Yale librarians have created extensive and intensive guides for researching many subjects.
Subject specialist librarians are linked in the guides to help assist your research.
Still can't find it?? Maybe another library has it. You can borrow from other university and public libraries for free! Sometimes it can take a few days, but libraries will ship directly to the Yale library of your choice!
Put the play title in quotes (Ex: "An Octaroon") and try out the following links:
Performing Arts Periodicals Database (formerly International Index to the Performing Arts)
Choose Advanced Search to search by type of review (theater, television, performance, etc., and favorable, mixed, or unfavorable) under Document Type.
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance
Choose Advanced Search and select "Entertainment Review" under Document Type. Search on the title of the play, performer, venue, playwright, etc.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive
Choose Advanced Search and select "Review" under Document Type.
ProQuest News and Newspapers
Choose Advanced Search and select "Review" under Document Type. Search on the title of the play, performer, venue, playwright, etc.
Academic Search Premier
Choose Advanced Search and select "Entertainment Review" under Document Type. Search on the title of the play, performer, venue, playwright, etc.
For more options, try searching the play title and production company or performance venue in Quicksearch.
Search for these in Yale's Journal Locator
Asian Theater Journal
Canadian Theatre Review
Dance Research Journal
Journal of American Drama and Theater
Journal of Dramatic Theory and Criticism
Latin American Theatre Review
Modern Drama
Modernism/Modernity
New Theatre Quarterly
PAJ (Performing Arts Journal)
Performance Research
PMLA (MLA)
Shakespeare Quarterly
Studies in Musical Theater
TDR
Theater (Yale)
Theatre Journal (ATHE)
Theatre Research International
Theatre Survey (ASTR)
Theatre Topics
Drama Online
A full-text-searchable database of play scripts, full-length video and audio productions, and scholarly works on theory, criticism, and practice from Bloomsbury, Methuen, Nick Hern, Faber and Faber, and other partners. Especially useful are the play finder and monologue search tools. Video and audio packages include:
International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance
A fully indexed, cross-referenced and annotated databank of over 60,000 journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database (formerly International Index to the Performing Arts Full Text)
This article index draws its current content from more than 200 scholarly and popular performing arts periodicals, and covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry, including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, circus performance, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television and more.
New Play Exchange
Digital library of scripts by living writers which can be filtered by title, length, age level, genre, subject matter, production history, script availability, cast size and characteristics, playwright, and playwright demographics.
Alexander Street Literature
Searches across the following Alexander Street drama and literature databases:
Literature Online
Searches across the following ProQuest drama and literature databases:
Oxford Reference for Performing Arts
Online and full-text-searchable versions of major reference works from Oxford University Press, including the Oxford Companion to the Theatre, Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance, Oxford Companion to American Theatre, Continuum Companion to Twentieth Century Theatre, Oxford Dictionary of Plays, and Oxford Companion to Shakespeare.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive
An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000. Core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Magazines have been scanned cover-to-cover in high-resolution color, with indexing of all articles, covers, ads and reviews.
Shakespeare Collection
A comprehensive and authoritative online resource for Shakespearean research, bringing together general reference data, full-text scholarly periodicals, reprinted criticism, primary source material and the full-text annotated works from The Arden Shakespeare.
World Shakespeare Bibliography Online
Annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare and published or produced since 1960.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Multidisciplinary index covering over 1,100 journals in the arts and humanities, with coverage from 1975 to the present.
MLA International Bibliography
Provides access to citations of books, journal articles, conference papers, and dissertations concerning general and comparative literature.
JSTOR
A historic full-text archive of scholarly journals that includes the arts and humanities.
Listing sites for Dramaturgy & Dramatic Criticism Academic Job Seekers
Faculty positions in higher education can be listed any time of year, but the ads are normally placed in late summer and early fall.
Sends out timely emails informing the community of relevant job listings (and other opportunities).
The Chronicle of Higher Education / Jobs
Use keywords to narrow down the many listings.
Sometimes will have English or other Humanities listings focused on theater and performance.
This site is also very good for production-oriented jobs.
ATHE email list and job bank (open to members only)
If you're a member of ATHE, get on their email list for timely postings.
And always check our program's Box folder, "Job opportunities," which can host some of the above as well as more informal postings.
--> Postdoctoral fellowships might also be listed in some of these places. Keep your antennae tuned for them—they can be terrific ways to hone your research, writing, and creative practice and build your resume and skills before taking on a full-time job.
Listing Sites for Scholarly Fellowships, Grants, and Postdoctoral Positions
Deadlines vary—there's no one "season" for these opportunities.
Duke Research Funding Opportunities
University of Illinois Fellowship Finder
Yale's Fellowship & Grants main page
--> look through the "External Databases" links at the bottom for non-Yale opportunities.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database (formerly International Index to the Performing Arts)
Choose Advanced Search to search by type of review (theater, television, performance, etc., and favorable, mixed, or unfavorable) under Document Type.
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance
Choose Advanced Search and select "Entertainment Review" under Document Type. Search on the title of the play, performer, venue, playwright, etc.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive
Choose Advanced Search and select "Review" under Document Type.
ProQuest News and Newspapers
Choose Advanced Search and select "Review" under Document Type. Search on the title of the play, performer, venue, playwright, etc.
Academic Search Premier
Choose Advanced Search and select "Entertainment Review" under Document Type. Search on the title of the play, performer, venue, playwright, etc.
For more options, try searching the play title and production company or performance venue in Quicksearch.
@YALELIBRARY
© 2022 Yale University Library • All Rights Reserved
