Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Yale Library COVID-19 updates.

Zoology and Natural History: Taxonomy Resources

This guide identifies major information resources in zoology including databases, bibliographies, sources of illustration, taxonomy sources, and field guides.

Names, Taxonomy, Systematics, or Classification Resources

 

 

 

Index Animalium by Charles Davies Sherborn. Covers animal names 1758-1850. In 1902, the first part was published, with animal genus and species name listings beginning with published literature from 1758 and including both fossil and living animals. The second part, 8 volumes, was published in 1922 and covers the literature of named animals from 1801 to 1850. Author Sherborn includes a nice bibliography of sources in the first volume of each part. In pre-publication days, this work was referred to as Index Generum et Specierum Animalium. location 1 location 2 location 3 

Nomenclator Zoologicus: a list of the names of genera and subgenera in zoology from the tenth edition of Linnaeus 1758 to the end of 1935 by Sheffield Airey Neave. This set of four volumes plus three supplements began publication in 1939 by the Zoological Society of London. Publication was completed in 1965. Provided are original name references (genus and subgenus) to published or privately printed literature of zoology, 7 volumes published 1939-1965 covering 1758-1965. location 1 location 2 supplement 1936-1945 location  

Nomenclator Animalium Generum et Subgenerum by FE Schulze and W Kukenthal. A work with lengthy bibliography at the start. 5 volumes Published 1926-1956, in Berlin. Use in consultation with other sources. location  

International Code of Zoological Nomenclature (ICZN). The code, now in its 4th edition, is the set of rules for naming and registering names of organisms, as adopted by the International Commission on Zoological Nomenclature and passed by the International Union of Biological Sciences. The 3rd edition was published in 1985 and the first in the early 1960s. The content of the latest edition supercedes that of the previous editions. Text is in both English and French. Includes a code of ethics and glossary. 1999 location 

Latin Names Explained. A Guide to the Scientific Classification of Reptiles, Birds & Mammals by A.F. Gotch. Facts on File, 1995. Gives brief explanations for Order and Family names, common names. location 

Describing Species: Practical Taxonomic Procedure for Biologists by Judith E. Winston. Columbia University Press, 1999 location  An aid to those doing taxonomic work. 

FishBase - Names, pictures, references, glossary

Eponym Dictionary of Amphibians by B. Beolens, M. Watkins, M. Grayson. Pelagic Publishing, 2013 location 

Catalog of Fishes edited by William N. Eschmeyer. California Academy of Sciences, 3 volumes 1998. Online version contains some newer material. paper ed. location 

Common and Scientific Names of Fishes from the United States, Canada, and Mexico, American Fisheries Society Special Publication 34 2013 location 

Amphibian Species of the World: a taxonomic and geographical reference, For amphibians. From the American Museum of Natural History 1985 location Additions and Corrections 1993 location

The Reptile Database - Taxonomic data on over 10,000 living species of lizards, snakes, tuataras, crocodiles, amphisbaenians, and turtles. From the German Herpetological Society's Systematics Working Group.

Science Research Support Librarian - Life Sciences

Profile Photo
Lori Bronars
Contact:
219 Prospect St., PO Box 208111 New Haven, CT 06520-8111

Marx Science and Social Science Library | Yale University Library C38 Kline Tower
Yale University

Office hours: Mondays 10:15-11:15 am BASS 205 (when classes are in session)
203 432 6213