Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Yale Library COVID-19 updates.

Zoology and Natural History: Special Collections Materials at Yale

This guide identifies major information resources in zoology including databases, bibliographies, sources of illustration, taxonomy sources, and field guides.

Special Collections Materials

 

The G. Evelyn Hutchinson Papers are available for research. This collection features correspondence, notes and research materials, and photos related to the work of G. Evelyn Hutchinson as a zoologist and limnologist. For a fuller description of the collection and a link to the finding aid see the record in Orbis. 

The Robert Mearns Yerkes papers (1822-1985) are available for research. This collection includes correspondence and other materials on chimpanzee and gorilla behavior among other topics. For a detailed description of the collection see its Guide

John Spangler Nicholas Papers are available for research with the exception of 1 box containing student grades (restricted for 75 years after creation). This collection consists of correspondence, writings, photos, and research files documenting the professional career and personal life of John Spangler Nicholas, biologist and zoologist who served Yale's Sterling Professor of Biology 1939-1962 and Chair of the Dept. of Zoology (1946-1950); he also served on the editorial board of the Journal of Experimental Zoology. Call number MS 929 in Sterling Memorial Library's Manuscripts and Archives. For more information on the collection, see its finding aid in Orbis.

The Ross Granville Harrison Papers are available for research at Sterling Memorial Library Manuscripts and Archives, call number MS 263. The collection includes correspondence, administrative and teaching files and research materials documenting the personal life and professional career of Ross Granville Harrison. The correspondence includes many academic and scientific people. Also included are records of Yale's Dept. of Zoology (1920-1938) and the Osborn Zoological Laboratory (1919-1938). Drafts of writings are also part of the collection. For more information on this collection see its finding aid in Orbis.

Travels to discover the source of the Nile: in the years 1768, 1769, 1770, 1771, 1772, and 1773 by James Bruce of Kinnaird is a 6 volume work which includes watercolors of flora and fauna of (now) Ethiopia and Entrea by Luigi Balugani. paper ed.  location 1 location 2 

Lepidoptera of the British Isles, compiled ca 1810 by Mary Anne Burges. 2 volumes with 133 leaves of illustration of moths and butterflies in watercolors. location 

Fresh-Water Fishes of Great Britain by Mrs. R. Lee with watercolors and drawings by Sarah Bowdich, 1828 location 

Science Research Support Librarian - Life Sciences

Profile Photo
Lori Bronars
Contact:
219 Prospect St., PO Box 208111 New Haven, CT 06520-8111

Marx Science and Social Science Library | Yale University Library C38 Kline Tower
Yale University

Office hours: Mondays 10:15-11:15 am BASS 205 (when classes are in session)
203 432 6213