Veitch)

Antoine Lavoisier

• Observations communiquées à l’Académie royale des sciences, sur un effet singulier du tonnerre. [Paris, s.n.,c1772?]
• Opuscules physiques et chymiques, par M. Lavoisier ... Paris, Durand [etc.] 1774.
• Mémoire sur la nature du principle qui se combine avec les métaux pendant leur calcination, & qui en augmente le poids. Par M. Lavoisier. [Paris, 1775]
• Essays, physical and chemical. Vol. i. Translated with notes and an appendix, by Thomas Henry. London, printed for J. Johnson, 1776.
• Mémoire sur la combustion de chandelles dans l’air atmosphérique, et dans l’air éminemment respirable. Par M. Lavoisier. [Paris, 1777]
• Expériences sur la respiration des animaux, et sur les changemens qui arrivent à l’air en passant par leur poumon. Par M. Lavoisier. [Paris, 1777]
• Considérations générales sur la nature des acides, et sur les principes dont ils sont composés. Par M. Lavoisier. [Paris, 1778]
• Mémoire sur un moyen d’augmenter considérablement l’action du feu & de la chaleur, dans les opérations chimiques. Par M. Lavoisier. Novembre 1782. [Paris, 1782]
• Considérations générales sur la dissolution des métaux dans les acides. Par M. Lavoisier. [Paris, 1782?]
• The art of manufacturing alkaline salts and potashes, [electronic resource] : published by order of His Most Christian Majesty, and approved by the Royal Academy of Sciences. / Translated from the French, by Charles Williamos [i.e. Williams], Esquire. ; To which will be speedily added, an appendix, stating sundry experiments intended to be made on the different species of woods, shrubs, and plants of North America, in order to ascertain the value of their ashes, as well as the quality and quantity of alkaline salts contained in them. [Philadelphia : s.n., 1785?]
• Traité élémentaire de chimie, présenté dans un ordre nouveau et d’après les découvertes modernes; avec figures: par m. Lavoisier ... Paris, Cuchet, 1789.
  • Also available online in English [Elements of chemistry [electronic resource] in a new systematic order, containing all the modern discoveries. Illustrated with thirteen copperplates. By Mr Lavoisier, ... Translated from the French, by Robert Kerr, ... Edinburgh : printed for William Creech, and sold in London by G. G. and J. J. Robinsons, 1790.]
• Collection de divers ouvrages d’arithmétique politique / par Lavoisier, Delagrange, et autres. A Paris : De l’imprimerie des CC. Corancez & Roederer, rue J.-J. Rousseau, n⁰ 14, an IV [i.e. 1796]

Joseph Louis Lagrange

• Méchanique analitique ... / par M. de La Grange. Paris : Chez la Veuve Desaint, 1788.
• Rapport sur la vérification du mètre: qui doit servir d’étalon pour la fabrication des mesures républicaines / par les Commissaires chargés de la détermination de ces mesures : imprimé par ordre du Comité d’instruction publique. A Paris : De l’Imprimerie de la République, thermidor, an III [1795]
  • Also available online.
• Collection de divers ouvrages d’arithmétique politique / par Lavoisier, Delagrange, et autres. A Paris : De l’imprimerie des CC. Corancez & Roederer, rue J.-J. Rousseau, n⁰ 14, an IV [i.e. 1796]
• Théorie des fonctions analytiques: contenant les principes du calcul différentiel, dégagés de toute considération d’infiniment petits ou d’évanouissans, de limites ou de fluxions, et réduits a l’analyse algébrique des quantités finies / par J.L. Lagrange... A Paris : De l’Imprimerie de la République, prairial an V [1797]
• Leçons sur le calcul des fonctions. Paris : Courcier, 1806.
• Traité de la résolution des équations numériques de tous les degrés, avec des notes sur plusieurs points de la théorie des équations algébriques; par J. L. Lagrange. Paris, Chez Courcier, 1808.

Pierre Simon Laplace

• Discours prononcé par le citoyen Laplace [microform] : au nom de l’Institut des sciences et des arts, dans la séance du premier jour complémentaire, an 4. Réponse du président. Paris : Impr. nat., [1795?]
• Exposition du systême du monde, / par Pierre-Simon Laplace, ... Tome premier[-second]. A Paris, : De l’Imprimerie du Cercle-Social, ..., l’an IV de la République française [1796]
  • Numerous editions are available.
• Traité de mécanique céleste, par P. S. Laplace. Paris : Chez J.B.M. Duprat, an VII [1798]-1823 [i.e. 1825]
• A treatise upon analytical mechanics : being the first book of the Mécanique céleste / of M. le comte Laplace ; translated and elucidated with explanatory notes by John Toplis. Nottingham : H. Barnett, 1814.
• The system of the world / by P. S. Laplace ; Tr. from the French by J. Pond. London : Printed for R. Phillips, 1809.
• Théorie analytique des probabilités/ par M. le comte Laplace ... Paris : Ve. Courcier, 1812-25.
  • Numerous later editions are also available.
• Développement de la théorie des fluides élastiques, et application de cette théorie à la vitesse du son; par M. de Laplace.[Paris, 1821?]
• Observations sur les considérations présentées à la Chambre des pairs par M. le marquis de La Place, relativement au projet d’une réduction de la rente 5 p. 100 avec un accroissement du capital [electronic resource]. [France : s.n., 1825] ([Paris] : J. Tastu)
• Œuvres complètes de Laplace, publiées sous les auspices de l’Académie des sciences, par MM. les secrétaires perpétuels ... Paris, Gauthier-Villars, 1878-1912.

James Clerk Maxwell

• On the stability of the motion of Saturn’s rings ... by J. Clerk Maxwell ... Cambridge, London, Macmillan and Co., 1859.
• A dynamical theory of the electromagnetic field / by J. Clerk Maxwell ... ; received October 27, read December 8, 1864. [London : The Society, 1865]
• On the viscosity or internal friction of air and other gases / by J. Clerk Maxwell ... [London : s.n., 1866]
• A treatise on electricity and magnetism / by James Clerk Maxwell ... Oxford : Clarendon press, 1873.
• Theory of heat. [4th ed.] London, Longmans, Green, 1875.
• Matter and motion. By J. Clerk Maxwell. Published under the direction of the Committee of general literature and education, appointed by the Society for promoting Christian knowledge. London, Society for promoting Christian knowledge, 1876.
  • Also available online.
• Atom; attraction; capillary action; constitution of bodies; diffusion ... New York C. Scribner’s Sons, 1879.

Joseph Priestley

• The history and present state of electricity, with original experiments/ by Joseph Priestley. London : Printed for J. Dodsley, J. Johnson, B. Davenport, and T. Cadell, 1767.
  • A later version is also available online.
• A familiar introduction to the study of electricity/ by Joseph Priestley ... London : Printed for J. Dodsley ..., T. Cadell ..., and J. Johnson ..., 1768.
  • A later version is also available online.
• An account of rings consisting of all the prismatic colours, made by electrical explosions on the surface of pieces of metal : read March 10, 1768 / by Joseph Priestley. [London : Royal Society of London, 1768]
• Various experiments on the force of electrical explosions : read March 2, 1769 / by Joseph Priestly. [London : Royal Society of London, 1769]
• An Investigation of the lateral explosion, and of the electricity communicated to the electrical circuit, in a discharge : read March 29, 1770 / by Joseph Priestley. [London : Royal Society of London, 1770]
• A familiar introduction to the theory and practice of perspective / by Joseph Priestley. London : Printed for J. Johnson and J. Payne, 1770.
  • Also available online.
• Experiments and observations on charcoal. [London, 1770]
• An account of a new electrometer, contrived by William Henly, and of several electrical experiments made by him, in a letter from Dr. Priestley to Dr. Franklin. [London, 1772]
• Directions for impregnating water with fixed air; in order to communicate to it the peculiar spirit and virtues of Pyrmont water, and other mineral waters of a similar nature ... London : J. Johnson, [1772]
  • Also available online.
• Experiments and observations on different kinds of air. By Joseph Priestley ... London, J. Johnson, 1774-77.
  • Also available online.
• An account of further discoveries in air. By Joseph Priestley in letters to Sir John Pringle and the Rev. Dr. Price. [London, 1775]
• Observations on respiration, and the use of the blood. [London, 1776]
  • Also available online.
• Objections to the experiments and observations relating to the principle of acidity, the composition of water, and phlogiston, considered; with farther experiments and observations on the same subject. [London, 1789]
  • Also available online.

Alessandro Volta

• De vi attractiva ignis electrici, ac phaenomenis inde pendentibus Alexandri Voltae ... ad Joannem Baptistam Beccariam ... dissertatio epistolaris. Novo Comi, Typis O. Staurenghi, 1769.
• Novus ac simplicissimus electricorum tentaminum apparatus, seu, De corporibus eteroelectricis quae fiunt idioelectrica : experimenta, atque observationes Alexandri de Volta... Novo-Comi : In typographia Caprana, 1771.
• Osservazioni sulla capacità de’conduttori elettrici, e sulla commozione che anche un semplice conduttore è atto a dare eguale a quella della boccia di Leyden ... in una lettera al sig. De Saussure ... [Milano, 1778]
• Del modo de render sensibilissima la più debole elettricità sia naturale, sia artificiale. By Mr. Alexander Volta... communicated by the Right Hon. George, Earl Cowper ... Read March 14, 1782. [London, 1782]
  • Also available in English and online.
• Descrizione dell’eudiometro ad aria infiammabile ... il qual serve inoltre di apparato universale per l’accensione al chiuso delle arie infiammabili di ogni sorta mescolate in diverse proporzioni con aria respirabile più o meno pura; e per l’analisi di quelle e di questa ... Transunto di osservazioni sull’elettricita’ animale ed alcune nuove proprietà del fluido elettrico. [Milano, 1792]
• Account of some discoveries made by Mr. Galvani ... with experiments and observations on them. In two letters from Mr. Alexander Volta... to Mr. Tiberius Cavallo ... [London, 1793]
• L’identitá del fluido elettrico col cosi detto fluido galvanico, vittoriosamente dimostrata con nuove esperienze ed osservazioni. Memoria comunicata al signore Pietro Configliachi ... Pavia, G.G. Capelli, 1814.
• Sulla formazione della grandine : memoria / del Signor Conte Alessandro Volta con un articolo sul medesimo argomento del Sig. Canonico Angelo Bellani. Milano : Manini, 1824.

James Watt

• Directions for using the machine for copying letters and other writings [electronic resource]. Invented and made by James Watt and Company, of Birmingham. [Birmingham], 1780.
• Correspondence of the late James Watt on his discovery of the theory of the composition of water [electronic resource] : with a letter from his son / edited with introductory remarks and an appendix by James Patrick Muirhead ... London : J. Murray ; Edinburgh : W. Blackwood, 1846.
• An account of the navigable canal, proposed to be cut from the river Clyde to the river Carron, as surveyed by Robert Mackell and James Watt [electronic resource]. London : printed in the year, 1767.
• An account of the scheme for rendering navigable the rivers Forth and Devon [electronic resource] with estimates of the expence. By James Watt. Edinburgh : printed by William Auld, 1774.
• Considerations on the medicinal use of factitious airs, and on the manner of obtaining them in large quantities. In two parts. Part I. By Thomas Beddoes ... Part II. By James Watt. Bristol, Printed by Bulgin and Rosser for J. Johnson, London [1794].
  • Also available online.
• The arguments of the judges in two causes relating to the letters patent granted to James Watt, engineer, for his method of lessening the consumption of steam and fuel in fire engines [electronic resource] / taken in short-hand by Mr. Gurney. London : [s.n.], 1799.
• The origin and progress of the mechanical inventions of James Watt; illustrated by his correspondence with his friend and the specifications of his patents. By James Muirhead. London, J. Murray, 1854.

Life Sciences

Alexander von Humboldt

• Expériences sur le galvanisme, et en général sur l’irritation des fibres musculaires et nerveuses, de Frédéric-Alexandre Humboldt; traduction de l’allemand, publiée, avec des additions, par J. Fr. N. Jadelot. Paris, De l’imprimerie de Didot jeune, an VII-1799.
• Des lignes isothermes et de la distribution de la chaleur sur le globe / par Alexandre de Humboldt ; (extrait des Mémoires d’Arcueil). A Paris : De l’imprimerie de ve H. Perronneau, quai des Augustins, no. 39, 1817.
• Voyage de Humboldt et Bonpland ...: Voyage aux régions équinoxiales du nouveau continent. Paris : F. Schoell [etc.], 1805-34.
• Kosmos : Entwurf einer physischen Weltbeschreibung/ von Alexander von Humboldt. Stuttgart, Augsburg : J.G. Cotta, [1845-1858].
  • Also available in English.
• Histoire de la géographie du nouveau continent [microform] et des progrès de l’astronomie nautique aux XVe et XVIe siècles, comprenant l’histoire de la découverte de l’Amérique. Ouvrage écrit en français par A. de Humboldt publié en 1836, 1837, 1838 et 1839, et enrichi de deux cartes inédites de l’Amérique dessinées par M. Vuillemin, gravées par M. Jacobs ... Paris, Legrand, Pomey et Crouzet [1839?]
• Aspects of nature, in different lands and different climates; with scientific elucidations. By Alexander von Humboldt. Translated by Mrs. Sabine. Philadelphia, Lea and Blanchard, 1849.
• Kritische untersuchungen über die historische Entwickelung der geographischen Kenntnisse von der Neuen Welt und die Fortschritte der nautischen Astronomie in dem 15ten und 16ten Jahrhundert / von Alexander v. Humboldt ; aus dem französischen übersetzt von Jul. Ludw. Ideler. Berlin : Nicolai, 1852.
• Reise in die Aequinoctial-Gegenden des neuen Continents / Alexander von Humboldt ; in deutscher Bearbeitung von Hermann Hauff; nach der Anordnung und unter Mitwirkung des Verfassers; einzige von A. v. Humboldt anerkannte Ausgabe in deutscher Sprache. Stuttgart : J. G. Cotta, 1859-1860.

Charles Darwin

• For private distribution : The following pages contain extracts from letters addressed to Professor Henslow by C. Darwin, Esq. They are printed for distribution among the members of the Cambridge Philosophical Society, in consequence of the interest which has been excited by some of the geological notices which they contain, and which were read at a meeting of the Society on the 16th of November 1835. .. [Cambridge : Dec. 1,, 1835].
• The zoology of the voyage of H. M. S. Beagle : under the command of Captain Fitzroy, during the years 1832 to 1836. Pub. with the approval of the lords commissioners of Her Majesty’s Treasury. Ed. and superintended by Charles Darwin ... London, Smith, Elder, 1838-42 [v. 2, 1839]
• Journal of researches into the geology and natural history of the various countries visited by H. M. S. Beagle, under the command of Captain FitzRoy, R. N., from 1832 to 1836. London, H. Colburn, 1839.
• Letters : Down, Kent, 1844-1877. Letter to Denny removed from John Fulton’s copy of On the origin of species, New York, 1860. Letter to Owen is the gift of John Fulton, 1954. Letters of Charles Darwin to [Henry Denny], [20 July 1844], sending him packets of lice; to Richard Owen, [ca. 1848] asking to meet with him to obtain his opinion on "a few zoological points"; and to [C.H. Blackley?], 9 March 1877, thanking him for his essay and admiring his calculation of the weight of pollen grains.
• Geological observations on the volcanic islands, visited during the voyage of H.M.S. Beagle, together with some brief notices on the geology of Australia and the Cape of Good Hope. Being the second part of the geology of the voyage of the Beagle under the command of Capt. Fitzroy, R.N. during the years 1832 to 1836. London, Smith, Elder, 1844.
• Geological observations on South America : being the third part of the geology of the voyage of the Beagle, under the command of Capt. Fitzroy, R.N. during the years 1832 to 1836 / by Charles Darwin... London : Smith, Elder & co., 1846.
• On the origin of species by means of natural selection, or The preservation of favoured races in the struggle for life. By Charles Darwin ... London, J. Murray, 1859.
• The descent of man, and selection in relation to sex. By Charles Darwin ... London, J. Murray, 1871.
• The expression of the emotions in man and animals / by Charles Darwin. London : J. Murray, 1872.
• The power of movement in plants. By Charles Darwin, assisted by Francis Darwin ... New York, D. Appleton and Company, 1881.

Karl Ernst von Baer

• Kupfertafeln nebst Erklärung derselben zu den Vorlesungen über Anthropologie, von Dr. K.E. v. Baer ... Königsberg, Bei den Gebrüdern Bornträger, 1824.
• De ovi mammalium et hominis genesi : epistolam ad Academiam Imperialem Scientiarum Petropolitanam / dedit Carolus Ernestus a Baer. Lipsiae [Leipzig] : Sumptibus Leopoldi Vossii, MDCCCXXVII [1827]
• Ueber das Klima von Sitcha und den Russischen Besitzungen an der Nordwestküste von Amerika überhaupt, nebst einer Untersuchung der Frage, welche Gegenstände des Landbaues in diesen Gegenden gedeihen können ...
• Reden gehalten in wissenschaftlichen Versammlungen : und kleinere Aufsätze vermischten Inhalts / von Dr. Karl Ernst v. Baer. St. Petersburg : Kaiserlichen Hofbuchhandlung H. Schmitzdorff, 1864-1873.
• Entwickelt sich die Larve der einfachen Ascidien in der ersten Zeit nach dem Typus der Wirbelthiere? / von Dr. K.E. v. Baer ... St.-Pétersbourg : Commissionnaires de l’Académie Impériale des Sciences ; 1873.

Johann Friedrich Blumenbach

• Io. Frid. Blumenbachii ... De generis humani varietate nativa liber ... Goettingae, apud viduam Abr. Vandenhoeck, 1776.
• Elements of physiology; by Jo. Fred. Blumenbach, M. D. ... Translated from the original Latin, and interspersed with occasional notes. By Charles Caldwell. To which is subjoined, by the translator, an appendix, exhibiting a brief and compendious view of the existing discoveries relative to the subject of animal electricity. ... Philadelphia, Printed by Thomas Dobson, at the Stone-House, no. 41, South Second-Street, 1795.
  • Also available online.
• Institutiones physiologicae. Gottingae, Joann. Christian Dieterich, 1798.
  • Also available in English.
• A manual of the elements of natural history. By I. F. Blumenbach ... Tr. from the 10th German ed., by R. T. Gore. London, Printed for W. Simpkin & R. Marshall, 1825.
• A manual of comparative anatomy / translated from the German of J.F. Blumenbach, with additional notes, by William Lawrence. London : Printed for W. Simpkin and R. Marshall, 1827.

Georges Cuvier

• Tableau élémentaire de l’histoire naturelle des animaux. Par G. Cuvier ... Paris, Baudouin, imprimeur, an 6 [1798]
• Leçons d’anatomie comparée de G. Cuvier ... Recueillies et publiées sous ses yeux par C. Duméril ... Paris, Baudouin, an VIII [1800].
• Extrait d’un ouvrage sur les espèces de quadrupèdes dont on a trouvé les ossemens dans l’intérieur de la terre : adressé aux savans et aux amateurs des sciences / par G. Cuvier. [Paris] : Baudouin, [1800]
• Éloge historique de Joseph Priestley : lu à la séance publique de l’Institut national, classe des sciences mathématiques et physiques, le 5 messidor an 13 / par G. Cuvier, secrétaire perpétuel pour les sciences physiques. Paris : Baudouin, imprimeur de l’Institut national, frimaire an XIV.-1805.
• Sur les éléphans vivans et fossiles. Par G. Cuvier. [Paris, 1806]
• Rapport historique sur les progrès des sciences naturelles depuis 1789, et sur leur ètat actuel, présenté à Sa Majesté l’empereur et roi, en son Conseil d’état, le 6 février 1808, par la Classe des sciences physiques et mathématiques de l’institut, conformément à l’arrête du gouvernement du 13 ventôse an X; rédigé par M. Cuvier ... Imprimé par ordre de Sa Majesté. Paris, De l’Imprimerie impériale, 1810.
• Extrait d’observations faites sur le cadavre d’une femme connue à Paris et à Londres sous le nom de Vénus Hottentotte. Par M.G. Cuvier. [Paris, 1817]
• Essay on the theory of the earth. By M. Cuvier ... With mineralogical notes, and an account of Cuvier’s geological discoveries, by Professor Jameson. To which are now added, Observations on the geology of North America; illustrated by the description of various organic remains, found in that part of the world. By Samuel L. Mitchill ... New York, Kirk & Mercein, 1818.
• The animal kingdom : arranged in conformity with its organization / by the Baron Cuvier ..., with additional descriptions of all the species hitherto named, and of many not before noticed, by Edward Griffith ... and others. London : Printed for G.B. Whittaker ..., 1827-1835.

Carl Linnaeus

• Note: Yale has literally hundreds of treatises by Linnaeus. The following are just some of the most important:
• Caroli Linnæi ... : Systema naturæ, sive Regna tria naturæ systematice proposita per classes, ordines, genera, & species ... Lugduni Batavorum : apud T. Haak, 1735.
• Caroli Linnæi ... Genera plantarum eorumque characteres naturales secundum numerum, figuram, situm, & proportionem omnium fructificationis partium. Lugduni Batavorum, apud C. Wishoff, 1737.
• Caroli Linnaei ... Oratio de telluris habitabilis incremento. Et Andreae Celsii ... Oratio de mutationibus generalioribus quae in superficie corporum coelestium contingunt. Lugduni Batavorum, apud Cornelium Haak, 1744.
• Caroli Linnaei ... Flora Svecica : exhibens plantas per regnum Sveciæ crescentes, systematice cum differentiis specierum, synonymis autorum, nominibus incolarum, solo locorum, usu pharmacopæorum. Stockholmiæ : Sumtu & literis L. Salvii, 1745.
• Materia medica, Liber I. de plantis. Secundum genera, loca, nomina, qualitates, vires, differentias, durationes, simplicia, modos, usus, synonyma, culturas, praeparata, potentias, composita, digestus. Homiae, Typis ac Sumtibus L. Salvii, 1749.
• Oeconomia naturae, eller, Skaparens allvisa inrättning på vår jord, i agttagen vid de skapade tingens betraktande i de tre naturens riken, till deras fortplantning, vid magthållande och undergång [electronic resource] : med medicinska facultetens bifall / under Carl Linnaei praesidio utgifven uti ett academiskt snille-prof på Latin vid Kongl. academien i Upsala år 1749 d. 4 martii ; och nu med någon tillökning på Svenska öfversatt af Isac J. Biberg. [Sweden] : Säljes i Kiesevetters boklådor, 1750.
• Caroli Linnaei ... Philosophia botanica, in qua explicantur fundamenta botanica cum definitionibus partium, exemplis terminorum, observationibus rariorum, adjectis figuris aeneis. Stockholmiæ, apud Godofr. Kiesewetter, 1751.
• An introduction to botany [electronic resource]. Containing an explanation of the theory of that science, and an interpretation of its technical terms. Extracted from the works of Dr. Linnæus, ... With twelve copper plates, and two explanatory tables. To which is added an appendix; containing upwards of two thousand English names of plants, ... By James Lee, ... London : printed for J. and R. Tonson, 1760.
• Museum S:ae R:ae M:tis Ludovicæ Ulricæ reginæ Svecorum ... in quo animalia rariora, exotica, imprimis insecta & conchilia describuntur & determinantur; prodromi instar editum, a Carolo v. Linne ... Holmiæ, literis & impensis Direct. L. Salvii, 1764.

Jean-Baptiste Lamarck

• Flore françoise, ou, Description succincte de toutes les plantes qui croissent naturellement en France ... / par M. le Chevalier de Lamarck. A Paris : de l’imprimerie royale, 1778.
• Mollusques testacés. Par le cit. Lamarck. Paris, Chez Henri Agasse, 1791-1816.
• Recherches sur les causes des principaux faits physiques, et particulièrement sur celles de la combustion, de l’élévation de l’eau dans l’état de vapeurs ... de l’origine des composés et de tous les minéraux; enfin de l’entretien de la vie des êtres organiques, de leur accroissement, de leur état de vigueur, de leur dépérissement et de leur mort. Avec une planche. Par J.B. Lamarck . Paris, Maradan, seconde année de la république [1794]
• Réfutation de la théorie pneumatique : ou de la nouvelle doctrine des chimistes modernes ; présentée, article par article, dans une suite des réponses aux principes rassemblés et publiés par le citoyen Fourcroy, dans sa Philosophie Chimique ; précédée d’un supplément complémentaire de la théorie exposée dans l’ouvrage intitulé: Recherches sur les causes des principaux faits physiques, auquel celui-ci fait suite et devient nécessaire / par J. B. Lamarck. Paris : Chez L’auteur, Agasse, AN 4 [i.e. 1796].
• Système des animaux sans vertèbres; ou, tableau général des classes, des ordres, et des genres de ces animaux ... précd́eé du discours d’ouverture du cours de zoologie, donné dans le Muséum national d’histoire naturelle l’an 8 de la République. Par J.B. Lamarck ... Paris, Chez Deterville, 1801.
• Hydrogéologie, ou, Recherches sur l’influence qu’ont les eaux sur la surface du globe terrestre ... / par J.B. Lamarck. Paris : Chez l’auteur : Agasse : Maillard, an X, [1802]
• Philosophie zoologique, ou, Exposition des considérations relatives à l’histoire naturelle des animaux ... Paris, 1809.

Louis Pasteur

• Suite à une précédente communication relative aux générations dites spontanées; par M.L. Pasteur. [Paris, 1860]
• Études sur le vin : ses maladies, causes qui les provoquent, procédés nouveaux pour le conserver et pour le vieillir / par M. L. Pasteur ... Paris : Imprimé par autorisation de Son Exc. le Garde des Sceaux à l’Imprimerie Impériale, 1866.
• Études sur le vinaigre, : sa fabrication, ses maladies, moyens de les prévenir : nouvelles observations sur la conservation des vins par la chaleur; / par M. L. Pasteur ... Paris, : Gauthier-Villars V. Masson et fils, 1868.
• Études sur la maladie des vers à soie, moyen pratique assuré de la combattre et d’en prévenir le retour, par M. L. Pasteur ... Paris, Gauthier-Villars, successeur de Mallet-Bachelier, 1870.
• Etudes sur la bière : ses maladies, causes qui les provoquent, procédé pour la rendre inaltérable : avec une théorie nouvelle de la fermentation / par M. L. Pasteur ... Paris : Gauthier-Villars ..., 1876.
• Les doctrines dites microbiennes et la vaccination charbonneuse. Par M. Pasteur. [Paris, 1883]
• Le traitement de la rage / par M. Pasteur. Paris : C. Marpon et Flammarion, Éditeurs, 1886.
• Oeuvres de Pasteur réunies par Pasteur Vallery-Radot ... Paris, Masson et cie, 1922-39.
• Correspondance de Pasteur 1840-1895, réunie et annotée par Pasteur Vallery-Radot. Paris, Flammarion [1940-51]

Joseph Lister

• Observations on the muscular tissue of the skin. [London, 1853]
• Observations on the contractile tissue of the iris. By Joseph Lister ... [London, S. Highley, 1853]
• An inquiry regarding the parts of the nervous system which regulate the contractions of the arteries ... [London, 1858]
• Contributions to physiology and pathology ... London, Printed by Taylor and Francis, 1859.
• On the antiseptic principle in the practice of surgery / by Joseph Lister. MED,HSL Rare Book RD14 L69 867A: With his On a new method of treating compound fracture. 1867.
• On the effects of the antiseptic system of treatment upon the salubrity of a surgical hospital / by Joseph Lister. Edinburgh : Edmonston and Douglas, 1870.
• A further contribution to the natural history of bacteria and the germ theory of fermentative changes. London, Adlard, 1873.
• A contribution to the germ theory of putrefaction and other fermentative changes, and to the natural history of torulae and bacteria. Edinburgh, Neill, 1875.
• The collected papers of Joseph baron Lister. Oxford, The Clarendon Press, 1909.

Ernst Haeckel

• Die Radiolarien (Rhizopoda radiaria) : eine Monographie / von Ernst Haeckel. Berlin : G. Reimer, 1862-1888.
• Generelle Morphologie der Organismen : allgemeine Grundzüge der organischen Formen-Wissenschaft, mechanisch begründet durch die von Charles Darwin reformirte Descendenz-Theorie / von Ernst Haeckel. Berlin : G. Reimer, 1866.
• Biologische Studien / von Ernst Haeckel. Jena : H. Dufft, 1870-
• Natürliche schöpfungsgeschichte. Gemeinverständliche wissenschaftliche vorträge über die entwickelungslehre im allgemeinen und diejenige von Darwin, Goethe und Lamarck im besonderen, über die anwendung derselben auf den ursprung des menschen und andere damit zusammenhängende grundfragen der naturwissenschaft. Von dr. Ernst Haeckel ... Berlin : G. Reimer, 1866.

Links within this page: