Skip to Main Content

Yale and Slavery: Civil War Memorial

Bibliographic list of source materials on Yale and slavery.

The Civil War Memorial

This section of the subject guide provides archival documentation on the efforts to construct the Yale Civil War Memorial. The archival records contain digitized folders of letters, memoranda, and official records from several collections in the University Archives and other Yale Library collections documenting the efforts of Yale alumni to create the memorial beginning as early as July of 1865 and leading to its dedication in 1915.

Archival materials

Committee on Commemorating the Service of Yale Men in the Civil War Records (RU 528). Manuscripts and Archives, Yale University Library.

Committee on the Civil War Memorial, Yale University, Records (RU 529). Manuscripts and Archives, Yale University Library.

Folders 11 and 12

Office of the Secretary, Yale University, Records (RU 49). Manuscripts and Archives, Yale University Library.

Series II Box 2 Folder 287

Series IV Box 270 Folder 5

Committees of Yale University, Records (RU 153). Manuscripts and Archives, Yale University Library

Accession 1937-A-003 Box 1 folder 4 - Civil War Memorial Committee Meeting Minutes, 1909-1915

Civil War Memorial Dedication program (1915)

Committee Formed to Honor the Memory of Yale Graduates Who Died in the Civil War (1866)

Yale Alumni Weekly Supplement on the Civil War Memorial (1910)

Yale Alumni Weekly articles on the Civil War Memorial (1914-1935)

Patriotic Commemoration of the Civil War at Yale (1865)

The Movement to Establish a Memorial to Yale Men Who Lost Their Lives in the War Between the States, by Talcott H. Russell (1910)

The report of the celebration of the two hundredth anniversary of the founding of Yale College, held at Yale University, in New Haven, Connecticut, October the twentieth to October the twenty-third, A.D. nineteen hundred and one (1902)

Yale University’s bicentennial celebrations photographs (RU 753)

Buildings constructed for Yale University’s bicentennial photographs (RU 697)

Bicentennial Committee, Yale University, records (RU 155)

George Henry Nettleton, ed., The book of the Yale pageant, 21 October 1916

Secondary Sources

"The Mingled Dust of Both Armies: Yale's Compromised Civil War Memorial" by Ali Frick (senior essay - used with permission)