Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Finding Lewis Walpole Library Collection Material: DL

Providing guidance on using various discovery tools to find collection material at the Lewis Walpole Library

USE DIGITAL COLLECTIONS (http://findit.library.yale.edu/)

D L home page with red x across it                ⇒    Digital Collections Home Page

What it is

The Library's extensive collection of digital images has proved to be of immense use to scholars over the years. The old digital library, commonly referred to as the "LWL DL,"  is being retired in late July 2018 and will no longer be accessible.  We had not been able to load new images to the site since 2011, due to the age of the servers and security issues with the platform, so it has long been incomplete and obsolete or inaccurate data could not be corrected.  It was replaced in 2016 with a new site Digital Collections.  

The new site Digital Collections contains all the same content in addition to the thousands of new images that The Lewis Library has scanned since 2011, including all new acquisitions of graphic materials as well as hundreds of other printed materials and unique LWL manuscript holdings.  The Library continues to add material regularly.  Among the exciting features of the new Digital Collections site are more sophisticated search options, a variety of options to page virtually through complex objects ( e.g., browse through an extra-illustrated volume or bound manuscript), and the ability to search a single or multiple Yale repositories. Additional features are being developed.