Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
For information about visitor access, see COVID-19 library updates..

Yale Officers: Architecture


The department of Architecture was established in the School of the Fine Arts in 1916. In 1959 the School of Art and Architecture, as it was then known, was made a fully graduate professional school. In 1972, Yale designated the School of Architecture as its own separate professional school.



Charles H. Sawyer (1955 - 1956)

Boyd M. Smith (1956 - 1957)

Gibson A. Danes (1958)

Paul Rudolph (1959 - 1964)

Charles Moore (1965 - 1970)

Herman Spiegel (1972 - 1976)

Cesar Pelli (1977 - 1984)

Tom Beeby (1985 - 1992)

Fred Koetter (1993 - 1998)

Robert A.M. Stern (1998 - 2016)

Deborah Berke (2016-Present)


Profile Photo
Manuscripts and Archives
Manuscripts and Archives

Yale University Library

P.O. Box 208240

New Haven, CT 06520-8240

(203) 432-1735