This collection includes Arabic and Persian medical and scientific books and manuscripts from the Medical Historical Library's collections, including translations in various languages.

-- [15--]. On physiognomy. Worm eaten, may affect text. Purchased from Hassan Sami in 1991 on the Edwin J. Beinecke Fund. See also Arabic Sources.

[15--?]. On the body and sickness. Ends abruptly in Maqālah 7, faṣl 43 (of 60). Followed by short chapters on the description and preparation of medicines, pastes and drinks. According to most sources, Hippocrates did not write a work with this title; Dioscurides did, but the text differs from the present one.

Translated into Arabic by Ḥunayn ibn Isḥaq.

Commentary (short version) on the Masāʾil fī al-ṭibb (handbook of medicine) of Ḥunayn ibn Isḥāq. Copied in Damascus in A.H. 692 (A.D. 1293).

Author: Ibn Qayyim al-Jawzīyah, Muḥammad ibn Abī Bakr, 1292-1350. Good 14th century naskhī, in red and black. On the therapeutic use of the Koran and prayer.

Small naskhī, in red and black. Loose in Islamic binding, in brown. With 1 other title. On the means to counteract the harmful effects of various kinds of food.

The title-page (leaf 44 recto) bears the wrong title: Kitāb al-tadāruk li-anwāʻ khaṭāʾ al-tadbīr, attributed to Avicenna (cf. also Brockelmann, S II, p. 1028, Tadāruk al-khaṭāʾ fī tadbīr al-abdān by one Aḥmad al-Suhaylī). Small naskhī, in red and black. Loose in Islamic binding, in brown. Treatise on medicine.

Compared with Berlin catalog 6289, incipit, after the Ḥamdalah, somewhat different; but the explicit is the same. Good naskhī, in red and black. Islamic binding, covered with cheese-cloth. Manual of medicine.

The title is given in the incipit, leaf 120 verso; alternate title: Aghdhiyat al-marḍá. Good naskhī, in red and black. Manual of diet for the sick.

1547. Commentary on al-Talwīḥ ilá asrār al-Tanqīḥ (compend of al-Qānūn fī al-ṭibb - manual of medicine - of Ibn Sīnā) of Fakhr al-Dīn al-Khujandī. Copied in A.H. 954 (A.D. 1547).

Sulaymān ibn Aḥmad al-Mahrī. -- [ca. 1568]. Manual of navigation. Fair naskhī, in red and black. Bound with 3 other titles.

Sulaymān ibn Aḥmad al-Mahrī. -- [ca. 1568]. Short manual on navigation. Fair naskhī, in red and black.

Sulaymān ibn Aḥmad al-Mahrī. -- [ca. 1568]. Manual of navigation. Fair naskhī, in red and black.

1588. Medical handbook based on Ibn al-Bayṭār’s al-Jāmi. Small, scholarly naskhī. Islamic binding, paper covered, with flap. Purchased from Oskar Rescher in 1970 on the Edwin J. Beinecke fund.

1691. Galen’s commentary on the aphorisms of Hippocrates, translated by Hunayn ibn Isḥāq. Large bold naskhī. Gift of Nicholas Rescher in 1978 in memory of Oskar Rescher

[16--?]. Concise manual of therapeutics, abridged in part from al-Ḥāwī (treatise on medicine) of Muḥammad al-Rāzī. Fair modern (17th century?) naskhī, in red and black. Purchased from A. Ibrahim, London in August 1961 on the Russell Lord, Yale 1910 S, fund (established in 1928 by his mother Mrs. John Brackett Lord).

Commentary on al-Asbāb wa-al-ʻalāmāt (manual of medicine) of Najīb al-Dīn al-Samarqandī. Fairly modern (17th century?) naskhī; last leaf supplied by a later hand. From the library of Silvestre de Sacy (Catalogue, no. 74). Presented to Yale by Edward Elbridge Salisbury in 1870.

taʾlīf ... Ibrāhīm ibn ʻAbd al-Raḥmān ibn Abī Bakr al-Azraq. -- 1611. Medical treatise based on al-Kirmānī’s Shifāʾ al-ajsām and al-Ṣanawbarī’s Kitāb al-raḥmah. Marginalia in Arabic and Persian. Purchased from Oskar Rescher in 1970 on the Edwin J. Beinecke fund.

ʻAbd al-Qādir ibn ... Aḥmad ibn Ḥasan al-Muwaqqarī. -- 1618. Treatise on therapeutics, in several chapters (faṣl). Author and title, as above, are given in a later hand on leaf 1 recto. The same name occurs in the colophon as that of the owner of this copy, and the later owner’s ex-libris also seems to imply that al-Muwaqqarī was the owner. Both author and title are therefore highly suspect. Fair naskhī, in red and black, apparently by more than one hand.

1678. On medicine. Large naskhī. Purchased from Oskar Rescher in 1970 on the Edwin J. Beinecke fund.

Muḥammad al-mulaqqab bi-ʻAlāʾ al-Dīn al-ṭabīb. -- [17--?]. Dictionary of materia medica. Modern (18th century?) calligraphic naskhī, in gold, red, and black. In Arabic, with occasional lapses into Persian. Purchased from the Wellcome-Kraus collection in 1949.

[17--?]. Manual of medicine, being an abridgment of al-Qānūn fī al-ṭibb of Ibn Sīnā. Good fairly modern (18th century?) nastaʻlīq, in red and black. Purchased from the Wellcome-Kraus collection in 1949.

Muḥammad ibn Ibrāhīm ibn al-Akfānī. -- [1700?]. Treatise on ophthalmology, presumably identical with Ibn al-Akfānī’s al-Risālah al-nūrīyah fī al-khḥl (Leyden catalogue, I, 22). Followed by an appendix (leaves 11 verso-53) by Nūr al-Dīn ʻAlī al-Mutaṭabbib. The work ends on leaf 53, and is followed by Dhikr al-awzān wa-al-makāyīl (on pharmaceutical weights and messures, leaves 54 recto-verso), and Maqālah fī al-faṣd (on bloodletting, leaves 54 verso-6

Muḥammad ibnAḥmad ibn Kamāl Pāshā. -- 1719. On precautions against the pest (prayers, amulets, medicines, etc.). Calligraphic naskhī, in red and black, fully vocalized . With 2 other titles.

[1736]. Treatise on stomach-ache (de strepitus ex ventre emissione). The work ends on leaf 52 recto, and is followed by additions by Yūsuf ibn al-Wakīl al-Mīlawī. Fair naskhī, in red and black. With 10 other titles.

Abū al-Qāsim ʻAbd al-Raḥmān ibn Abī Ṣādiq al-Nīsābūrī. -- 1778. Commentary on the Masāʾil fī al-ṭibb (handbook of medicine) of Ḥunayn ibn Isḥāq. Good naskhī, in red and black.

1781. Handbook of medicine. Medium-sized naskhī, sparingly dotted. Purchased from Oskar Rescher in 1970 on the Edwin J. Beinecke fund. Bound with 1 other title.

Mahdī ibn ʻAlī al-Ṣanawbarī]. -- 1790 or 91. Treatise on medicine. The work is wrongly ascribed to al-Suyūṭī and others. Fair (East African?) naskhī, in red, green, and black. Considerable marginalia. Bound with 5 other titles. Purchased from Captain Tekeş, Istanbul in April 1965 on the Beinecke fund.

Ṣāliḥ ibn Naṣr Allāh ibn Sallūm. -- 1791. Handbook of medicine, revised by Yaḥyá Efendi. Good naskhī (in several forms, though perhaps by the same hand), in red and black.

lil-shaykh ... Muḥammad ibn Aḥmad ibn Rushd al-Mālikī. -- 1880. Commentary on the Manẓūmah (or Urjūzah) fī ʻilm al-ṭibb (compendium of medicine, in verse) of Ibn Sīnā. Good naskhī, in red and black.

[18--?]. Manual of medicine, with copious extracts from traditions. Fair modern (19th century?) naskhī. Title and author supplied by a modern hand on front page of the manuscript. Ascribed by Ḥājjī Khalīfah (no. 7877) and in one of the Berlin manuscripts (Ahlwardt 6297) to Jalāl al-Dīn al-Suyūṭī, which is chronologically impossible, since some manuscripts are dated before his time. Purchased from Oskar Rescher, Istanbul in January 1965 on the Beinecke fund.

Handbook of medicine, bound with 9 other titles. Purchased from McBlain Books in 1986 on the Edwin J. Beinecke fund.

taʾlīf ... Jalāl al-Dīn al-Suyūṭī al-Shāfiʻī. -- 1810 or 11. Collection of traditions dealing with medicine. Good naskhī, in red and black. Purchased from Oskar Rescher in April 1963 on the Theron Rockwell Field fund.

1817 or 18. Veterinary medicine concerned with horses. Title in manuscript reads: Kitāb al-mughannī fī al-bayṭarah. With 1 other title. Purchased from McBlain Books in 1986 on the Edwin J. Beinecke fund.

1846. On medicine, followed by a chart on the usefulness of spices, etc., and poems on the same subject. Short poem, dated 1852 or 3, inside front cover. Purchased from Oskar Rescher in 1970 on the Library Associates fund.

Muḥammad ibn Maḥmūd al-ʻUnnābī. -- [18--?]. Abridgment of the author’s al-Saʻy al-maḥmūd fī niẓām (or: taʾlīf) al-junūd (manual of military science), made by Ibrāhīm al-Saqqā. Fair modern (19th century) naskhī, in red and black. Bound with 3 other titles.

Arabic and Hausa manuscripts from northern Nigeria and the Western Sudan/Sahel. Included are poems, journals and religious works by Falke, as well as works on Islamic learning collected by him. The collection contains material on Islamic science, Maliki law, jurisprudence, Prophetic traditions (hadith), theology, literature and grammar, and protective medicine and the secret arts (asrar).