THEATER
MOVIES AND DOCUMENTARIES
DANCE, MUSIC, PERFORMANCE ART, PROTEST ART, MULTIMEDIA ART
Watch this short video on how to search for monologues using NPX.
Monologue Collections You Can Check Out:
For more, use the Quicksearch link above!
Animal Studies
08 Animal Study Improvisation from Bloomsbury Methuen Drama on Vimeo.
Accelerated Motion: Towards a New Dance Literacy
Interactive educational materials aimed at fostering a multidisciplinary understanding of how movement ideas are enacted in various aspects of American culture.
Ballets Russes Archives (University of Oklahoma)
Documentation on the history of the Ballets Russes
Jacob's Pillow Dance Interactive
A growing open-access collection of dance videos filmed at Jacob’s Pillow from the 1930s to today. Includes essays.
Jerome Robbins Dance Division at the New York Public Library
A comprehensive archive on the documentation of dance.
Dance Alloy @ the Kelly Strayhorn Theater, Pittsburgh.
Ask about viewing their dance video archive.
Merce Cunningham: Dance Capsules (Merce Cunningham Trust)
Films and footage of rehearsals and performances
Dance Films Association
Creator of the Dance on Camera Festival. DFA promotes affinities between dance and film by " providing infrastructure for the dance film genre, and serving as an international hub for dance on camera and strives to " promote films of value which engage viewers to question the world around them." DFA is currently building online access to their film archive.
Dance Notation Bureau
The Dance Notation Bureau is a special collection whose mission is to "advance the art of dance through the use of a system notation". It produces and archives dance scores. The website contains the Theatrical Dances Collection online catalog, essays, news and resource links. DNBs You Tube Channel contains dance excerpts illustrating dance notation.The Dance Notation Bureau's Extension for Education and Research is located at The Ohio State University.
Motion Bank
Research, documentation and scores for the first phase of a four-year project (2010-2013) of The Forsythe Company providing a context for research into choreographic practice..
National Resource Centre for Dance (University of Surrey)
Training, resources, archives, projects
Pittsburgh Dance Council: Pittsburgh Cultural Trust
Society of Dance History Scholars (SDHS)
National Center for Choreography
New York Public Library: Jerome Robbins Dance Division
America's Irreplaceable Dance Treasures, Dance Heritage Coalition
Artstor
Over three million images, many from museum collections, searchable by keyword and browsable by medium, time period, etc. Register and log in to download JPEGs to your computer. Create your own details by zooming in and downloading JPEGs of zoomed-in views.
Bloomsbury Fashion Central
Contains the Berg Fashion Library, the full text of the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, images, e-book and e-journal content related to fashion, and the Fashion Photography Archive. Browse chronologically and geographically, or search across 7000+ images.
Global Performing Arts Database
GloPAD (Global Performing Arts Database) records include authoritative, detailed, multilingual descriptions of digital images, texts, video clips, sound recordings, and complex media objects related to the performing arts around the world, plus information about related pieces, productions, performers, and creators. Approximately 4,500 objects are currently available. Much of this work was made possible by a major three-year grant (October 2002-September 2005) from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) through the Cornell University Library.
Vogue Archive
Every page of every issue of Vogue Magazine from 1892 to the present, digitized and indexed by photographer, model, author, designer, etc.
Harper's Bazaar Archive
Every page of every issue of Harper's Bazaar from 1867 to the present.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online: British Theatre, Music and Literature
Collections of digitized primary-source material from the long 19th century, including "British Playbills 1754-1882" and the "Drury Lane Theatre Archive." These rare documents, many of them never before available, were sourced from the British Library and other renowned institutions.
Yale University Library Digital Collections
Searches across digital images in Yale library collections, including the Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library, the Yale Visual Resources Collection, Manuscripts and Archives, the Yale Daily News Archive, and many others.
Watson Library Digital Collections from the Metropolitan Museum of Art
Digital images and publications from the Met's collections, including exhibition catalogs from the museum's history, rare books, and sketches, photographs, and fashion plates from the Costume Institute.
Folger Shakespeare Library Digital Image Gallery
Free and open access to over 50,000 digitized objects from the Folger Shakespeare Library's collections, including photographs, books, theater memorabilia, and manuscripts.
New York Public Library Digital Collections
Free and open access to over 800,000 digital images from the NYPL collections, including the Mid-Manhattan Library's Picture Collection.
Prints and Photographs Online Catalog, Library of Congress
Catalog of over 14 million items held by the Prints and Photographs division of the Library of Congress, with digital access to over 1 million items.
College Art Association: Image Sources and Rights Clearance Agencies
Listing of reputable sources of free images from libraries and museums, including many public-domain and open-access images.
Britannica ImageQuest
Search across millions of images from Britannica Digital Learning.
LIFE Magazine
Searchable, browsable digital versions of issues 1936-1972, hosted by Google.
@YALELIBRARY
© 2022 Yale University Library • All Rights Reserved
