Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
For information about visitor access, see COVID-19 library updates..

LITR 022 Music and Literature : Beethoven. Pastoral Symphony

A guide to music primary sources pertaining to course content

About the Pastoral Symphony

Beethoven's Symphony no. 6 in F major op. 68 (1808); it was published as Sinfonia pastorale, a programme symphony in which sounds of nature are imitated, its five movements being ‘Awakening of Happy Feelings on Arriving in the Country’, ‘By the Brook’, ‘Merrymaking of the Country Folk’, ‘Storm’, and ‘Shepherds’ Song: Joy and Gratitude after the Storm'.

"‘Pastoral’ Symphony." The Oxford Companion to Music. Ed. Latham, Alison. Oxford University Press, 2011. Oxford Reference. Date Accessed 25 Mar. 2020. 

Videos of the Pastoral Symphony

Selected Reference Articles

Beethoven Manuscripts