Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Yale Officers: Timothy Dwight College


For collections pertaining to Timothy Dwight College, please visit the Yale Finding Aid Database and search for "Timothy Dwight College".

Timothy Dwight College was established in 1935. For more information, please visit the Timothy Dwight College home page.

Head of College

Prior to 2016 the chief administrative officer of each of Yale's undergraduate residential colleges was given the honorific title Master, derived from the Latin magister and in common usage in the residential colleges of Oxford and Cambridge Universities. In 2016 the Yale Corporation voted to replace that honorific title with Head of College.

James Grafton Rogers (1935 - 1942)

Frederick Augustus Godley (1942 - 1948)

Charles Henry Sawyer (1948 - 1953)

Thomas Goddard Bergin (1953 - 1968)

Richard Cushman Carroll (1955 - 1956)  acting

Elting Elmore Morison (1968 - 1972)

Homer Daniels Babbidge, Jr (1972 - 1976)

Donald Kagan (1976 - 1978)

Robert Farris Thompson (1978 - 2010)

Jeffrey Brenzel (2010 - 2015)

Mary Ting Yi Lui (2015 - Present)



The Dean serves as the chief academic officer in Yale's undergraduate residential college system.

Charles Edward McCarthy, Jr. (1963 - 1964)

James Stewart Davie (1964 - 1984)

Harold E. Selesky (1985 - 1992)

John P. Loge, Jr. (1992 - 2014)

Sarah Mahurin (2014 - Present)