Apuntes: Theological Reflections from the Hispanic MarginsThe oldest journal for Hispanic theology and Ministry. Not peer reviewed, but it receives contributions from both scholars and practitioners in ministry. The periodical has a primarily Protestant audience, is available only in print from the Mexican American Program at Perkins School of Theology, and is published quarterly.
Journal of Ecclesiastical HistoryThe journal's scope extends to cultural, institutional, intellectual, political, social and any other relevant form of history; to all periods from ancient to modern; and to all regions of the world.
Journal of Hispanic/Latino TheologyPeer reviewed and published quarterly online under the auspices of the Academy of Catholic Theologians of the United States. Even though the publication is published by a Catholic organization, it contains essays written by or about Hispanic Protestants.
Journal of Latin American TheologyA publication of the Latin American Theological Fraternity, a coalition of evangelical scholars from Latin America associated with the integral mission movement.
KairósA publication of the Central American Theological Seminary in Guatemala.
Studies in Church HistoryPublished for The Ecclesiastical History Society, Cambridge. An annually published series comprising papers and communications delivered at the Ecclesiastical History Society’s conferences.
Antiguo OrientePublished by the Center of Studies of Ancient Near Eastern History (CEHAO) at the Universidad Católica Argentina. The journal publishes manuscripts related to the history of societies of the Ancient Near East and the Eastern Mediterranean from the Paleolithic to the Early Islamic Period.
Ciencia PoliticaA Spanish journal on political science in Latin America.
Via spiritusA Portuguese journal on the history of spirituality.
Vida y PensamientoPlaces biblical, theological, pastoral, and related disciplines in dialogue with the contemporary reality of Latin America
General Databases
Historical AbstractsThe primary resource to find resources on history. Covers scholarly literature published between 1955 and the present. Materials in many languages are indexed.
MLA International BibliographyA subject index for books, articles, and other information resources in modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. To make the best use of this resource, use its Thesaurus (look at the blue bar, upper right, once you click) or search using the Linguistics Topic field. You can also make use of the abstract indexing to do test searches and refine your results as you go.
Project MuseFull-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies. Also contains book chapters.
Chicano DatabaseIdentifies all types of material on Mexican-American topics and about Chicanos. The Chicano Database covers at least 1967 to the present, with more than 48,000 records. Records added since 1992 have expanded its scope to include the broader Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants. The Chicano Database also includes the Spanish Speaking Mental Health Database, covering psychological, sociological, and educational literature. Updated quarterly.
Gale E-Books: Latin AmericaA database of dictionaries, handbooks, and guides on various topics on Latin America.
Gale World Scholar: Latin America & the CaribbeanWhen you search in this database, you can narrow your results to reference resources by clicking on “reference” in the right-hand column, and is searchable by topic.
HAPI - Hispanic American Periodical IndexContains citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 400 social science and humanities journals published throughout the world. Also includes materials on Hispanics in the U.S.
NACLA Report on the AmericasProvides policymakers, analysts, academics, organizers, journalists and religious and community groups with information on major trends in Latin America and its relations with the United States.
Databases in Spanish and Portuguese
Bibliografia MesoamericanaProvides a comprehensive and continually updated bibliographic dataset of the published literature pertaining to the anthropology of Mesoamerica. Content includes archaeology, ethnography, ethnohistory, art history, linguistics, physical anthropology, and other related disciplines.
Central American Journals Online (CAMJOL)A full-text that provides access to Central American published research, and increase worldwide knowledge of Central American
scholarship. Full-text.
CLASE: Citas Latinoamericanas en Ciencias Sociales y HumanidadesA bibliographical database that includes essays, articles, book reviews, bibliographies, interviews, biographies, and statistics from over 1,500 journals from Latin America and the Caribbean focused on the social sciences and humanities.
Fuente Academica PremierOffers the full text for more than 650 scholarly publications and 30 academic books from Latin America, Portugal and Spain. It covers all major subject areas with particular emphasis on agriculture, biological sciences, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, psychology, public administration, religion and sociology. Search in Spanish or Portuguese.
Informe AcadémicoProvides access to Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines. The database offers a wide range of content both from and about Latin America and Spain.
PRISMA - Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y HumanísticasProvides full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America, and the Caribbean Basin. Works in conjunction with HAPI. Can be searched in English, Spanish or Portuguese.
Revista Brasileira de Política InternacionalPublishes articles on themes related to International Relations (politics, economics, sociology, security, history, foreign policy, environment and other pressing matters of contemporary relevance).
Social Science Databases
Alternative Press IndexA biannual subject index to over 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines....The Index is international and interdisciplinary, spanning the social sciences and humanities, with its central focus on the practice and theory of socialism, national liberation, labor, indigenous peoples, gays/lesbians, feminism, ecology, democracy, and anarchism.
International Political Science AbstractsIndexes world's leading journals in political science with over 110,000 records from over 1000 journals published from 1951 to the present. Approximately 8,000 new records are added to the database each year. Searchable in multiple languages.
PAIS Index (Public Afffairs Information Service)Indexes public affairs literature including political, economic and social issues. It contains references to articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, research reports, conference reports and publications of international agencies. Publications from more than 60 countries are included. Materials indexed are in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese and Spanish.
Sociological AbstractsFeatures journal citations and abstracts; book, chapter, and association paper abstracts; and book, film, and software review citations. Entries cover sociological aspects of twenty-nine broad topics, including anthropology, business, collective behavior, community development, disaster studies, education, environmental studies, gender studies, gerontology, law and penology, marriage and family studies, medicine and health, racial interactions, social psychology, social work, sociological theory, stratification, substance abuse, urban studies, and violence.
Worldwide Political Science AbstractThe topics covered include political institutions, processes, and behavior; international law and politics; public policy; public administration; political theory; and political economics. 1975-present
Relevant Websites
CepalSTAT (ECLAC)Gateway to all the statistical information of Latin America and the Caribbean countries collected, systematized and published by ECLAC.
HLAS- Handbook of Latin American StudiesA bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress.
Latin American Newsletters & Regional ReportsProvides expert political, economic, and security analysis of Latin American & the Caribbean. Includes "LatinNews Monitoring Center", regional reports ("Mexico & NAFTA", "Central America & the Caribbean", the "Andean Group", and "Brazil & the Southern Cone"), "Latin American Economy & Business", "Latin American Security & Strategic Review" and "Informe Latinamericano".
Latin America Public Opinion ProjectA database of national surveys and reports on individual attitudes, evaluations, and experiences on topics such as democracy.
Montevideo-Oxford Latin American Economic History Database (MOxLAD)Contains statistical series for more than forty economic and social indicators during the period 1900-2000, covering twenty countries in the region. It is designed as a resource for economic and social historians worldwide and is freely accessible from the Oxford University website
