Skip to main content

Conservation & Exhibition Services: For Library Staff

Conservation Documentation

We collect a variety of data and create different types of documentation records for the treatment work we carry out. Survey reports, spreadsheets and databases, condition reports, treatment proposals, and treatment reports.  We also digitally photograph items before and after treatment. We may also research an object or object type related to its origins, fabrication, material composition, and previous use. Our documentation files are essentially the "medical" histories of objects. These records include conservation work done in the Gates Conservation and by outside conservators or consultants hired for specific projects.

Examples:

  • A condition survey
  • A treatment proposal
  • A treatment report
  • Before/after treatment photo documentation
  • Scientific analysis report

ConservationSpace

How Can We Help You?

Conservation & Exhibition Services staff are available to assist Library staff with:

  • Reviewing the condition of individual items or collections of materials, from both circulating and special collections

  • Conducting conservation surveys of collections

  • Housing items and collections in boxes, custom enclosures, or mats

  • Advising and assisting with technical art history and material culture research questions

  • Planning and producing exhibitions with Library collections

  • Loaning items to other Library collections, campus museums, and outside organizations for exhibition

  • Managing outsourced conservation treatment projects

Conservation & Exhibition Services

Contact Us:

Special Collections Conservation, Rare Books, Parchment and Papyri; and Lead Conservator for Gates Conservation Laboratory

Paula Zyats

Special Collections Conservation: Works on Paper and Photographs

Marie-France Lemay

Special Collections Conservation: Lewis Walpole Library Collections

Laura O'Brien-Miller

Collections Conservation & Housing

Werner Haun

Exhibitions: Planning, Mount Preparation, and Installation

Kerri Sancomb

Preventative Conservation: Environmental Monitoring/Assessment, Emergency Preparedness & Response, Risk Assessment for Renovation & Moves of Collections

Tara Kennedy, Preservation Services Librarian

Full staff directory and contact list can be found on the Yale University Library websitehttps://web.library.yale.edu/sd/dept/preservation