Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Yale Library COVID-19 updates.

Zoology and Natural History: Selected Internet Sites

This guide identifies major information resources in zoology including databases, bibliographies, sources of illustration, taxonomy sources, and field guides.

Selected Internet Sites

 

organizations

Yale University Peabody Museum of Natural History and its iCBug.org (digitized Connecticut Butterfly Atlas)
Smithsonian Institution - research
American Museum of Natural History, located in New York.
Field Museum of Natural History
Society for the Study of Amphibians and Reptiles

data
Christmas Bird Count, from Audubon
The Cephalopod Page, from JB Wood, Bermuda Biological Station for Research
NatureServe Explorer: an online encyclopedia of life

World Spider Catalog, from Natural History Museum, Bern, Switzerland

audio

For bird calls see Birds of North America. Pictorial video clips are also within this resource.

Frog calls, from University of Michigan.

Crickets and katydids, from John Himmelman.

webcams

Smithsonian National Zoological Park (many live cams including: cheetah, clouded lepoard, flamingo, gorilla, lion, naked mole-rat, octopus, orangutan, panda, tiger)

Common Marmoset, Callicam, from the Wisconsin Primate Research Center, University of Wisconsin

other

Pacific Coast Avifauna, from the Cooper Ornithological Society

PrimateLit - a bibliographic database for people interested in primates. citations date from 1940 to the present on the ecology, biology, taxonomy, and conservation of non-human primates. From the Wisconsin Primate Research Information Center at Washington National Primate Research Center, Seattle, Washington. The Research Center in Wisconsin also makes available Primate Info Net with a variety of resources including directories and assistance in digitally photographing the common marmoset in captivity (with its Callicam).

ARS Bee Bibliography (1905-1973), from USDA, Agricultural Research Service. References to periodical articles, books, and pamphlets. [site currently unavailable]

Animal Diversity Web, from University of Michigan Museum of Zoology. Gives common name, Latin name, natural history facts, includes photo.

FishBase, from Rainer Froese and Daniel Pauly, Editors, 2013.  32,500 species included, picture, names, environment, size, description, distribution, main literature reference

Taxonomy database and resources from NCBI

Biodiversity Heritage Library, from a consortium of natural history and botanical libraries. Collections include: Bone Wars Collection: with publications and papers by Edward Cope and Othniel C. Marsh., Book of the Week Collection (including The Animal Kingdom by Baron Cuvier, 1834 volume 3), Carl Linnaeus Collection, Charles Darwin's Library (his personal collection), Ernst Mayr Library of the Museum of Comparative Zoology, Harvard University, Extinct Species, Field Museum Librry, Notable Women in Natural HIstory (selected works by or edited by women in natural history), Whales: from Bone to Book Collection (Items on the anatomy, ecology and evolution of whales, part of the Smithsonian Institution's exhibit "Whales: From Bone to Book."

 

Science Research Support Librarian - Life Sciences

Profile Photo
Lori Bronars
Contact:
219 Prospect St., PO Box 208111 New Haven, CT 06520-8111

Marx Science and Social Science Library | Yale University Library C38 Kline Tower
Yale University

Office hours: Mondays 10:15-11:15 am BASS 205 (when classes are in session)
203 432 6213