1) Books2) Articles3) Film Reviews4) Films & Videos5) Screenplays/Filmscripts6) Archives & Institutes
AnimationCritical Approaches & ProblemsDirectors, Actors, Writers, etc.Filmmaking, Producing, etc.Genres, Styles, Categories, SeriesHistory and/of FilmInternational CinemaLiterature & FilmMovie Business & StudiosMusic & Sound in MoviesSocial & Other AspectsThemes, Subjects & CharactersVideo Art 
Annuals & DirectoriesBibliographies & FilmographiesBiographies, Credits & PlotsDictionaries & EncyclopediasFestivals & AwardsGuides & Companions to FilmsIn-Depth Research GuidesOrganizations & AssociationsUse of Films/Videos in TeachingWeb Portals
American Avant-Garde Cinema (Film 323: Terri Francis)Blaxpoitation Reexamined (Film 373: Terri Francis)Close Analysis of Film (Film 320: Terri Francis)Film and History (Hist 456/AmSt 412/Film 405: Seth Fein)
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Film Studies Research Guide 

A guide to conducting research in Film Studies at Yale University, including key resources and crucial search strategies.
Last update: Nov 20th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.yale.edu/film  Print Guide  RSS Updates

4) Films & Videos            Print Page
  
 

How to Find Videos at Yale and Beyond

What's Here


This page provides information on:

  • How to find films and videos in Orbis
  • Guidelines for using films in the classroom
  • How to find films available outside Yale

Most videos at Yale are in the Film Study Center (FSC), located in the Whitney Humanities Center at 53 Wall St. The Film Study Center's database provides a number of easy ways to locate its films, but doesn't cover films in Bass or other Yale libraries.  Please note that the FSC is not Yale's video store: it supports the academic study of films.  Its use and loan policies aim to preserve that role.

 

Bass Library has a collection of DVDs for general interest and entertainment.  They are all listed in Orbis.

 

Several other libraries also have videos, including Sterling Memorial Library, the Divinity Library, the Music Library, and the Arts Library. These videos are listed in Orbis; the majority are documentaries or provide instructional support, rather than videos of feature films.

 


Finding Videos at Yale


To find videos at Yale, the simplest method is to perform a Keyword search in Orbis for the title, director, subject or other terms, plus the word videorecording. The results will include DVDs, VHS tapes and Laserdisks.

 

However, this approach will not include 16/35mm films or videos available online.  The most comprehensive approach is to do a keyword search for the title, director, etc.  But instead of adding "videorecording" to your search terms, wait until you get the initial results.  Then click on the Post Limits button.  Find the limit labeled Item Type, scroll down the list, and select Projected Medium. When you click on Set Limits, Orbis will re-run the search, retrieving the entries that present the film regardless of the physical format.

 

If you are searching for films by a particular director or actor, remember to put the name in quotation marks.

 

Example Orbis Keyword Searches

  • "lee ang" videorecording
  • shakespeare branagh videorecording
  • "civil war" videorecording
  • "streep meryl" videorecording

If you are looking for videos on a particular topic, you may get better results by performing an Advanced Search.

 



Guidance on Classroom Use of Videos


The Library supports the Statement of Best Practices for Fair Use in Teaching for Film and Media Educators, developed by the Society for Cinema and Media Studies.

 



Finding Video Recordings Outside Yale

Best Video (Hamden, CT)
Best Video has one of the most extensive rental video collections in the country.

DocuSeek Film & Video Finder
DocuSeek is a search site for independent, documentary, educational and social issue video and films.
Facets Video
Facets Video is one of the country's largest distributors of art, classic, cult, foreign and hard-to-find videos. The Facets Video Library has tens of thousands of titles available for either purchase or rental.
Find Any Film
Although the website is based in (and funded by) the UK, FindAnyFilm.com provides information about the availability of films from across the globe in all formats, such as whether a film is out in Blu-Ray or can be downloaded.  The service can also alert you when a format is available (or available in the UK, at least).
WorldCat
WorldCat is a "union catalog" showing the holdings of thousands of libraries in the US and some abroad.  It allows one to limit a search to videos either by selecting "Visual Materials" as a format from the Advanced Search screen, or by doing a Basic Search and then selecting the "Visual" tab.

Other Film and Video Archives and Collections
Use these resources to locate film and video collections, film stills and photos, archival and manuscript collections, and other primary source film materials.
 

Librarian for Performing Arts, Media & Philosophy

Profile ImageTobin Nellhaus
Contact Info:
226 Sterling Memorial Library
Yale University
130 Wall Street, P.O. Box 208240
New Haven, CT 06520-8240
Tel: 203.432.8212
Send Email

Subjects:
Film, theater, philosophy, media, journalism, dance, musical theater, graphic novels, cyberculture, Bass DVD Collection

More Links
Personal Librarian page

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait