Yale University Library Research Guides: Ethnicity, Race, and Migration Resources: Governments, IGOs, Think Tanks &NGOs

Think tanks

Georgetown International Migration and Refugees Think Tanks and Centers
Provides platforms to explore migration through statistics and analysis of policy, as well provides suggestions for policy
Global Think Tank Watch
Searchable database of policy research and analysis. (Here are the think tanks and research institutes included in the GTT Watch database.)
Migration Policy Institute
Nonpartisan think tank that explores analysis of the movement of people worldwide.
Missing Migrants Projects
From the IOM, this site explores the dangers migrants face
Think Tanks and Civil Societies Program (International Relations Program, UPenn)
Includes research on the role of think tanks in society, as well as the Global Go To Think Tanks Report, which looks at think tank trends and issues, and ranks think tanks in a variety of areas (by region, by research interest, by achievement, etc.).
Think Tank Search (Harvard Kennedy School)
Both a directory of U.S. and international think tanks, as well as a custom Google search of more than 250 think tank websites.

IGO search engine

Use the Intergovernmental Organization Search Engine (a Google custom search) to search across hundreds of IGO websites:

Relevant IGOs

International Organization for Migration
United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR)
Recommended resource: Refworld, UNHCR's portal for country information, legal materials, policy documents, and more.

Government & IGO information at Yale

Yale University Library is a depository for documents from the United States (federal government), Canada (federal government), the United Nations, the European Union, and the Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO). The guides below feature in-depth information about these collections, and how to find these documents in a variety of formats.

Quick links for government and IGO information

These are some of the top resources for information from governments and IGOs. Click on the for more information about each database. For additional recommendations, consult the guides linked above.

ProQuest Congressional
more...less...
Full-text access to Congressional documents including bills, hearings, the Congressional Record, the Serial Set, and more.
Govinfo (U.S. Federal Digital System) FDsys, the Federal Digital System from the Government Printing Office (GPO), provides online access to official publications from all three branches of the U.S. federal government, including the federal budget, congressional documents, the U.S. Code, and more. Coverage will vary by collection, but many publications are available in full text back to the 1990s.
Europa Publications and documents from the EU.
UN Official Documents System "The United Nations Official Document System (ODS), since its inception in 1993, covers all types of official United Nations (UN) documentation. ODS provides access to the resolutions of the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council, and Trusteeship Council from 1946 onwards."
Access UN Materials in Access UN may be available in full text online, or are available in print or microfiche.
UNBISnet - UN Bibliographic Information System Catalog of United Nations documents and publications indexed by the UN's libraries in NYC and Geneva; coverage is from 1979-onward, with older documents added regularly. Also provides some full-text access, including resolutions adopted by the General Assembly, the Economic and Social Council and the Security Council from 1946 onward.
OECD iLibrary OECD iLibrary contains all the publications and datasets released by OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development), International Energy Agency (IEA), Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and International Transport Forum (ITF) since 1998.
World Bank eLibrary Books, journals, working papers, and the latest research from the World Bank.

General suggestions for finding government information

1. Try the "agency approach." Who produces the information you need? How is this information organized and disseminated? If you can answer these questions, you can create a much more targeted, focused search.

2. Google like a pro. To limit your Google search to government websites, use the very powerful "site:" search. You can search all .gov websites (site:gov) or narrow your search to a particular agency's website (site:cdc.gov).