From the Spring 2003 issue, the Association of British Theatre Technicians' quarterly publication ABTT Update was re-launched as Sightline in full colour A4 format and is now firmly established as the journal of record for technical aspects of the theatre industry.
ArchDaily began as a platform to collect and spread the most important information for architects and is now an ever-evolving tool for anybody who has a passion to experience the latest projects, products, and trends.
Since the Off-Broadway Assistant Designers Advisory Group (OBADAG) formed, their mission has been to improve working conditions for assistants Off-Broadway. Together, they set out to advocate best practices for assistant designers, reduce the burdens on individuals created by employer practices, and establish fair wages. Resources on wages, contracts, assistant duties, and more can be found on this website.
The GOLDEN MXR (Virtual Paint Mixer) is a tool which allows the artist to virtually experiment with and explore color options within the GOLDEN palette.
EcoSet is an environmental production resource for the creative industries. We implement Zero Waste practices on productions and events. We recirculate production and event materials back into the community.
Rare and unique digital materials developed by the UCLA Library to support education, research, service, and creative expression, including the AIDS Poster Collection, the Los Angeles Times Photographic Archive and more.
This link opens in a new windowProduction Art Database (Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences)
Billy Rose Theatre Division Collection at the New York Public Library
Also see: http://www.metalarchitecture.com/
Also see: http://www.modernsteel.com/
Also see back issues at: https://shotcrete.org/back-issues/
Many special collections repositories within the Yale Library system house rare and unique materials related to drama and theater studies. There are many relevant collections from the Arts Library Special Collections, Manuscripts and Archives, Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library, and the Yale Center for British Art.
Search for particular productions, people, etc. in collections across campus via Archives@Yale. Keep in mind that many of these materials are stored offsite and require placing requests at least a day or two before you can see them in a reading room. Most collections allow you to bring cameras to photograph materials, but please consult individual repository locations about details and duplication services.
Artstor
Over three million images, many from museum collections, searchable by keyword and browsable by medium, time period, etc. Register and log in to download JPEGs to your computer. Create your own details by zooming in and downloading JPEGs of zoomed-in views.
Bloomsbury Fashion Central
Contains the Berg Fashion Library, the full text of the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, images, e-book and e-journal content related to fashion, and the Fashion Photography Archive. Browse chronologically and geographically, or search across 7000+ images.
Global Performing Arts Database
GloPAD (Global Performing Arts Database) records include authoritative, detailed, multilingual descriptions of digital images, texts, video clips, sound recordings, and complex media objects related to the performing arts around the world, plus information about related pieces, productions, performers, and creators. Approximately 4,500 objects are currently available. Much of this work was made possible by a major three-year grant (October 2002-September 2005) from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) through the Cornell University Library.
Vogue Archive
Every page of every issue of Vogue Magazine from 1892 to the present, digitized and indexed by photographer, model, author, designer, etc.
Harper's Bazaar Archive
Every page of every issue of Harper's Bazaar from 1867 to the present.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online: British Theatre, Music and Literature
Collections of digitized primary-source material from the long 19th century, including "British Playbills 1754-1882" and the "Drury Lane Theatre Archive." These rare documents, many of them never before available, were sourced from the British Library and other renowned institutions.
Yale University Library Digital Collections
Searches across digital images in Yale library collections, including the Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library, the Yale Visual Resources Collection, Manuscripts and Archives, the Yale Daily News Archive, and many others.
Watson Library Digital Collections from the Metropolitan Museum of Art
Digital images and publications from the Met's collections, including exhibition catalogs from the museum's history, rare books, and sketches, photographs, and fashion plates from the Costume Institute.
Folger Shakespeare Library Digital Image Gallery
Free and open access to over 50,000 digitized objects from the Folger Shakespeare Library's collections, including photographs, books, theater memorabilia, and manuscripts.
New York Public Library Digital Collections
Free and open access to over 800,000 digital images from the NYPL collections, including the Mid-Manhattan Library's Picture Collection.
Prints and Photographs Online Catalog, Library of Congress
Catalog of over 14 million items held by the Prints and Photographs division of the Library of Congress, with digital access to over 1 million items.
College Art Association: Image Sources and Rights Clearance Agencies
Listing of reputable sources of free images from libraries and museums, including many public-domain and open-access images.
Britannica ImageQuest
Search across millions of images from Britannica Digital Learning.
LIFE Magazine
Searchable, browsable digital versions of issues 1936-1972, hosted by Google.
THEATER
MOVIES AND DOCUMENTARIES
DANCE, MUSIC, PERFORMANCE ART, PROTEST ART, MULTIMEDIA ART
Includes feature articles on design projects, technical articles on the science of illumination, new product developments, industry trends, and information about the illuminating profession.
Special Issue: Scenography in digital performance vol. 6 issue 1
Lighting Research & Technology
Daylighting design, interior and lighting design, lighting energy consumption, lamp, luminaire and lighting system design.
For design, production & technology professionals in the performing arts & entertainment industry.
Brick walls
Building, Iron and steel
Building, Wooden
Building materials
Composite materials
Concrete construction
Glass construction
Green products -- Handbooks, manuals, etc. Masonry
Materials -- Technological innovations
Plastics in Building
Shotcrete
Steel, Structural
Sustainable construction
Sustainable architecture
Wooden-frame buildings
Scenic Design
Set Designers
Set Design and Props
Theatre & Performance Studies
Theatre Stage Design
Theaters -- Stage-setting and scenery
Theaters -- Design and Construction
Theaters -- Design and Plans
Theaters -- Stage-setting and scenery -- Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Scenic Art and Painting
Scene Painters
Stage props -- Design and construction
Technical Direction
Performing Arts -- Theater -- Stagecraft & Scenography
Projected Scenery
Projection Design
Drawing, Rendering, and Drafting
@YALELIBRARY
© 2022 Yale University Library • All Rights Reserved
